We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“very Nice”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for a night on Good Friday to ski in Ellicottville. The room was large with 2 queen beds and clean and the staff was wonderful. Located halfway between the expressway and downtown Olean and very close to the University. Breakfast was also good. I would recommend staying at the University Inn Olean Best Western when visiting the area or skiing in Ellicottville.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    102
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
198
72
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Salem, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Clean for the most part (a tad bit dirty behind bathroom door). They offer pillow service - the blankets, sheets and towels are both freshly laundered (smell great) and soft. We had an enjoyable stay. They also have an indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. Great staff too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, New York, Usa
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wonderful hotel, excellent staff. Very clean, and had a great breakfast and even free movie rentals. Would stay again and again. My kids had a great time in the pool, there was a good breakfast for kids.



  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments! We are thrilled they loved the pool and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed twice at this hotel now and each time I found it to be excellent. The rooms and bathroom was very clean and smelled clean. The sheets and bed smelled so fresh and were comfortable. The furniture was not shabby or worn, nothing was broken down like you so often find in other hotels. The staff was very friendly and sympathetic to my situation of being stranded by the winter storm. They gave me a break on the cost of the room and saw to my needs. The breakfast in the morning was good and they had a friendly woman named Irene that kept the food filled and hot. I was very impressed with this hotel and recommend it to anyone that is staying in the area. Its not often you find even the lowest priced rooms equipped with a microwave and coffee maker, and an excellent TV with all the best channels as well.

Room Tip: i have been on both floors and any room seems good to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! I will pass along your compliment to Irene! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Numerous parties were occurring the weekend we stayed. Very very loud!
When we arrived it was hard to park as lot was not plowed. Check in was easy. The room was small and it appears old. Not a thoroughly cleaned room.

There was fridge and microwave in room, nice tv, and coffee pot.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisare239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We apologize for the disruptions during your stay. We would love the oppertunity to serve your better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olean
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
3.1 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Inn

Property: Best Western Plus University Inn
Address: 3051 West State Street, Olean, NY 14760-1832 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing