We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit - Not So Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Olean
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. This time en route to Washington D.C.

When we arrived the hotel seems to be in a state of refurbishment/renovation, whihc makes the lobby a mess and breakfast was in a hotel room of sorts.

Before I mention the negatives, I will say thta the staff here are lovely and very pleasant, this was the same on our last visit. Also, their DVD service is great, especially for the kids.

Obviously due to renovations (which were NOT mentioned on the Hampton Inn/Hilton website) the lobby and breakfast areas are in a mess and not a great welcome to the property. I guess this is not really a problem and we did not hear any construction noise.

What did happen was that we were woken up at 4am by the firm alarm and had to wait outside in the blowing snow and cold. The fireman said there was a steam valve problem in the basement and no fire (thank goodness) and we were back to our rooms within an hour or so. What did suprise me was that no-one walked the floors to make sure guests were aware of the fire alarm, as some people who may be hard of hearing of deep sleepers would not have heard the alarm. There really needs to be an alarm in the actual rooms, as there are with other hotels. I just thought that the staff/night manager could have made peole more aware of the situation. There was no-ne really in-charge of the situtation, which suprised me.

The next morning, over a meagre breakfast, we were told that the hotel could refund the cost of the room due to the disruption, so we got our money back - which was generous of the hotel.

On another note, and this was the same our whole trip, why is the water in the swimming pool so cold!!!!!!!!!It is winter, turn the heat up already!!

Anyway, overall not a great stay this time, but we will return once all the renos are done.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments about the staff, we understand about the renovations and we are nearly complete. We would love to see you again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Olean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 417 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice while it has been under construction. It is understandable that things can't be perfect when under construction, but I have been less than pleased with both of my visits and I will not be returning.
The first time I stayed here, I paid too much for the room. Rooms in Olean are over-priced for some reason - - it is a little town that appears to have little to offer. The first room I stayed in was still dirty, and I had a moderately rude older woman check me out so I said nothing to her. (However, the young lady who checked me in was very polite!!!!). The GM was prompt in addressing the issue and refunded the one-night stay. Because of the prompt response and apology, I booked another room - - because after all, everyone has a bad day, right?
The second time I stayed, the room was a whirlpool suite that was offered to me at a discounted price. There were only a couple of random hairs (NOT MINE) in the bathroom, so I picked them up with a tissue and threw them away. Unfortunately, the room smelled of foul meat. I decided to just put mind over matter and get through the evening without complaint.
There are 2-3 staff people who couldn't be any more wonderful, but the woman who checked me out both times in the morning is not very friendly at all.
To top it off, I just called to book a room - - I could tell it was the woman who checked me out both times. She gave me their top room rates and I asked if they were no longer offering the ($20) discounted rate due to the construction. She said they were only doing one specific room type, not the one I had before.
This hotel has left me grossed out and disgusted. I travel 4-5 nights each week for business, but I will no longer stay at this hotel. I would rather drive a n hour out of my way than stay somewhere that might be clean, might be dirty, might offer an honest rate (or might not), might offer friendly staff (or might not).....you get the picture.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We do apologize for the construction and will look into the concerns with your room. Thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I travel every week on business and freqently write reviews. The staff at this Hampton Inn is doing its best but it's not easy when the renovation is the first thing to greet a guest. I'm sure it will be lovely when finished but I can only review what I see. Had I known ahead of time, I would've reserved anyway but my expectations would have been different.

The good news is that my room was clean and comfortable. That's important to me since my room is my home when I'm on the road. Breakfast food was as expected but, as the lobby was unavailable, was served in a borrowed conference room. The room was small so it was difficult to move around but that is temporary.

I'm wondering how long this renovation will take. I saw reviews that alluded to it in January and I stayed in mid-March. It's still underway and I didn't see a lot of activity or progress while I was there. It seems to be moving slowly. I plan to be in Olean for one night in May and am hoping it's completed or almost completed by then.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Margo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for the comments about staff. We hope to have renovations done before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My room was already redecorated and very nice. The lobby is under renovation now and breakfast area but they did a great job.

Sure once the renovations are done they will be back up and in good shape!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachLvr_VT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Please come visit us again to enjoy the completed renovations. It will be beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in the whirlpool king room and it was relaxing and functional. This Hampton is trying to maintain the high standards set by Hilton but appears to be struggling a bit. They are in the midst of an ordeal with a local contractor whose poor quality in the lobby remodel is now forcing a tear-out/rework exercise to replace the newly laid lobby floor. The deluxe continental breakfast has been relocated to an adjacent conference room and the front desk is still accessible. There appear to be lots of maintenance items but the handy man tries to stay on top of them. What does come across here, that is a little disappointing is an emphasis on low expenses at a tradeoff for quality. But that may be a function of supply choice in this remote area as well. And I have noticed that Hilton ownership of the whole chain has taken away some of the value emphasis that was there in the earlier independent days.

But I would still recommend staying here if you can negotiate a reasonable rate. Hotel rates are somewhat high in Olean for what is received. But the staff were friendly, the bed comfortable, and the room clean. Good water pressure and hot temperature. We did not have any maintenance items that needed attention except that the HVAC integral thermostat seemed to need calibration. The third floor gets too warm, even in winter but you can open the outside window. The hotel is on the corner of a busy intersection so noise is somewhat noticeable on the front side. Minor irritations: cheap toilet paper & kleenex and a "sliding duvet" cover that was a battle to keep over your torso at night.

I wish the hotel management well in their battle to maintain quality.

Room Tip: Back side rooms are quieter, lower floor rooms are cooler.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeenEnough2Know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments about staff. We understand about the renovations but hope you will return to enjoy the completed project!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We love the beds at Hampton. They are very cozy and comfortable. No exception here.

The only downside to our stay at the Olean Hampton was that the lobby was in the middle of being remodeled and was not as nice as one would expect. We were greeted immediately as we entered, however, and were offered warm cookies. Our check-in was speedy and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbu79_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We hope you will return when the lobby is complete! It will be beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Sometimes it really is the little things that's make the difference. The broken lock, lack of soap, breakfast bar hostess in jeans and tee shirt, mediocre breakfast choices - just didn't add up to a great stay. They were renovating, but everything was clean. Beds very comfy.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gratefulgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olean
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
17.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Olean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Olean

Address: 101 Main St, Olean, NY 14760-2603 (Formerly Hampton Inn Olean)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Price Range: $122 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Olean 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Olean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Olean Hotel Olean
Olean Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing