We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lodging for the fall foliage tour!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lodging for the fall foliage tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

We went to Old Forge in the Adirondacks last weekend to see the foliage at its peak. We selected Pine Knoll because it was right on Old Forge Pond, and we were not disappointed. Robin & Jim were great hosts, and did a lot to make our stay fun and comfortable. We heartily recommend Pine Knoll to anyone traveling up Old Forge way.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittsford_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    55
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
131
160
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Haven, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

The lodge is under new ownership. It is owned by a young couple eager to please. Since taking over they have updated everything in the rooms from the kitchenette and microwave to all new bathrooms. We have stayed here before and we were impressed with the changes they have made. We are going back again next year. We love our balcony overlooking the lake and the short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeofalltrades99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

My husband and I just love Old Forge, NY.  We recently stayed at the Pine Knolls Lodge and had a very enjoyable stay.  The lodge is under new management by a very friendly couple.  The room was very specious and comfortable.  We had a poach that looked right out n the lake and what a beautiful view.  The lodge is nestled on the edge of town and you can walk everywhere.  We will be staying there our next trip to Old Forge.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, N.Y.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

The Pine Knolls Lodge was very nice and clean. The owners went out of their way to make your stay there comforting and enjoyable. The view from my room was very nice, it overlooked the lake and docks, and the fog over the water in the morning was breath taking...

I went there with my Fire Department for a parade, but I would deffinetly com back again with my family for a vacation. Jim & Robin were great hosts and were great to work with considering how many rooms we rented.

Thanks Again for bringing in the Bears & Deer in for us to see, and pet , BUT DON"T FEED THEM :-)

See You next Year :-)
Pat O'Connor
Captain
Shaker Road Loudonville FD

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBANY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

.Friendly and helpful hosts made our stay feel as if we were among family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom6gram14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Pine Knoll Lodge it's the place to be up in Old Forge, the stuff it's friendly, the view it's absolutely out of this world. I just can't find enough good words to say about that place, but I know for sure I can't wait to go back to that place next year.
Best regards for Loudonville NY,
J.Prifti
SRL 693

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srl693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

As the other reviews have said, the owners were nice. However, the rooms are pieced together with everything from everywhere. We had a kitchenette (kinda). Nothing matched. Tiny frig on the floor, door opened wrong direction and could barely open due to carpet. Had very tall chairs with tall table at window, but 2 of the chairs were further in the room with a table between them (the table was only about a foot high). Would've been good for shoe shining... Bathroom could have been cleaner - was kinda gross. We brought food but didn't end up eating anything there. The beds were probably the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on. The air conditioner in the room was so disgusting... The price paid was completely unacceptable for the room. $60 a night would have been sufficient. Embarassing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelalotinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole98, owner at Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
This room has an eff kitchenette. We describe it as an eff kitchenette in our room description. It does not have a full kitchen. The room has a brand new stove with 4 burners and an oven. There is a sink. The room has a brand new black 4.4 cubic ft. fridge and a brand new black 12 cup coffeemaker. The eff kitchenette has glasses, silverware,plates, pots and pans.We even supply the dish detergent & kitchen towels. The room even has a microwave!
The pub table & chairs in the room are new. We thought people would really enjoy them from the picture window since this room has one of the most awesome views on the property of the lake and mountains. We keep 2 pub chairs at the pub table and 2 on a side wall in the room. The guests are more than welcome to move them around to meet their needs.
The guest kept their privacy sign on their door for their whole stay so we were not even allowed to clean it or to give them fresh towels and amenities.
A discounted rate for each night was given to the guest upon booking their reservation.
Our rooms are always inspected before our guests arrival. We have no employees and my husband and I do everything. We pay very close attention to details and cleanliness as we want all of our guests to be happy during their stay and departure.
We might add that we are very saddened, that the guest never came to the office during their stay, to express any concerns or problems during their stay or their departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
6.5 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
63.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.3 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc

Property: Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Address: S Shore Rd, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Knoll Hotel Inc
Pine Knoll Motel Inc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing