We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haynes White House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Old Forge B&B and Inns
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
366 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The White House Inn is a great place to stay. It is a beautiful home which is conveniently located to just about everything in Old Forge...grocery store, gas stations, shops, restaurants, trails, kayak/canoe rentals, etc. The rooms are super-clean and the breakfast is great. The best part about staying at the White House Inn is Margaret, the owner. She has a wonderful sense of humor, is knowledgeable about the area, and makes you feel right at home...you know your stay is going to be a good one.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our first time at a B & B. This home is beautiful, very clean, and comfortable. Margaret made us fell like family. The rooms are beautifully decorated, beds are comfortable, walking distance to everything in town from dining, kayak and canoe rental, shopping and dining . We wlll definitely recommend this b & b to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I can't say enough good things about Margaret and the White House B&B. The location is fantastic - on Main Street, in easy walking distance to downtown Old Forge. The house itself is beautiful, originally built in the 20's and recently renovated. The rooms are gorgeous, with great views, comfortable bed, and all the amenities. There is a big side porch to relax on. But best of all is Margaret, who makes you feel at home from the moment you step in the door, She goes to great lengths to make sure you are comfortable, and makes a yummy and filling breakfast too! Thanks Margaret - I hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Staying here made us feel like we were visiting a favorite elderly aunt. The house is charmingly decorated with family antiques and memorabilia. The b&b is located on Main Street in Old Forge - Tickner's Canoe is less than a block away, so it's a great location for kayakers. Downtown Old Forge, with its restaurants and shops, is just a short walk away. The property is called White House Inn, if you are looking for it under Old Forge or Bed and Breakfast websites!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieques, PR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My daughter and I flew in from California to arrange a wedding at the Great Sagamore Camp. Martha was so gracious and helpful. We were quite stressed with decision making and driving all over and she would give us tea and talk to us and share ideas. She was like a family member. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. Good way to start the day. The house was clean and well kept. The rooms were small but totally comfortable. We walked all over town to shop and pick up dinner. Very central location. I enjoyed the house and would return.

Room Tip: The rooim at the top of the stairs has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaMariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
272 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Words can't fully describe the lovely and sincere hospitality of Margaret and the very clean and homey room and furnishings at the Haynes White House Inn. Margaret greeted my friend and I outside the Inn when we arrived by car, and immediately made us feel welcome for our entire visit with her warm personality. She provided us with many helpful tips for our Old Forge visit, and served a delicious breakfast, noting my gluten-free diet needs. It may be a cliche, but Margaret and her beautiful B & B made our visit truly unforgettable. It was a pleasure and privilege to meet her and stay at her Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

And I was spoiled with my boyfriend booking a B&B and choosing The White House Inn. The interior is thoughtfully decorated to make you feel comfortable in every room, the home made food a real treat, (my boyfriend really enjoyed the coffee cake, myself the freshly-sliced fruit, and the consideration of having Margaret make us scrambled eggs with ham and cheese on Sunday) and the inn-keeper is attune to your stay, making sure you are accomodated in every way possible. I would definitely recommend this lovely place for anyone else visiting Old Forge for the first time or interested in deviating from the norm of hotels / motels. Thank you, Margaret. You have a wonderful home and you are a wonderful person.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
4.4 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
90 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
161 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
3.4 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
182 reviews
7.1 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haynes White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haynes White House Inn

Property: The Haynes White House Inn
Address: 2945 Main St, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing