We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We were travelling from Washington DC to Niagara Falls and rather than do it in the one day decided to stop in Olean. The motel was located on the main road into town and was easy to find.
As overseas travellers this was our first experience of US motels and we were pleasantly surprised. The reception staff was friendly, the rooms were large & well appointed with refrigerator, microwave, DVD player, plus an indoor swimming pool & guests laundry.

Located across the road was a large shopping mall and a couple of places to eat.

Breakfast was pretty basic but more than enough to get you going for the day.

We’d have no problem in staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazinBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 437 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2007

We (party of 7 with three rooms) stayed here 6 nights. The front desk and housekeeping staff was very friendly. The rooms were still new looking and had a refrigerator, microwave, and a DVD player. The hotel had a free DVD library with some of the latest movies. The hotel has a free warm breakfast and cookies in the afternoon as well as coffee or hot chocolate and juice all day long. We also took advantage of the free high-speed Internet as well as the pool.

The hotel was in walking distance of several restaurants and a Wal-mart was across the street. We loved its location as from Olean we were close to Allegany State Park, Niagara Falls and other points of interest.

We definately recommend this hotel and hopefully we will be back to this location soon.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gelukkig_mens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We just loved this hotel!

It is new (two years old), modern, with nice clean rooms equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, cable TV, DVD players (the hotel has a pretty good DVD library). It also has free high-speed Internet.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Really wonderful for a hotel with the rate less than $80/night!

Also quite conveniently located if you are going to ski at Holiday Valley resort - if you prefer something cheaper than the lodging at the resort (takes about 30 min to get there from the hotel).

The only drawback of the hotel that I personally do not like in cheaper hotels is the old-style faucets in bathtubs, which do not have a separate regulation of water flow and temperature. In order to get hot water you need to let it run to full strength. Not very environmentally friendly!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank enthusiastMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

This is a newer, clean and well run hotel. You can walk to WalMart, Applebees, and a couple other local bars / resteraunts.

I stayed here for 4 months, August - December of 2005 and was able to work out a deal wherein I rented the room on a weekly basis.

The owners actually also own the other large hotel on the other side of town (Drury Inn?), are very friendly and will work to resolve any issues.

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank steveindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2006

We happened to stay at this Best Western during a two-week motor trip and found it to be one of the best on the whole trip. Price was outstanding (thanks to a coupon in one of the hotel discount books found in Interstate service areas), the room was roomy, clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff was great and the breakfast was varied and plentiful. Featured were hot scrambled eggs with sausage. The hallway floors seemed to be made of wood rather than concrete so, if the hotel was full, there might be noise as another reviewer noted. However, this time there were few guests and it was quiet and very pleasant. Would I stay there again? Absolutely!! Right next door is Appleby's and a number of other restaurants are close by. Walmart is across the main road.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FarAndWide_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2005

Very noisy. This is a busy area, and we had children running in the halls all day. The front desk wasn't much help.

The rooms are average in size and condition. This place is nothing special, but not awful either. Given an option, there are better choices nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaysguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
horseheads, ny
13
Reviewed January 30, 2005

great hotel with free dvd players in every room price was very reasonable and staff were very friendly

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olean
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
17.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Inn

Address: 3051 West State Street, Olean, NY 14760-1832 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Price Range: $96 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing