We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying their Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Olean
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in the whirlpool king room and it was relaxing and functional. This Hampton is trying to maintain the high standards set by Hilton but appears to be struggling a bit. They are in the midst of an ordeal with a local contractor whose poor quality in the lobby remodel is now forcing a tear-out/rework exercise to replace the newly laid lobby floor. The deluxe continental breakfast has been relocated to an adjacent conference room and the front desk is still accessible. There appear to be lots of maintenance items but the handy man tries to stay on top of them. What does come across here, that is a little disappointing is an emphasis on low expenses at a tradeoff for quality. But that may be a function of supply choice in this remote area as well. And I have noticed that Hilton ownership of the whole chain has taken away some of the value emphasis that was there in the earlier independent days.

But I would still recommend staying here if you can negotiate a reasonable rate. Hotel rates are somewhat high in Olean for what is received. But the staff were friendly, the bed comfortable, and the room clean. Good water pressure and hot temperature. We did not have any maintenance items that needed attention except that the HVAC integral thermostat seemed to need calibration. The third floor gets too warm, even in winter but you can open the outside window. The hotel is on the corner of a busy intersection so noise is somewhat noticeable on the front side. Minor irritations: cheap toilet paper & kleenex and a "sliding duvet" cover that was a battle to keep over your torso at night.

I wish the hotel management well in their battle to maintain quality.

Room Tip: Back side rooms are quieter, lower floor rooms are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeenEnough2Know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments about staff. We understand about the renovations but hope you will return to enjoy the completed project!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 419 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We love the beds at Hampton. They are very cozy and comfortable. No exception here.

The only downside to our stay at the Olean Hampton was that the lobby was in the middle of being remodeled and was not as nice as one would expect. We were greeted immediately as we entered, however, and were offered warm cookies. Our check-in was speedy and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbu79_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We hope you will return when the lobby is complete! It will be beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Sometimes it really is the little things that's make the difference. The broken lock, lack of soap, breakfast bar hostess in jeans and tee shirt, mediocre breakfast choices - just didn't add up to a great stay. They were renovating, but everything was clean. Beds very comfy.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gratefulgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We are Marriott reward members but there is no Marriotts in the Olean area so we chose the Hampton. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast was high quality. We will stay there again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jndallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room was comfortable, smelled clean. They were laying new carpet in the hallways. Tile in the hallway near the 1st floor elevator was popping up. Everytime you stepped on it you could feel it move. Staff was hit or miss. Female that checked me in was great, friendly. Had contact with another male later - wasn't impressed. Weather was really nice during my stay. Would have been nice to have a bench to sit on outside. I walked around the building....saw lots and lots of cigarette butts.....but nowhere to place my butt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK92262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for a funeral. Had to set up a number of rooms. They were quite accomodating and helpful as I had to call and change the reservations many times over the week and into the weekend. Kate was extremely pleasant over the phone and in person. RIck worked with us on so much during our stay - everything from a couple of things that housekeeping missed in our room, to managing all the room reservations, to following up with us on our HHonors points for the stay. Rick went above and beyond the call of duty when he actually called me back the same day after he said he would follow up with his General Manager. The service is very good at this Hampton Inn.

The accomodations are relatively average. They do have a little renovation work happening and you can see it around the hotel. Overall very good!

Looking forward to staying here again in 3 weeks for a wedding!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A middle of the road Hampton with rooms as you'd expect though our Kleenex dispenser was empty. A ver unpleasant door permeated the corridor on the second floor. Great location though. I give it 6/10 but would give it 8/10 if the rate was 20% lower.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank acgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olean
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
17.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
12.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Cuba
Econo Lodge Cuba
#1 of 1 in Cuba
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Olean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Olean

Address: 101 Main St, Olean, NY 14760-2603 (Formerly Hampton Inn Olean)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Price Range: $111 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Olean 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Olean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Olean Hotel Olean
Olean Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing