We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and eat”

The Old Mill Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 33 Restaurants in Old Forge
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner
Binghamton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and eat”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Bar great place to relax, either at bar or sitting in comfy chairs around fireplace or on deck. Good food and plenty of it in dining room. Soup and salad served family style. Good value. Family friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DenPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    35
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over-Rated”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were seriously disappointed with the Old Mill. Having been there years ago when we thought it was pretty good, we decided to try it again last year. The best I can say for the food is that it was edible, the service was poor (the waitress repeatedly got our order wrong), and the wait was interminable to begin with. We almost got up and left. The only good thing I have to report about the Old Mill is that the ambience is excellent but that's not enough. With the abundance of good and great eateries in the area, we won't be back at the Old Mill.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, interesting decor”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was a nice restaurant within walking distance of our motel. The food
was good, my husband and I shared a meal, and there was more than
enough for two people. Nice Adirondack decor, rather a rustic look
and comfortable. Good food, good service. Salad and bread served
family style.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrscleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Style”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The old mill is a great family style restaurant. When you get your salads the dressings are in containers so you can put on the dressing like your at home. Their food is delicious. The wait isn't long. They put the bowl of soup on your table then you serve yourself. The steak was delicious. We stayed for desert. I got the chocolate tux. It was so good. Our waitress was very nice. I would go back there if I visit Old Forge again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariana88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“lovely rustic good food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been here several times. The atmosphere is relaxed with a fireplace and closed in booths with good Adirondack prints. The décor is fun. The food is consistently good. Sandwiches, salads and dinners which are served with soup and salad served family style. The wait staff is pleasant and knowledgeable. Will go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Old Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing