We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Olean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Olean
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olean
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have always liked Hampton inns. We read on trip advisor that this was an average quality hotel. We were pleased with the accommodations we were provided. We were glad that we chose this hotel. The location was easy to find.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritchie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
I'm the General Manager of the Hampton Inn Olean and I thank you for taking the time to review your stay experience. We have a large number of very frequent guests and they keep returning for value for their money--outstanding service and great benefits that the Hampton brand offers. Hope you had a chance to enjoy snacks in the evening and maybe watch a movie from our movie library.
When will we see you again? Please call us at 716-375-1000 to reserve your room. YOUR Hampton awaits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    112
    54
    23
    9
See reviews for
131
78
17
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olean, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The staff upon check-in was efficient & helpful. He helped us find a resturant where we could eat dinner and watch the Giants / Jets pre-season game. The rooms were immaculate. The bathrooms clean and in good repair. The beds were comfy.Very close to St Bonaventure & right off the main road. Carol, the staff on check-out was personable and informative she offered to mail a letter for me and supplied us with a map of the St Bonaventure campus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin-Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritchie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I'm the General Manager of the Hampton Inn Olean and I thank you for staying with us and also for reviewing your stay. As you experienced, I have a wonderful team here that I'm absolutely proud of. I'm glad they assisted you with your needs. Ms. Carol has been with us for an impressive long time and is a very reliable source of local information.

Ms. Robin, I'd love to see you stay with us on your next visit to the Olean area. If there is anything we can do for you to welcome back at the Hampton Inn Olean, please call us at 716-375-1000. YOUR Hampton awaits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I spent six nights here with my family while I worked on a mission project in nearby Friendship, NY. Because we would be here so long, our primary goal was to find something clean and inexpensive. This hotel exceeded our expectations quite nicely.

The lobby, rooms, and other areas were clean and well decorated. We enjoyed having a refrigerator and microwave in our room. I used the fitness center several days (when I wasn't exhausted from building a church). The kids used the pool almost every night. We were within walking distance of a park, several restaurants, a mall, and a laundromat; all of which we used at least once during our stay. The town of Olean had an Italian festival during the first couple of days of our visit, so we walked down the street and enjoyed the festivities.

The staff were quite accommodating of our needs. The night of our arrival, the hotel was booked due to a local softball tournament. We ended up with a single king room, and had to use a rollaway for our son (the other family traveling with us got a double full, since they had two kids with them). The manager was quite apologetic, brought us the rollaway and helped with our luggage. We were able to switch to a double full room the following night, once the softballers had left. They were kind enough to make special arrangements, having our new room cleaned early so we could transfer our belongings directly. Also, due to the work schedule for my project, we needed a very late checkout (2:00pm) on our last day. They gladly accommodated us.

We only ate breakfast here twice, but it was quite good. Probably about average selection for a Hampton Inn, with waffles, fruit, cereal and eggs. They did have lots of fresh fruit available all day, so it was nice to grab an apple or banana from time to time.

My only complaints are minor. The property is adjacent to a hospital with an active helipad, which is rather noisy at all hours. Also, it is adjacent to a busy intersection right off the interstate, so there is more traffic noise than average. The aforementioned softballers were a bit unruly the first night, but that could happen anywhere, I guess. Lastly, for some reason, the cleaning staff were rather stingy with towels. We had to ask for some almost every day. Despite these minor issues, we really liked this hotel.

Room Tip: Get an even numbered room to be on the side opposite the noisy heliport at the hospital next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_tool_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritchie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hello!
I am the General Manager of the Hampton Inn Olean and I thank you for reviewing our beautiful hotel. We pride ourselves on offering our very best and am glad you enjoyed almost everything. You are absolutely correct about the level of customer care because we have an outstanding culture of superior customer service and we ensure your needs are taken care of. I will review your comments with my team to include housekeeping as well.
If there is anything we can do to reserve your next stay with us, please just give us a call at 716-375-1000. YOUR Hampton awaits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The location is OK. The rooms are OK. The "business center" isn't really a center at all but is a table in the lobby with a computer. It was a little difficult using the wifi. The breakfast eggs were ice cold. The bacon was undercooked. I took a danish that looked like cheese (there was only one choice). When I bit into it it was banana. I wasn't sure if it was truly a banana danish (yuck) or if the chees danish had been stored with the bananas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandma127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritchie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello Grandma,
I'm the General Manager of the Hampton Inn Olean and I thank you for taking the time to review your stay experience. Our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. Our rooms are very clean and our hot breakfast is something our guests look forward to. I'm concerned that you did not experience our On The House breakfast. I will review your comments with our breakfast team and address your concerns with them. If you would like to discuss your concerns in detail, please call me at 716-375-1000. Thank you and I look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here to celebrate our 9th wedding anniversary. The hotel was clean and inviting. The room was very nice. But the amazing part was the customer service. The manager, Sherry Dolph, went out of her way to make sure our evening was wonderful. I stay in hotels alot for work and this one was definately one of the best, but the customer service set this hotel far above the rest!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritchie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Kristina,

I am the General Manager of the Hampton Inn Olean and I thank you for reviewing your experience on this website. We have a great hotel here and what separates us from others is our outstanding service. In fact everything pivots around nothing less than truly great service.
If there is anything we can do for you to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please let us know. We stand to serve. YOUR Hampton awaits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were visiting for a wedding and found our stay very pleasant. We got a good price through hotels.com. From our check in to our check out, our stay was nothing but positive. We arrived at 11am, way before check in time, but the staff graciously had our room ready in less than 30 minutes. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We loved all the extras like the free movie rentals and the wonderful cookies and pastries that were available after dinner. The highlight was probably the wonderful full breakfast including food to please everyone...fresh oatmeal, homemade waffles with strawberries, blueberries and whipped cream, cereal, yogurt, eggs, and sausage...all of it delicious. Overall we were extremely pleased with our stay, the staff really made us feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room, the elevator could be a little slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritchie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I'm the General Manager of the Hampton Inn Olean and I thank you for reviewing your stay experience on Tripadvisor.com. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here. We pride ourselves on superior service in everything we do---from the moment you check-in to the time you check-out and everything in between. Our guests keep coming back to enjoy the comfort of the legendary Hampton bed and they never forget to enjoy our On The House full hot breakfast. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you so much for the opportunity to serve you. If there is anything we can do to welcome you to Olean in the future, please just call us. YOUR Hampton awaits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel need to be updated at once. The service is excellent, especially the lady works for the breakfast.

Room Tip: The hotel looks old and apparently need to be renovated. The service from the staffs are good. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Olean, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
I'm the General Manager of the Hampton Inn Olean and I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad you experienced the hospitality of our warm and friendly staff. My staff will do whatever it takes to satisfy our guests and I'm proud of each one of them.
There are newer Hampton Inns around and in comparison our Hampton Inn appears old gold. However, our hotel is fully functional and our guests not only enjoy but keep returning to us after each stay. We are renovating our lobby and the fitness center in the coming months to improve the look and feel. In the meantime, if there is anything we can do for you to make your stay more enjoyable, please just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olean
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
17.0 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Olean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Olean

Property: Holiday Inn Express Olean
Address: 101 Main St, Olean, NY 14760-2603 (Formerly Hampton Inn Olean)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Olean 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Olean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Olean Hotel Olean
Olean Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing