We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downhill slide”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel each year for several years while visiting relatives nearby. Up until this year, the rooms have always been clean and the beds were comfortable. Service has been fairly good. This summer we stayed for several nights and found the room to be dirty and the comfortable bed replaced with a hard one. The first day, we left the room at 11am after removing the do not disturb sign and came back about 5 PM to find the cleaning staff had not entered the room. The trash bags were full and the dirty towels still on the floor. When I complained to the desk clerk, she said that the maid noted that the do not disturb sign was on the door and just skipped our room. The clerk said the maids were supposed to check back in the afternoon if the rooms are occupied in the morning and then clean up when it is empty. Obviously this was not done. The clerk gave me new trash bags and clean towels and told me to leave the garbage and dirty towels in the hallway. The following day the room was "serviced" but the bed was not made. In addition, the floors were not cleaned. When I complained to the desk clerk, she asked if I had left the sign on the bed to not replace the sheets and I said that I did, but I expected the bed to be made anyway. She said that I would have to mess up the sheets more if I wanted the bed to actually be made up. During our three-day stay, the bed was never made, the rug never vacuumed, and the bathroom floor never mopped. The evening desk clerks did not conduct themselves in a professional manner. The male clerk was often sprawled in a chair watching TV, and the female was outside smoking almost every time we entered or left he hotel. Although we were told that coffee would always be available in the lobby (including the decaf we required) the carafes were nearly empty and the contents cold when we attempted to have a cup in the evenings. On the plus side, the breakfasts were good and well attended-to by the woman in charge of them. The cookies which were baked in the afternoon were tasty. The room size was a nice size, and the TV and Wifi were good. Overall, this hotel badly needs more diligent management and supervision in order to ensure improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbuntg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for addressing the concerns with your stay. I have addressed these items and we hope that you will give us the oppertunity to impress you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 442 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Was very pleased with my stay, especially the great breakfast - one of the best of any I've stayed in New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, South Carolina and Georgia! The omlets and sausage patties on the buffet were hot and fresh and the chef kept bringing out more fresh from the griddle - judging from the number of cars in the parking lot the place was pretty full. The room, hall and pool were clean and the desk staff was pleasant and courteous. I arrived around noon, and my room wasn't "cleared for occupancy" until 3, which wasn't a big deal; had lunch and went to the golf course. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review. We were happy to have you and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The breakfast we had there was so good and hot and a good selection of food and was tasty. The help was friendly also Everyone in our party (six ) thought it was an excellent breakfast The hotel was comfortable too and if we were in the area again we would consider staying here again,especially for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. We hope to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I wasn't expecting too much after booking this room through Priceline, but, Boy were we surprised.
I'd stay here again in a heart beat. Room was clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

The entire staff thanks you for your wonderful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were actually booked to stay at the Hampton Inn but they were overbooked and sent us to the Best Western. When we arrived, there was a waiting line and nobody was manning the front desk. The room was non-smoking but the hallway and elevator smelled of smoke. We could not get the remote control to operate properly. The shower head had very little water pressure. The breakfast was not very good. Who serves fried corn sausage on a stick for breakfast? I made a waffle that was OK. The milk jug was labled Skim but clearly it was either whole milk or 2%, definitely not skim. The bed was comfortable. We were glad that we only had to stay here one night as we were passing thru the area. There is no hot tub at this hotel but there is a small indoor swimming pool which was crowded so we did not use it. The carpeting in the hallway was stained. There are restaurants nearby and a Walmart across the street in walking distance. If you stay in the area, be sure to check out Rock City Park which is 5 miles south on Route 16. Awesome huge rock formations and a beautiful view with a cute gift shop/museum. Admission is only $4.50 for adults. Bring a camera.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. We will look into each concern and address them. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Very very nice people working here. Excellent value and for a chain it is rather remarkable.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickypeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

we felt very lucky that we picked this Best Western to stay at this weekend, luck of the draw when we picked it off internet. Great people starting wtith the nice young lady I spoke to on phone for reservations, to the young man and women who met us at the door Friday evening. I would recommend this to anyone, pool was clean and warm, rooms were very neat and breakfast was way above expectations. keep up the good work

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianesyrny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

You have truly made our day! Thank you for the comments about the service and staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olean
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
15.5 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Inn

Address: 3051 West State Street, Olean, NY 14760-1832 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Price Range: $100 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing