We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Forge Camping Resort
new york
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“back again”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Back again with the family of four in cottage #49--cottage seems like new and the location near the nature trail with water access and view of lake cannot be beat.In the past we had friends and family rent out the other 3 cottages up there but this time went alone and the only drawback was the large group of strangers every night just feet away from us--one group crammed 12 people of all sizes and ages in the 2 cabins next to ours and it was loud--can not believe the turnover in these things--we stayed 2 nights and seemed like 'owners"!! No bears but heard warning shots one night and golf cart visit several times during the evening and next night a nys conservation truck made the rounds. Check in in was a breeze-got in before 2pm-checkout amounted to leaving key on kitchen table.Water park was mobbed -long lines everywhere it was 80 degrees which was a rare treat for us.only drawback is the "mattress"they supply, need to be replaced --bring air mattress for additional comfort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    64
    26
    8
    20
See reviews for
127
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been going to Old Forge every year for the past 10+ years. We stay in a cottage on 4th lake and have stayed in a motel. This year we made an extra trip and camped at the end of June. We loved every minute of it!! It was very clean. I was worried about the showers and bathrooms but felt very comfortable. The cabin was spotless! We did see lots of bears but had absolutely no problems with them. One was very close but all I had to do was say "get out of here". I did not have to even yell, it just looked at me and walked away. I have small children and never feared for their safety. I would return here anytime!! The staff was fantastic, much better than the hotel we used to stay at. Would recommend to anyone. Just use common sense with the bears. Don't temp them or tease them with food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After much pondering and some reluctance, I decided to write this review. I reviewed this campground last year and while my basic feelings about the place havent changed, I am extremely concerned about the bear situation this year. We barely saw a bear last year, but this year, OMG. Bears running rampant DAY and night. My son and I both had the hoods of our trucks deeply scratched by bears. Bears roaming up the creek and through campsites in broad daylight. This is a serious problem. We followed all the rules and left NOTHING out that the bears might be interested in, however most of our camping neighbors did not do the same and seemed to actively encourage and enjoy the bears visits. Sorry but I did not enjoy waking up to my husband yelling and trying to scare off a bear which was 4 inches from my head. My son came around his truck and came within 6 inches of a mama and her cubs. While I still feel this is a great campground with excelllent manangement and facilities, I hope they can do something about this problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redjacket45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Public Relations Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are located in the Adirondacks known as the Northern Bear Range which is home to a black bear population and mother nature has not provided an abundance of natural resources for the bears this year. Bear safety is a top priority of ours. We do our very best working with the DEC on the bear presence. If you'd like to contact us to discuss this further, please email info@watersafari.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We camped in our tents for two nights here. For camping bathrooms, the showers were nice! Great location to restaurants, shopping and attractions. Our site was in rustic village. It was quiet. Only thing i didnt like was the basketball court right next to our site. It was an affordable weekend get away! And fun!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acolz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Heated camping cottages sleep 6 and include a bathroom and kitchen.

The good: our site location was terrific - just a few steps from the small lake. Dog friendly, so bring your (well-behaved) pooch - but don't leave him unattended while you're out having fun. The porch swing was our favorite place to hang out. Our cottage was clean and fun. It was nice to have our own facilities so we didn't have to walk to use the restroom or take a shower. The campground is just outside of Old Forge so it's super-convenient. They even have scheduled shuttles to the water park. Very nice lodge (I'm told this was once a KOA campground) with laundry and some arcade games.

The not-so-good (there was really no BAD): As the campground is dog-friendly, there were dogs at many of the sites around us. Unfortunately that means there was quite a bit of barking into the night and early in the morning - not the dogs' fault but rather poor owners. We had a mouse in our cottage that got into a few things but we were in the middle of nature so you can't complain about stuff like that. :) Next time we'll bring a plastic tub or tote to lock stuff up a little tighter. The water pressure in our shower was EXCELLENT but it was next to impossible to regulate the temperature.

Having the whole cottage to ourselves (2 adults + a 5-pound Chihuahua) was a bit more than needed, but it was lovely all the same. We'd definitely come again, especially with a couple friends to enjoy sit around the fire ring with us and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Cottages close to the lake go first, but you can always ask if there are others available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We camped 4 nights at this campground in our camper. Pleasant check-in. Our site was nice. Sites are small so if you have a big camper you may have a hard time getting in somewhere. The kids enjoyed the beach.It was clean. The kids enjoyed seeing the wildlife. We did have black bears everynight except one night, after we would go in from campfire at night aprox. 11:00 pm. They did not bother anything. We got some great pictures of them. The kids enjoyed the chipmunks and squirrels. They were not afraid of people. A deer came strolling through our site like nothing bothered her. She just went on with her business while we watched and got some great pictures. We went to Enchanted Water Safari one day in which they say its within walking distance, but from our campsite it would of been a long walk so we drove. Also too much to carry.We also did Calypso Cove and that we did ride our bikes to it through the trail from campground. The campground was close to everything such as gift shops and grocery store. Very convienient. They had a movie night in the pavilion everynight for the kids which was fun for them. The only thing that I did not like was the unisex showering made me a little nervous showering at night especially being a female. Seperate facilities would be better.Overall we loved this campground and we look forward to coming again for our family vacation. Dont let the bears discourage you from this campground, afterall you are in the Adirondack Mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tstewartfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We are not 'campers' so we stayed in one of the cottages for our first time at OFCR and the experience was great! The cottage had a fridge, micro, stove, bathroom and shower, hows that for camping!! lol. We were with another family and we had cottages 48 and 49; which are located almost to the end of the dirt road on the 'nature trail' area. We had a beautiful view of the lake off of our back deck! Wish we had a chance to get out on the little lake in the canoe's and paddle boats for rent; we were not informed at check in that this was an option and learned about it on the OFCR facebook page after we were home. So, we will do that next time. We cooked out on the charcoal grill and had a campfire (located behind the cottage) both nights we stayed; very nice! The only complaint are the beds are very uncomfortable (hard) I was able to use one of our unused bed mattresses to double up for night 2 and I was fine. I also wish there were screen doors on front and back of cottage to let the breeze through! It was very warm while we were there and boy was I glad I brought a window fan! We heard bears were around the campground but saw NONE at all!! security came around every hour during the night to check on things which was appreciated. Water park next door was great fun for the kids and adults!! and the climb to top of Bald Mtn was not too rough (but a little steep in parts!) even for us non-hikers! The view up there is incredible! Overall we had a great time and will be back for another family vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateNY08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We are certainly happy to hear that you had a great time and are planning to return! Some of our repeat guests bring foam or the blow-up mattresses to supplement ours. You can also ask for an additional mattress at check in and if we have any available we are happy to comply. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
5.7 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
90 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
159 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
0.8 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Forge Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Forge Camping Resort

Property: Old Forge Camping Resort
Address: 3347 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Forge Camping Resort is a year round campground located in Old Forge, New York so we’re perfect if you’re coming for camping, skiing, snowmobiling, kayaking, canoeing, or whatever Adirondack adventure you’re after. Enjoy a true vacation in the Adirondacks here at our campground as you relax and camp in the peace and quiet of the surrounding Adirondack Mountains. We offer several types of accommodations: cottage rentals, log cabins rentals, RV camping and tent sites. Each type has a picnic table, fire circle, and is conveniently located near one of our seven heated Restroom and Shower Facilities, all at an affordable cost. We are located just a half-mile from the center of Old Forge, our Camping Resort provides full amenities within the campground. The free shuttle bus can bring you directly to the Enchanted Forest Water Safari, Calypso's Cove and to the beginning of the village of Old Forge, where there are many souvenir shops and restaurants. Our scenic campgrounds, beautiful private lake and helpful staff will ensure that your Adirondack camping experience is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Forge Camping Hotel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing