We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried this place again and was great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Mill Restaurant

The Old Mill Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Old Forge
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Tried this place again and was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Tried this place again after being dissapointed last time and it was much better. Prices were still on the high side but portions were much bigger. Soup/salad was great and the waitress was excellent! Will go back again in the fall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank timvf101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    56
    34
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A lot of potential wasted.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I wish I could give it a better review. If it was based on the staff it would be a great review as the service was excellent. Unfortunately the food was not. It was also uncomfortably warm in the dining area with no air conditioning running. You get a lot of food with the dinner menu but it is all a bit odd and bland. The vegetable beef soup had no beef to be found but was full of huge pieces of broccoli and califlower. The stuffed pork chops were stuffed with nothing more than dried bread cubes with no sign of the bacon that was advertised as in the stuffing. They were tough and tasteless. Very limited choices at very high prices on the dinner menu. Very disappointed and won't be going back. Shame as the decor is great as is the potential. I suggest they stop going for the fine dining and take it to more family friendly foods and pricing with more menu choices. Menu needs a complete overhaul.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family travels to Old Forge once a year for vacation and we always make a stop at the Old Mill. The kids get the water park as their treat and Mom and Dad get the Old Mill!
The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is truly Adirondack - very rustic and comfortable. Bread, soup and salad come wtih entrees and we all love serving ourselves soup from the beautiful soup tureen!
The Blue Cheese Salad Dressing is absolutely amazing and I look forward to making the three hour drive each and every year just to get some. Meals are a little more expensive than other restaurants in town but you most definitely get what you pay for. Worth every single penny! Your visit to Old Forge isn't complete until you enjoy the food at the Old Mill!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HockeyboyzMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The setting is just what you expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The interior is very north country, rustic and casual. We expected a great meal considering the price structure but the food was ok. The garlic fries were very salt & peppery, lacking the extra garlic that was anticipated. The burger was average. The main entrees come with soup and salad; we ordered burgers therefore did not receive the soup/salad. If you have a large appetite and want to order the entree you may be content paying the extra money, but if you order light, you will probably be disappointed. And what is up with the awful orange juice (all the local restaurants seem to use the same awful orange juice). This was the best meal we had in the area and I was not jumping for joy over this meal. Campfire cook out may be a better option.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hello420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Katrine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic with average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I does not open till 4:30PM. Prices of full dinners are on the high side. Menu for a lighter appetite was very limited and portions are small for the price. Quality of the food was decent. Probably better places that were more convenient to get to.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BillT321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Old Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing