We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing for the Price”
Review of Full Moon Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oliverea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Full Moon Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this “resort” in November 2009. For over $175.00 per night I would expect at least my own bathroom. I knew going here that I wouldn’t have it and they would be shared. I did not know the shower would be freezing cold each time I used it and a trickle at best. The staff seemed to have their noses in the air and it was rare someone was actually at reception to take a call. The room was either freezing cold or too hot. Although overall the inn was clean, the sink in our room was filthy and there were burn marks from the heating unit on the bedspread. I would not stay here again, especially for this price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryguy798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FullMoonMgmt, Owner at Full Moon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2009

The management at Full Moon Resort is always appreciative of feedback, both positive and negative.

Unlike most hotels and inns, Full Moon Resort is a fully “group-based” facility. Some guest rooms are “B&B Style” with shared hallway baths, while others offer private baths. The wedding couple determines advance room assignments and their guests then call to complete the reservation process. Individual guest rooms are offered only as part of a complete “guest package” incorporating not only the price for the rooms, but also a dining package that is designed by the wedding couple. In this case, the actual guest room rate was $100 with the additional $75 comprising the total cost of the dining plan for two guests.

We acknowledge that our country inn is over 100 years old. With this in mind, infrastructural issues do occasionally arise and we address them as quickly as possible, generally immediately, but occasionally it takes up to 24 hours. In response to this particular complaint we conducted a complete review and repair of our hot water and pressure distribution systems, but unfortunately it was not an immediate repair.

We are a small business and as such our Reception Desk is staffed only during daytime hours. Full Moon Resort takes significant pride in the cleanliness of the facility and some of the sinks in the country inn have mineral stains on the porcelain, but are thoroughly clean.

Most surprising in this review is the comment on staff attitude. Generally we receive high marks for staff attitude and helpfulness. It is our goal that every guest is fully satisfied with our services. We will continue to work on this objective, assuring that our staff is helpful and courteous.

Again, we appreciate feedback as it provides outside perspective and helps us create a more comfortable and enjoyable environment for future guests.

Michael Densmore
Managing Partner
Full Moon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

How do you find your way back into “reality” after a time like this???
Words cannot express what I feel but because this is the only way to communicate with you all I will try to put it into writing what you created for us!
When we arrived the first time we were captured by the unique beauty, the authenticity of Full Moon but even more by the openness and warmth that was paired with great professionalism. This impression was confirmed over and over again during our time we spend with you!
I am sorry, that I cannot address everybody by name (I realize it would be a looooooong list) because every single one of you whether you took care of the rooms, racked the leafs, provided the beverages, mixed the drinks, cooked these fantastic meals, decorated the tent, were there to answer EVERY single question we had, welcomed our guests, simply planned the whole wedding (Melanie!!!) etc., etc. everybody in Full Moon treated us in such a special way that it felt this was the first and most important event you were orchestrating.
There is no single great thing but the perfect combination of the beautiful surrounding, the breathtaking nature (thank you so much for “ordering” this gorgeous fall weather!!!), the charming accommodations, the friendly welcome, the outstanding service, the incredible food, the continuous presence of professional help without being obvious and the warmth and the personable attention you all gave us and our guests!
You might do this every weekend and I consider everybody who chooses to witness this very lucky but to us you all created something that will last a life time!
You all made it possible that we could celebrate the most wonderful wedding we ever experienced and I want you to know that you all will be in our hearts forever!
Please keep your concept of doing these events the way you did because it is unique, special, and in my opinion nowhere to be found!
Give more people the opportunity to hear this beautiful creaking of the stairs in their dreams when they are home, the smell the of the dry fall leafs, the memory of the gorgeous sunlight filtering through the majestic crown of the maple tree in front of the house, the cozy atmosphere in the breakfast room or the breathtaking experience when they enter the performance tent being saturated with a miraculous light of candles and paper balloons.
Keep the little imperfections, leave technology (no cell phone reception, no TV) out of the “Full Moon” because this way you are able to transform your guests and make them receptive for the charm and the richness of the “Full Moon” and make them really experience what you have to offer.

My wish for you all is that you continue to be honored for your outstanding work, for your creativity, for your individual commitment to your guests with and the strong reassurance to continue the concept you developed.

We are all filled with endless happiness, immense appreciation, overflowing joy and humbled thankfulness for this blessed time that you created for us!

Please make sure that everybody who is part of the “Full Moon” gets a chance to hear our thanks!!!

In inexpressible joy of life and obviously still on cloud “9”!!!

Juergen and Ulli Neugebauer
Tel. [--]

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UlliNgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

My wife and I were guests at the Full Moon Resort for the Los Straitjackets Rock and Roll Summer Camp in August 2009. We made the easy drive from Philadelphia in just about 4 hours. Excellent directions...easy to get to...not far from historic Woodstock. The facilities are wonderful. We were "up the hill" in our private room cabin with other campers. We enjoyed sitting in our big Adirondack chairs, knockin' back a few beers, and just enjoying the peace and quiet. It was a 3 minute walk to the main building for meals and activities. The grounds were spotless. There is a little pond happily populated with frogs (my wife had given names to ALL of them), a duck pond, (they flew away before she could name them), and a pristine, unspoiled stream running through the back of the property. Lot's of space to strool and commune with nature. The large, crystal clear swimming pool was inviting, but we're not much for swimming. Lots of other campers took advantage though. The 3 meals offered per day consisted of local produce that was fresh, professionally prepared, and delicious. The wait staff, as were all the staff at the FMR were, courteous, friendly and professional. So......what are you waiting for?? If you want the hustle bustle, get up and go visit something type of vacation that I have been used to.....FORGET IT. I can end this way......NO TV, NO NEWPAPER, NO CELL PHONE, NO INTERNET, NO PROBLEM! Thanks FMR > we hope to come back soon!! A++++ Sleeps and Leeps

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamerJammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I stayed at the Full Moon in conjunction with the Los Straitjackets Summer Camp 2009. What a wonderful resort. The food was fantastic, everything was spotless and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating to a bunch of loud surf guitar players. The performance space across the road was great, and our practice area in the barn was greatly appreciated.

My two very minor advisory notes (not complaints, really):

1. We were provided towels and soap, but no shampoo. Just something to be aware of.
2. There's no cell phone coverage at all in the Catskills, but the inn provides wifi access in the lobby, as well as a phone for domestic local and long distance phone calls, which I really appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VespaFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The serenity and beauty that surrounds the Full Moon Resort sets the tone for a very relaxing stay among the forests and streams of the Catskill Mountains in upstate New York. The main house, also known as the Valley View Inn, has an old house feel that makes you feel comfortable as soon as you walk in off the porch. There are couches and chairs and plenty of books to read or you can just sit and scan the natural beauty that is every where you look. The employees are friendly and always eager to please. The food is terrific and the variety is wide ranging to suit anybody's choice. There are plenty of activities to do but this is a great place to do nothing as well. A very relaxing and beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoondogJerseyShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Our family gathered for the first time in many years at Full Moon Resort, and we were all delighted with the place. Resort isn't quite the right word for Full Moon -- it's a bit funkier and quirkier than conventional resorts, which is in large part what made it so delightful. The accommodations range from lodge to old country house. The rooms are not fancy and many share baths. Somehow that's just fine. Maybe it's the magical setting--a beautiful Catskill valley. Or the excellent food--everything we ordered was fresh and delicious. Or some lovely combination of landscape, food, and atmosphere that creates something special. And in the midst of all this, professionals who make everything work right. All went smoothly and graciously. it's really wonderful, unique place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAM1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My experience as Mother of the Bride was totally enhanced by the care and attention the staff took towards making sure we had the perfect place for the wedding.
The resort's eclectic design style and dramatic natural landscape allowed the Bride and Groom to have a three exciting days that are truely ones to remember.
The food and special decor for the Ceremony , the Cocktail Hour and the Reception were respectively delicious and spectacular.
A jewel in the Catskill Mountains during late fall!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliverea
21.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
21.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
934 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
93 reviews
13 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Resort

Address: Valley View Road, Oliverea, NY 12410
Location: United States > New York > Oliverea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Moon is a year-round mountain resort located in the heart of the "Forever Wild" Catskill Forest Preserve in upstate New York. Dedicated to the celebration of nature, music and the arts, this one hundred-acre wonderland of mountains, fields, and streams is a world of its own.An alternative to more traditional country inns and resorts, Full Moon Resort offers weekend-long destination country weddings, cutting-edge music festivals, exceptional week long music camps, educational, recreational and artistic workshops, and art exhibits all part of its magical landscape. This enchantingly unique facility offers a versatile and accommodating environment, well suited for group gatherings of all types.With over ten years of exceptional service, Full Moon Resort has garnered a reputation as a premier catering facility in the Catskill Mountains region for functions of all types. The menus offer a full range of possibilities – hot buffet breakfasts and lunches in the artistically rustic Cafe… down-home country barbecues by the creek…tantalizing hors d’oeuvres under the maple trees on the lawns…and formal gourmet dinners in the Tent Pavilion. Lovingly prepared, fresh, natural cuisine (often organic) served by a friendly, professional staff is the trademark of Full Moon Catering. The company offers full service catering, planning and management for off-premises events as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Oliverea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing