We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get to know the Catskills during my wedding”
Review of Full Moon Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oliverea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Full Moon Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Full Moon help plan and catered my daughters wedding in our vactation home in the Central Catskills, along with three tents, full bar, china, silverware and stemware. The needs of the wedding were well thoughout and executed. The food was outstanding, the presentation was thoughful and the helping hands were friendly and helpful. The wedding night was cleared and cleaned up in no time. Full Moon left our home in very good condition. Have a wedding at our home with Full Moon at our side certainly make the experience that much more memorable. We strongly recommend making Full Moon your partners in wedding planning and catering.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegaweepingwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Full Moon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

Full Moon Resort....nature at it's BEST!
Absolutely Beautiful mountain views... peaceful...The simple Life....!
A place to find Peace within yourself....and Nature...!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmb600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We went to the Full Moon Resort in July, 2010, for my niece's wedding. The location in the Catskills Mountains is fantastic. The wedding ceremony took place beside a stream and was beautiful. The reception was outdoors under a huge tent on the front lawn. The decor inside the tent was beautiful, but best of all was the food. It was served family style and everything from the salad to the dessert was delicious. The whole event was great. At night we stayed down the road, in a cabin in the woods, with a cute porch out front. It was a little rustic, but was clean and comfortable. We had a double bed and a twin bed in the bed room and a pull out couch in the living room. It fit five of us comfortably. There was one bathroom with a stall shower and a kitchen area with everything you would need. Unfortunately, due to work schedules we were unable to come up early and enjoy the pool and the grounds and the evening events the day before the wedding. We heard from the other guests that they really enjoyed themselves. We had great buffet breakfast before leaving. The food is excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buttercup1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We received excellent and friendly service at Full Moon Resort. The staff was extremely kind to the kids and made sure they were happy. The organic food was excellent, and the chef even made special plates for the kids. Full Moon is where you want to stay to feel refreshed and to relax and enjoy your friends or family.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I was recently married at the Full Moon Resort and I can't speak highly enough of my entire experience. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful throughout the planning phase. I spoke regularly with one of the owners, as well as with the Event and Reservations Managers and the front desk associates. I left each conversation feeling as if my needs were being met and even anticipated.
The actual wedding event was equally well run. Every aspect of the rather complex event was masterfully scheduled, yet we felt no pressure to adhere to strict timelines. It was quite helpful when the staff made subtle cues to our guests to move on to the next activity. Over-staying your welcome in a particular spot may lead to additional fees to pay for the staff's overtime labor. When our dinner portion ran late (due to many lengthy speeches), the friendly staff helped us kick it into high gear so that cake could be enjoyed and guests could move out to the dance party without leaving us with the additional fee for the extra time in the reception tent. We held our dance party in the Performance Space, where we made use of the stage for a concert featuring several guests. This space has many seating options for guests who wanted to be present, but did not want to dance. At midnight, we had to leave the Performance Space, but we took an iPod and moved the party to the Billiards Room, where it raged on until 4am.
The accommodations are simple, but clean and comfortable. This is not a five-star hotel, but it is a sweet, rustic, beautiful, and well-kept place to spend a relaxing few days. Added bonus: lovely soaps in the bathrooms.
The food is simply delightful! Every meal was appreciated by all, including the vegetarians, vegans, and people with allergies and intolerances.
Overall, I wouldn't trade my wedding experience for anything. The price of the wedding was more than I had originally budgeted, but it was well worth every penny. The cost includes dinner, open bar, full use of the facilities, and all of the help and support from the staff. It was a beautiful place to be and all of my guests had a wonderful time enjoying the scenery, lounging by the pool, playing lawn games, sitting peacefully at the creek, and the opportunity to spend quality time with each other.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Full Moon Resort is ideally situated in peaceful surroundings which in itself enhances our work in our week-long improvisation retreat. But what makes our work, and play, very special is the staff, from top to bottom. That staff is attentive, cordial, flexible, and efficient. Response to our varied requests were answered quickly and sometimes imaginatively.

The initial contact with front desk staff is invariably a pleasure: we often arrive before time usually during the occasion when the Resort is wrapping up another festivity, nevertheless, we are welcomed. Housekeeping has always been available to meet our needs with alacrity whether the request is for more towels or a spontaneous shift in accommodations. The kitchen folks through a superb Chef are flexible to the degree that a portion from the wonderfully varied menu will be tailored to a single individual’s desire--without recrimination!. Maintenance staff responds efficiently, pleasantly, to complaints from light bulbs to plumbing. Finally, the owner, Henry Stout, is accessible, enthusiastic, and sincerely concerned that our stay is as pleasant as can be.

In the six years we have been happily ensconced at Full Moon Resort, my only complaint is that Henry keeps adding to the facility to create an even better experience. I see no need for change.

Sincerely

Charles Niven
Founding Member, Artistic New Directions

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crniven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

the staff was horrible and rude. rooms were disgusting and outdated.paper thin walls. went for a wedding and the rooms were not available until 1.5 hrs after they were supposed to be. at the open bar for wedding bartender took it upon himself to stop serving alcohol an hour before reception was even over.staff started folding up chairs and tables when people were still in tent for wedding. at after party staff turned off lights while people were still in the bar to get them to leave. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. SO SORRY FOR BRIDE to have to deal with such unprofessional people on her day. only nice thing about the place was the grounds and food.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hithere0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FullMoonCentral, Owner at Full Moon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

First, I want to apologize for any situation where the staff was or could have been perceived to have been rude. In fact we pride ourselves on a positive and friendly staff, and every reported matter of concern is addressed promptly. We always welcome follow up conversations as they continue to help us grow and improve.

Full Moon Resort is over 100 years old. Interior walls in most accommodations are Plaster and Lathe, a dense and solid form of construction, if a bit outdated. Since 2000 it has been our ongoing objective to restore the essence of the Catskill Mountain Lodge while maintaining the integrity of the original structures.

Full Moon is a facility operator, a catering company, and an event management team. All wedding events and services are carefully scheduled and thoroughly planned based on the desire of our clients, the Bride and Groom. Often, it is important that guests move efficiently from one part of the facility to another, so they can truly get the benefits of what the wedding couple has designed. Occasionally, the needs and requests of our clients do not directly match the desires of their guests. In such cases, our staff makes every effort to manage the situation graciously. We always allow for a grace period following scheduled end times in order to allow a relaxed transition to the next location or activity. After a reasonable period, and several reminders, the staff may begin to adjust the lights and clean up a location while guests are present. Again, every effort is made to facilitate a smooth and comfortable transition.

Weddings at Full Moon Resort typically include a ceremony, cocktail hour, reception dinner, and after party. Following the close of services, Full Moon always provides a late night location for guests to gather and continue to celebrate.

Thank you Trip Advisor for providing this valuable and informative forum.
Henry Stout
Owner, Full Moon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliverea
16.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
21.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
296 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
506 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
891 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Resort

Address: Valley View Road, Oliverea, NY 12410
Location: United States > New York > Oliverea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Moon is a year-round mountain resort located in the heart of the "Forever Wild" Catskill Forest Preserve in upstate New York. Dedicated to the celebration of nature, music and the arts, this one hundred-acre wonderland of mountains, fields, and streams is a world of its own.An alternative to more traditional country inns and resorts, Full Moon Resort offers weekend-long destination country weddings, cutting-edge music festivals, exceptional week long music camps, educational, recreational and artistic workshops, and art exhibits all part of its magical landscape. This enchantingly unique facility offers a versatile and accommodating environment, well suited for group gatherings of all types.With over ten years of exceptional service, Full Moon Resort has garnered a reputation as a premier catering facility in the Catskill Mountains region for functions of all types. The menus offer a full range of possibilities – hot buffet breakfasts and lunches in the artistically rustic Cafe… down-home country barbecues by the creek…tantalizing hors d’oeuvres under the maple trees on the lawns…and formal gourmet dinners in the Tent Pavilion. Lovingly prepared, fresh, natural cuisine (often organic) served by a friendly, professional staff is the trademark of Full Moon Catering. The company offers full service catering, planning and management for off-premises events as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Oliverea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing