We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Wedding at Full Moon Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Full Moon Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oliverea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Full Moon Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Wedding at Full Moon Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic wedding at the Full Moon! Where to begin? The staff was friendly and extremely hard working. The food was phenomenal, in fact the mother of one of grooms commented at Friday night barbecue,"If you can't find something to eat here, I can't help you". After the barbecue in the barn we went down to bonfire and billiards room with all the beer and wine you could. The next morning was full breakfast and was it just what the night owls needed!! Back to bed and then up again for lunch.

While the ceremony was to take place in the lower grove, due to weather the staff hustled and it was held in a tent next to reception tent and it was beautiful. Afterwards back to the barn for the cocktail hour for more delicious hor d'oeuvres. Next the wonderful reception with more food. Delicious!! We ate, danced and drank through the night. My friends an I loved this place and only semi-joked about returning next year for an anniversary of our friends' wedding! Check this place out!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbfnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    23
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
78
44
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well I really don't know where to begin...First off the cottages pictured are only the rooms in the best buildings on the property, we stayed at the fireside cottage, a terrible mistake! The bed was like sleeping on a rock, spiders and other insects throughout, the smallest room I have ever seen for a mere $400 dollars a night! A bathroom right next to the cottage accessable 24/7, and finally the very unprofessional staff with completely insensitive racial slurs about our wedding which could easily be heard through the paper thin walls! Like I said, mistakes are made from time to time, just don't make this one......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
full_moon_resort1, Owner at Full Moon Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
I’d like to thank Trip Advisor for the opportunity to openly discuss customer concerns and feedback. We always take criticism in the most positive light and consider it an opportunity to fine tune and improve our operation.

My response to this specific review is as follows:

1. Full Moon Resort hosts an incredibly diverse range of events. We welcome all people, all religions and faiths and we hold a deep commitment to human rights and a fundamental respect for individuality. We do not tolerate insensitivity on any level. In response to this post, a thorough review will be conducted.

2. Rooms in the Fireside Lodge are $115/night, not $400. Total charges (including tax) for an entire weekend for a couple, with two nights of accommodations, breakfast and lunch on Saturday and breakfast on Sunday would come to approximately $365.

3. We recently replaced the beds in Fireside Lodge. Generally we install firm mattresses because they tend to meet with widest approval. That said, if the reviewer had notified our front desk of his discomfort, we would have immediately made arrangements for installation of a mattress pad or some alternate solution.

4. Full Moon Resort takes great pride in providing simple, well-kept accommodations. We take the comments in this review seriously and will re-double our efforts to insure nothing but the most positive guest experiences.

Henry Stout
Owner, Full Moon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We got married at Full Moon Resort in August of 2012. We worked with Melanie to coordinate our wedding and she was always attentive, making sure that no detail was left undiscussed and no stone unturned. We really appreciated how much communication went into the planning, and we found the process to be relatively stress-free. The day-of was perfect. Everything was set up exactly the way we wanted and if there were any small changes that needed to be made, the resort staff was very accommodating. The best example was when one of our guests brought an unexpected +1 and Melanie made the guest feel welcome and helped rearrange the seating chart to accommodate him. The food was exceptional! We only heard good things from all of our guests. People raved about the breakfast the following morning and have continued to compliment us on our wedding venue choice. The wait staff and the bartenders were attentive and well-trained and provided excellent service. The rooms were very comfortable. The only caveat is that this is a rustic resort, not a Hampton Inn. The rooms are eclectic and do not have every single amenity that you would expect at a chain hotel. But if you are able to communicate that to your guests, they won't be disappointed. We would highly, highly recommend this resort as a wedding venue and can't thank the staff of Full Moon Resort enough, especially Melanie and Michael Densmore!

A few quotes from our guests:

"I love this place. Every time we move from one part of the resort to another, it feels like its a whole new place. It keeps the wedding exciting!"

"I wish we could have stayed the whole weekend!"

"It was the best wedding I've ever been to!" (this was repeated to us many times)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The people at this resort are ABSOLUTELY amazing!! They are so accommodating, considerate, professional and sincere!!! We had our wedding event there and it was a fairy tale day...we couldn't have dreamed of something more spectacular!!! These guys are part of our family now and we plan on returning often and would recommend this resort to anyone!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had our wedding at Full Moon two weeks ago and I can't say enough nice things about the place. For starters, the pricing is very competitive and you get a lot of bang for your buck--great food, gorgeous locale. We looked at everything in the area before settling on Full Moon and it was the best decision we could make. Our coordinator, Melanie, was a lifesaver--there's no way we could have pulled off the wedding without her. They really went above and beyond. Everyone gave rave reviews and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erikka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is the best location for a "Rustic Mountain Wedding" Every single one of our guests had the best time ever. What could be more satisfying as a Bride, than everyone including your mother and mother in law sharing that they had the best time on one of the most important days of your life. The service was impecable, the food was delicious. The facilities are beautiful. It even rained on our wedding day, but The Full Moon Resort has beautiful facilities for an indoor wedding, it actually made our wedding more intimate and enjoyable. Our guests were surprisingly very happy and comfortable in their rooms whether they stayed in a private cabin or had a room with a shared bathroom in one of the Inn's. We had some picky family members who I thought would be hard to please but everyone felt the facilities and lodging were great. Besides the beautiful surroundings and facilities, what's best about the Full Moon Resort is the service. All through the planning, the Full Moon's staff was more than helpful, they went above and beyond professionalism, treating us like family. We really felt truly taken care of. From the Chef, to the wedding planner, to the reservation desk, every single staff member was beyond helpful, anticipating our needs before we could even articulate them. Yes, you only do it once, but if I had to get married again, it would be at The Full Moon!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaZivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I just came back from a weekend at Full Moon for a family member's wedding and have nothing but GREAT things to say. I'll admit I was a bit skeptical, being a city girl who always has cell phone in hand - at first the thought of no cell phone service had me breaking into cold sweats. I can honestly say I put my cell phone in my room the first moment I arrived and didn't touch it until I left. We stayed in Birdsong cottage and loved how cute and quaint it was. The accommodations, while rustic, perfectly fit the location. As someone who works in the hotel business, I fully appreciated the cleanliness of all rooms and the grounds in general. The service was unbelievable and everyone was friendly and always willing to help with a smile. It was the perfect way for our family to spend the weekend celebrating the marriage of my cousin.

The best part for me by far was the food!! Again, coming from someone who works in the business and sells corporate events, I know how difficult it is to get banquet food out all together, hot, and keep the quality at 100%. Everything we ate was creative, hot (or cold), beautifully presented, and DELICIOUS.

I've already recommended Full Moon to two friends as an amazing wedding location, even though for us, it's a four hour drive. It was the perfect relaxing weekend away I was looking for, and created perfect wedding memories for my family. Major shout out to Henry, and Paul the bartender who was our best friend by the end of the night.

Cheers - keep it up!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzeGrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliverea
2.5 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
21.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#2 of 2 in Oliverea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Resort

Property: Full Moon Resort
Address: Valley View Road, Oliverea, NY 12410
Location: United States > New York > Oliverea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Moon is a year-round mountain resort located in the heart of the "Forever Wild" Catskill Forest Preserve in upstate New York. Dedicated to the celebration of nature, music and the arts, this one hundred-acre wonderland of mountains, fields, and streams is a world of its own.An alternative to more traditional country inns and resorts, Full Moon Resort offers weekend-long destination country weddings, cutting-edge music festivals, exceptional week long music camps, educational, recreational and artistic workshops, and art exhibits all part of its magical landscape. This enchantingly unique facility offers a versatile and accommodating environment, well suited for group gatherings of all types.With over ten years of exceptional service, Full Moon Resort has garnered a reputation as a premier catering facility in the Catskill Mountains region for functions of all types. The menus offer a full range of possibilities – hot buffet breakfasts and lunches in the artistically rustic Cafe… down-home country barbecues by the creek…tantalizing hors d’oeuvres under the maple trees on the lawns…and formal gourmet dinners in the Tent Pavilion. Lovingly prepared, fresh, natural cuisine (often organic) served by a friendly, professional staff is the trademark of Full Moon Catering. The company offers full service catering, planning and management for off-premises events as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Oliverea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing