We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy Mirrors”

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The room is clean, the bed was comfortable, but the room has a huge mirror that completely covers the wall behind the bed. It also has a mirror on the opposite wall. since it is one of the few hotels near St Bonaventure many of the families stay there and the comments are always the same.."What's with the mirrors?". There are also no lamps in the room. There is overhead flourecent lights right over the mirrors. Not exactly warm and cozy. Reminds me somewhat of a old dorm room. The breakfast is fine with fresh bagels and cereal. Dunkin donuts is right next door if you want something a little better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel2229, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate everything you said about being close to St Bonaventure and the breakfast. We do are best to make and every guest comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 548 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

Microtel Olean is one if the nicer hotels in the Bradford/Olean area. Located directly across from the campus of St. bonaventure University, it's small and without a lot of amenities but the rooms are attractive, seem clean and, for the most part, need updating but are very well organized-a microtel trademark.
However, the biggest drawback is that the walls seem impossibly thin. In fact, as I am writing this, I am listening to the sound of someone peeing in the adjoining room.
There is a nice little continental breakfast in the clean little lobby. Also there is a vending machine with beverages and snacks. The ice machine is also there. There is also a dunkin donut right across the street, a Tim Hortons just down the road and a Perkins not much further.
Clearly if you are coming o Olean, NY you are here for a reason as the town itself is hardly a final destination. There are a couple decent restaurants here (just ask, everyone knows em) a couple good pizza joints (I'm still a fan of tasta pizza) but little else. Even better dining is available in Salamanca at the casino.
Hotel rates in this area are pretty volatile. If something is happening-anything at all- that attracts people, everyone jacks their rates sky high. So if you are looking for basic accommodations that are clean AND you don't overpay, you can feel comfortable booking here.

Room Tip: Choose smoking or non. There used to be suites available. Is still there, they are pretty nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xBradfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel2229, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate it. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and we also try to keep our rates very reasonable within our market. We look forward to you returning to Microtel Inn & Suites, Olean!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I would without question recommend this hotel to anyone. Had the worst family emergency possible while there - lost my husband in ER. Hotel staff were so kind and supportive. Manager went way above and beyond helping my family through this tragedy. Stayed in touch and sent sympathy cards - 1 signed by entire staff. Notwithstanding all of that, the hotel and the rooms are extremely clean. Have been there since and despite what couple other reviewers said, food for continental bkfst is fresh, good, and area is always kept very clean. Or, if you prefer, Dunkin Don. is right next door. It's across the street from Bona so VERY convenient if you have a student there and WAY less $$$ than other area hotels. Unless you're a snob looking for the jaccuzzi, pool, room service, etc., this is a really nice, clean, inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slinky01ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel2229, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

My hopes are you and your family are doing well after your tragic loss. We are appreciate your kind words about the hotel. Please come and stay with us when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I've stayed here before and found it acceptable. But on this occasion I checked out after one night. Despite being a non-smoking room we could smell smoke at night. It seemed to be coming up through the floor from the room below. The breakfast featured the stalest, cheapest white bread imaginable. The wi-fi Internet connection barely worked and was very slow. Fortunately, we were able to connect to the Dunkin Donuts Internet close by. The beds were weak.

We checked out and went across the street to the Country Inn and for $7 more a night got a room that was ten times better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel2229, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for staying with us at the Microtel Olean location. I do apologize for the smell of smoke in the adjacent rooms. We have downsized the number of rooms available for smoking in the hotel. The internet has been upgraded to fast running service. We look forward to future stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Rooms were pleasant and fairly new. Front counter staff were friendly and helpful. The only complaint was that the walls between the rooms were a bit thin and we could hear a guy on the phone for sometime chatting. If you had earplugs you would not have heard him but without, and when you are trying to sleep, you could hear the muffled conversation. Good location on the main street and a few minutes drive to restaurants and Walmart and K-mart.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trek4cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel2229, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay with us. Look forward to future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Had never stayed here before...but this is the only pet friendly hotel in town. Found the "suite" to be pretty comfortable. Bed/pillows were nice and firm. Room was pretty clean. Shower pressure could have been better...but it was adequate. I will say that I found it pretty frustrating that EVERY time I went to/by the front desk...there was nobody there.

All in all though, it was a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK92262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel2229, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Thank you so much for your feed back. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Microtel in Olean NY. I do apologize that there was no associate available to you at the front desk. Your feedback is very important to us and the situation will be handled appropriately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Although we really shouldn't expect much from budget level lodging, I am still disappointed by this place. Unlike a previous Microtel where we stayed, this one is not fresh and nice. In fact, it has rather icky stain ons the carpet and sofa. The physical layout is quite fine, but they need to refresh the furnishings. One additional annoyance, the luggage cart had disappeared and we had to lug our stuff up to the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DelmarSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olean
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
2.6 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany

Address: 3234 Nys Route 417, Olean, NY 14760-1837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Olean
Price Range: $64 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Olean/Allegany Hotel Olean
Microtel Inn And Suites Olean/Allegany
Microtel Olean
Olean Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing