We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, Great Location, a pure Delight to stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Pine Knoll lodge is a great place to stay! It has a wonderful view. Hosts Jim and Robin were very friendly. You can walk to Old Forge along the Lake side walk. I would highly recommend Pine Knoll Lodge and plan to go back this Fall.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfesta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 422 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2010

Our first trip to Old Forge was to try out the Thendara Golf Club. Pine Knoll was one of a number of hotels with a stay and play package which offered a very good rate for both the hotel room and the round of golf. We wanted to be sure that the weather would cooperate and hence, didn't want to finalize booking our room until we were as sure as we could be that the weather would be nice. I worked with Robin at Pine Knoll to plan the visit. She was very helpful. While the visit was short, it worked out very well. Pine Knoll is located right on 4th Lake, so not only does it have a nice view of the Lake, it also has its own beach. If one wanted to rent a boat, a Marina is right next door to them, so also very convenient. A lot of the other "stay and play" hotels are on Main Street, so do not have the benefit of this Lake view. Even though Pine Knoll was not on Main Street, it was very close to it, so you had the advantages of proximity to local activities if you were interested.. The standard room was fine: clean, with gas burners, dishes and refrigerator that had a freezer that worked. That's something you don't always find with little refrigerators. Both Robin and her husband were helpful and pleasant and offered restaurant suggestions when we asked. If we find ourselves again playing at Thendara, we will be sure to plan our stay at Pine Knoll again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaZNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at Pine Knolls twice in one month. Friendly welcome upon arrival and a pleasant stay. The rooms are clean, the beds are super comfy,well maintained and have that Adirondack appeal. The cabins have everything you could need for preparing your own meals. If you need anything, they are quick to respond. Everything is within walking distance that you could want. It was a great stay and would recommend to anyone looking to visit Old Forge and look forward to our next visit . Thanks again Jim & Robin :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcandi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My husband and I just spent the weekend at Pine Knoll. We were t here in the winter when the new owners (Jim & Robin Baker) had just moved in. We have to say what a great job they've done since we were there with re-decorating the motel. The rooms capture the adironack look with the new curtains and bedspreds. We loved the wooden chairs and tables that were outside the rooms. You can see that the owners take pride in their place by the cleanliness of the rooms and how well kept the outside grounds are. They are very accommodating to their guests. They do everythng they can to make sure you have a pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keiththomas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

The location of Pine Knoll Lodge is perfect, right on the lake. It was amazing waking up and sipping coffee overlooking the lake. It was so easy to access the lake, no hauling around jet ski or boating equipment.
The rooms are clean and quiet. The no smoking rooms mean you won't have to put up with leftover stench of someone smoking, a big plus when you want to experience the freshness of the Adirondacks. Its typical Adirondack style, which you may or may not like, but is comforting nonetheless.
The owners are friendly and so helpful. They really take in your needs and just want to make your vacation special and easy. We have stayed at other Adirondack lake hotels, and this is the best. We are planning to go again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stravel800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

I had not been to Old Forge since childhood, and I was very glad for having gone there. Pine Knoll Lodge was a gem within the village. Robin & Jim were very welcoming, making myself and my friend instantly comfortable. They even let me plug in some freezers each night.( I work with ice cream) The rooms were clean as could be, even to the point of feeling like I was "messing" them up. The kitchenette was a great surprise. The location is in the heart of the village, within walking distance to everything important, but watch out for the deer on people's front lawns. It was too cold for swimming, but the dock and water looked very inviting. I have already made my reservation for my next trip. Will go swimming next time, even if it is cold! This is exactly what I think of when I think of Central Adirondack Hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isthisover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Very nice lodge with ambience - Robin & Jim are great hosts!
Large clean room with an eff.kitchenette, stove, fridge, microwave, sink and a coffeemaker. They even have free wireless internet, so we were able to surf the web. The a/c was cold and we couldn't ask for more! We had a nice balcony overlooking first lake, and just steps away from the beach area and Rivetts Marina. An absolute bargin- we are planning to go back to Old Forge in a couple weeks with friends and we will definately be staying at Pine Knoll again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatman822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
6.5 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
137 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
175 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarks Beach Motel
Clarks Beach Motel
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Lodge at Headwaters
The Lodge at Headwaters
#1 of 1 in Boonville
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc

Address: S Shore Rd, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Price Range: $144 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Knoll Hotel Inc
Pine Knoll Motel Inc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing