We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly staff, good experience”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a weekday night. The staff were all very friendly and attentive at all hours of the day, particularly Sue, who attended to guests for the free breakfast in the morning. The pool was clean and pleasant. The room was perfectly fine. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I would like to start off by thanking you and your family for choosing our hotel during this difficult time. We know you have many choices of hotels to stay at during your visit to Olean and our staff works extra hard to give every guest the best experience possible. I will thank each of them for the great job they continue to perform and we all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    97
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
191
71
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My family and I have visited Olean Best Western several times. This time we came together there to celebrate the life of our father. The people at the Best Western there are always friendly and kind, but even more so this trip. The service people are wonderful, especially, Bill at the desk and Sue in the kitchen. They were all supportive and never once discouraged us from using the lobby as our ad hoc meeting place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAlot088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Let me start off by giving my condolences to you and your family for the loss of a family member.
Traveling under these circumstances can be very difficult and I’m very happy that our entire staff was able to make your stay a little bit better during these hard times. Our staff always looks at our guests as a part of our family and it is our pleasure to make you feel at home. I’ll be sure to thank our team for their continued great guest service they provide for our guests and on behalf of our entire team I want to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time on completing a review of your stay. Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorndale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Nice new accomodations and the rooms are nice and big. Very Clean and neat!! Front Desk (April) and breakfast person (Sue) did a great job along with being friendly!!! Breakfast food was good, but room was a bit congested,

Room Tip: get room on 2nd floor to avoid the noise from people starting their vehicles in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsda51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Let me start by saying thank you for choosing the Best Western during your visit to Olean, I am very happy to hear that you found both the hotel and your room to be inviting and clean. I am very happy that both April and Sue were able to make your stay that much better, i will be sure to thank both of them for the great jobs they are doing. Once again thank your for taking the time to complete a review and thank your for staying with us, we hope to see your again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had a good experience at this Best Western. The front desk was friendly and very helpful. My room was clean and the mattress was fine. Its in a good location to get to retail shops and area restaurants. I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank richardmC7794LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank your for taking the time for complete a TripAdvisor review and I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I will thank all of our team for doing a great job and ensuring your room was clean and that check-in and checkout was simple during your stay. We all hope you choose to stay with us again and hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilion, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We visit Olean often and always stay here. The accommodations are clean and family friendly.
Great location-close to resaurants/shopping. The staff is wonderful. Cindy was most helpful at the desk. The complimentary breakfast suits all. Sue does a great job making sure fresh
selections are replenished. We also like the workout room and the pool.

Room Tip: ask for first floor if you are travelling with an elder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank your for choosing our hotel and finding it to be the friendliest place in town, and thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Olean and that our team made your stay that much better, we always strive to provide the very best to every guest and i will thank our entire team for there dedication and hard work. We hope you choose to come back soon and stay with as again. Have a great day and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My favorite part of staying at this hotel was the super friendly staff! Everyone was attentive and kind. Traveling with 3 children, you don't always get that! Sue, who seemed to run the continental breakfast, was especially sweet. She was willing to make special requests from my boys which I thought was nice. We spent a while at the pool and it was very clean. Our room was spacious and clean. I am particularly choosy about cleanliness and the only thing I could honestly say is my hair dryer was dusty like it hasn't been used or cleaned in a while. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cberard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Let me start off by thanking your for choosing our hotel during your stay in Olean, and Thank you for taking the time for complete a TripAdvisor survey. I am very happy to hear that you found out hotel clean and inviting, and will work closely to address the dust that you found on your hairdryer as well. Its great to hear that your family was able to enjoy our indoor swimming pool and that they had a great time. I will also be sure to thank Sue for the great service she was able to provide during your stay. On behalf of our entire team, Thank you again and we all hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hotel was wonderful and I got an amazing deal through HotWire. The gentleman at the desk Bill was really wonderful and helpful. Sue was very friendly and the breakfast area looked great and the breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor survey, and thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Olean. I am very happy to hear that your enjoyed our complimentary hot buffet breakfast, and i will be sure to thank both Sue and Bill for the great jobs they are doing everyday. On behalf of our entire team i would like to say thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olean
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
3.1 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Inn

Property: Best Western Plus University Inn
Address: 3051 West State Street, Olean, NY 14760-1832 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing