We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Full Moon Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Cold Spring Lodge(Big Indian)
$173
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Motel(Big Indian)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Lodge(Prattsville)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xenia Resort(Hunter)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
163
26
15
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
26
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuecocktail hourwedding coordinatorno cell phone servicemagical weddingchef adamentire weekendwinter weddingbilliard roomthe main houseceremony siteincredible stafflawn gamesthe entire staffcatskill mountainsrustic settingsurrounded by nature
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 213 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our wedding at Full Moon Resort a couple of weeks ago. Since then, we've been receiving rave review after rave review of the friendly staff, wonderful service, delicious food, and the overall special quality of the nature preserve and grounds. Full Moon is truly a magical place. If you are considering holding your wedding there, don't hesitate. There's no place like it! If you value fresh gourmet food (not always an option at weddings), superior service, and a beautiful outdoor setting, you will love Full Moon.

From the early planning stages to the day after the wedding, Henry and Melanie provided attentive, personalized service. Melanie often answered several emails or phone calls a day from me, always in the same professional and organized manner. Melanie is the perfect wedding planner, and her calm demeanor relaxed us, even as she reminded my father and me to look up and smile as we began to walk down the aisle. She thought of everything before I did, and her attention to detail made the entire weekend's festivities happen smoothly, so we could relax and enjoy them. I also think Melanie moonlights as a meteorologist. It was a rainy weekend, and she monitored the Doppler all afternoon, helping us decide to hold the ceremony outside as we had planned.

Early on at our tasting, we began to experience the kind of individualized service upon which Full Moon prides itself. Adam, the talented chef, met with us at the tasting to make sure all of the weekend's meals met our standards, which they exceeded. Our friends and family can't stop talking about the food. Even the fries at lunch were different and exceptional!

The unique accommodations at Full Moon, comprised of sprawling old houses and cozy cabins of different sizes, allowed family members and old friends to spend the weekend together and provided them an opportunity to reconnect and relax for a few days. My cousins, now grown with children, shared a house for the first time since high school. Old college friends spend two nights together in a rustic cabin. They had a blast!

At the "morning after" meeting with Melanie, she asked us for feedback and wondered if she and the resort could improve their service in any way. We were stumped. We didn't have a single complaint! Thank you Henry, Melanie, Janet, Leighann, Fletcher, Chris, Patricia, and everyone else. You all love what you do, and it shows.

On the Sunday after our wedding, we simply did not want to leave. My husband and I, along with friends who didn't have their fill, are already planning a trip back to Big Indian to see some music, say hello to the friendly staff, and try to convince Adam to cook us a meal.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJNH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We got married at the Full Moon this August and couldn't have asked for a more amazing, memorable wedding weekend. All of our friends and family told us it was one of the best weddings they've been to, and this was largely due to the charm of the Full Moon and helpfulness of their staff.

When we first visited the Full Moon, we knew it was the place for us. Michael basically sold us on our first visit. There's something incredibly unique about the place. The surroundings are beautiful. The staff is charming. The food is delicious. It's calm. It's made for fun. It leaves everyone feeling better and renewed.

Our coordinator Lindsay was amazing throughout the whole planning process. Our questions were always answered promptly. Leighann and Janet were great with helping us place everyone in rooms and managing the booking process for our guests. Our tasting with Adam, the very talented Full Moon chef, was delicious.

Our wedding weekend itself was unbelievable. We couldn't have asked for a more amazing time. All of our guests had plenty of time to enjoy the beautiful grounds, spending time in the pool, playing lawn games, lounging all over the place. We had a BBQ on the Friday night in the gorgeous restored barn. The food was amazing. Our ceremony on Saturday was outside in a beautiful grove next to a stream. The reception tent made for a great party. The food was also delicious.

The Full Moon really let us run with whatever crazy idea we had for our wedding, including a balloon drop over the dance floor during the reception. All of their staff, particularly Keith, really went above and beyond helping fulfill all of our requests.

It was a truly unforgettable weekend. Everyone was so pleased with the entire experience. I can't recommend a stay at the Full Moon highly enough. Thank you for making our wedding a weekend to remember!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geraldine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I got married at Full Moon Resort this past July. The grounds are magnificent; beautiful views of meadows, streams, open fields, mountains, and lush greenery all on a hundred-acre forest preserve. All our guests commented on what a beautiful location we had chosen. Lindsay (our event manager) and the rest of the staff did an amazing job. These folks really know how to cater a wedding. Every detail from the smallest request to the greatest necessity was seen to by the friendly, professional, and warm staff. Truly, our wedding came off better than we had ever expected. The chef, Adam, served an amazing menu, and everyone commented how much they enjoyed the Hors D’Oeuvres and their 3 course meal. Lindsay is very detail oriented and took us step by step in the process of arranging this wedding. She met with us several times and was in contact with us throughout the planning stage (several months). She responded promptly to every email no matter how trivial. We enjoyed a delicious Menu Tasting, were taken on a tour of the grounds, viewed the rooms for our guests, and the various outdoor locations for our ceremony. They also had contingency plans for indoor locations in case of rain. We got lucky and had great weather. Wide open blue skies, surrounded by nature...what more could you ask for? Most of our guests stayed over-night and enjoyed the on-site after party as well as the group breakfast the next morning. If you are even thinking about having a wedding in the Catskills, do yourself a favor and check-out the Full Moon Resort. They made our special day an event to remember. Thanks Full Moon. We'll see you next year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Eben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My now husband and I got married up at the Full Moon resort in early April. We stayed three nights and it was fantastic! The service and staff are outstanding! We loved the quaint accommodations and beautiful surroundings. The new wrap around addition to the barn is absolutely beautiful and perfect for a rehearsal dinner, wedding or cocktail hour (it was a little too chilly in April for outside). Melanie one of the event managers made sure from our intro meeting throughout our whole weekend that it all ran smoothly. She thought of everything, every little detail is accounted for including back-up plans in case weather becomes an issue. The food is outstanding. I have to say Adam, the chef, went above and beyond to add in some special requests. All of our guests commented on how great the food was all weekend. You get a warm welcome from the moment you walk in, especially if Janet is around. She went out of her way to accommodate guests. All those little things add up to such an unforgettable occasion. We would definitely recommend this place as would all 200 of our guests! It’s a very special place and one you should definitely check out.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MullenNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I hired Henry and his staff to cater both our wedding and rehearsal "picnic" in Hudson New York. We loved Henry's philosophy on weddings and what they should be, it aligned perfectly with our vision. He took his team 1.5 hrs to Hudson, NY (on two consecutive days), the site of our wedding, and adapted to the space perfectly. Throughout the whole process Full Moon worked with us and advised us (because we were not the professionals) on the best way to go about doing things. All the advice, was just that, advice, but we went with it because we saw how it was logical and made sense.

On top of the food and bar service, they also took care of all the table, chair, and other eating necessity rentals, along with a few other things like porto-let, golf cart, and additional tent making our tasks that much less to handle.

It rained the day of the wedding and Henry and Co. were on top of it with a solid Plan B that probably turned out better than our original plan for sunny weather. The food was very delicious and was exactly what we decided upon a few months earlier at the tasting. The staff was very friendly and willing to fulfill any need we had the day of the events. Everyone worked really hard to make the day perfect for us, and it was.

Thanks Full Moon!
Josh

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jdub123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews