We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for college visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Visiting St. Bonaventure for a college visit; hotel was clean and staff friendly. The pool was a bit cool for being heated(indoors) but nice perk. Breakfast bar was ok-- I've been to better ones, but had all the basics. Check in staff offered seats to evening basketball game at St. Bonaventure-- very nice. Average but more than what we were expecting

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hr1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

I'm glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your comments and thoughts for improvement with the breakfast bar. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 423 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

The hotel services welcoming, clean and tidy. Good site. Excellent rooms excellent staff. It is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

The entire staff appreciates your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Clean room, comfortable bed, easy check in and out, good breakfast, restaurants nearby, helpful staff; that about says it all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Thank you for your review on the staff and service. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

On our way back from our road trip from Boston to Ohio, we decided to do something we rarely do--select a hotel while en route, using a RoomSaver coupon from one of those books one finds at rest stops. When we called a hotel while we were on Route 86, we were told by a friendly hotel clerk that almost all of the rooms along that route were sold out! She even recommended another hotel further along our route. We decided we had better not travel for a few more hours as planned, and we were delighted to discover that not only did this Best Western have a room available, but the clerk accepted our discount coupon upon check-in. Much relieved, we were pleasantly surprised at the treats that awaited us at the front desk, the very nice indoor pool, and the lovely and very comfortable room. All of the staff whom we encountered were extremely hospitable. The breakfast was substantial (and when I later complained that the eggs had ham in it, I was told that from now on they would try to have a ham-free option for vegetarians like me). We plan to stay at this place again the next time we go to Ohio.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugsharon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words and review of our hotel and staff. We are very happy that you were able to find us along your route. We strive to stay an Award Winning hotel and appreciate your opinion. Please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our daughter's college was in a tennis tournament for the weekend at St. Bonaventure and their team was staying here. We've never stayed at a Best Western before. We are Marriott members. I was quit surprised. We stayed in room 230 and had a standard room with a king bed. The rate was 130.00 plus taxes (146.89) The room was clean and roomy. The bathroom was large with a full length counter top area. It had a single cup coffee maker with sealed paper cups, coffee, reg/decaf, cream & sugar packets. The room came with a mini refrig/microwave. My only complaint and they are "small", is bring your own blowdryer and soap. The Sunbean 1,550 watt blowdryer only had one heat setting and it was hot! I didn't expect the soap to be from Crabtree & Evelyn, but they didn't have much of a smell at all. But, right across the street is a plaza which has a Walmart if you forgot anything. They did have a nice breakast, but the seating area is somewhat small. When we arrived they had fresh cream puffs in the lobby next to the front desk. The front desk staff was very friendly. My husband did get take out from across the street at a Chinese restaurant. It was very good. There is also an Applebees next door. Our room was right above the front entrance and was quiet considering we could look out our window and see the cars in the parking lot with the coming & going of guests. It is literally right down the street from St. Bonaventure University and not too far from the freeway entrance. All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are currently upgrading our products with the expansion of the Best Western Plus. We will take your thoughts into concideration upon ordering our new amenitites. We hope to see you again. Go Bonnies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My family and I were in Olean for a basketball game at St Bonaventure and needed a room for one night. We opted to stay at Best Western for its convenient location and reasonable price. The room was standard with two queen sized beds and it was pretty clean. We really enjoyed the pool, which we had to ourselves for a while. It was heated and relaxing after a long car trip on a cold day. We took our room towels to the pool because there were only a few small towels on a rack by the pool. The WiFi was spotty at best, which was disappointing. The breakfast spread was not great. They had two types of cereal and a waffle maker from what I remember. I have seen better selection at lower class hotels. If you need a roof over your head for one night, its fine.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xNYmomOf2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stopped on long drive west to east, found good value comfortable, clean well placed room which served our needs. Breakfast fairly minimal and no fruit at all was our biggest disappointment. Suggest hotel remedies this omission?

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olean
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
15.5 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
17.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Inn

Address: 3051 West State Street, Olean, NY 14760-1832 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Price Range: $100 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing