We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ole time, down home dining experience!”
Review of Beef 'n' Barrel

Beef 'n' Barrel
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Olean
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ole time, down home dining experience!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Remember the iconic '80's commercial staring Clara Peller asking "Where's the beef?" Well, Beef 'n' Barrel has lots of beef! Beef is their mainstay and they do it well, but their turkey is on par and worth a try as well. My meal was so ample that it was like Thanksgiving in August! If one appreciates wonderfully prepared food at reasonable prices, then locally owned and operated Beef 'n' Barrel will not, in my opinion, disappoint.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasEXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    97
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
“Jan2014”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I've eaten at the Beef N Barrel on several occasions when I've been in the area on business and had a good experience each time. The staff is very friendly and the quality of the food is consistently good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you want beef...this is the best there is!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Beef and Barrel locally known at the "beef", is consistently a wonderful place to eat. Any of their beef dishes and specials are well worth the trip! While visiting why not try the Western New York Beef on Wick, a roast beef sandwich or anything else that strikes you fancy. I love the creamy Italian salad dressing on my salad, before my meal comes. But, please...please save room for desserts! The butter brickle is to die for, my son and wife love the cream puffs with vanilla ice cream. Lets not forget the homemade birch beer (a soft drink not a beer). All around a great meal every time, consistently! When people are are visiting we always recommend the beef! For a good meal....this is the place. Mind you, it can get busy around dinner hour and on holidays, but, it is well worth the wait to watch them carve off your sandwich from a HUGE beef roast, knowing its fresh and just the way you ordered it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zooby54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best beef on wick ever!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Beef n Barrel has delicious food and friendly servers. Any dish made with their signature fresh cut beef is great. I have been going to this restaurant for over 45 years and it just gets better! The drinks are tasty and made by the personable bartender. The lunch specials are your best bet for a bargain. Beautifully decorated. One of my favorite places to meet friends and family.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachgrandma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Valley, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Beef is cut to order and is consistently excellent. I have been going to this restaurant for years and have never had a bad meal there. The beef is so good that I find it hard t order anything else! When I worked near the restaurant, I ate there 3-4 lunches a week and did try the specials as well as the salad and found them delicious as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msiperek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beef 'n' Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Beef 'n' Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing