We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what happened to last few reviewers we had a very goodexperiencer”

The Front Door Diner & Backdoor Bar
Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Schenectady, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not sure what happened to last few reviewers we had a very goodexperiencer”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Sat outside. very good attentive service. jjjust got salads and sandwiches and all were very good. perfect burgers for kids. cooked exactually as ordered. very generous with drinks. love when water comes out before it is even asked for. will totally be back with the family

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khm1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    8
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Move this place to the bottom of the list..........”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My little girl ordered a grill cheese sandwich for kids, What came out of the kitchen it was very poor at best.
One piece of bread folded over toasted only on one side and American white cheese was not melted. Wow she was not a happy camper and ask what is this!!!!!!
Most kids cheese sandwich are made out of American yellow cheese, that's was what she looking for.
They did replace it with some Mac and cheese that she likes.
Now my wife ordered the turkey sub started out OK at first but a bug came walking out of it as she pickup the other half of the sub.
The cook came out of the back and told us the door is open and this is the Adirondacks the bugs are allover.
They offered to replace it or order something else but my wife was not having any of that.
My gyro sandwich and our calamari appetizer was OK.
The waitress tried hard to make it right and remove things from the bill but the damage was done with the attitude from the kitchen.
It's a safe bet we will not dine here again anytime soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maridale2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury Center,ny
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were waited on right away. Took awhile to get food. Roast beef was really salty and soaked in broth. Nothing to write home about or go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank claudia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the worst”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Do not go there!!! It tok forever for the waitress to come to our table to even get coffee, then it took even longer to get our food. We watched as several other tables that were seated after us got thiers first. When it did finally get there we had to ask for utensils ans can you believe they only served us 1 slice of toast each with our eggs. It is also dirty. We will never go again and hope this review makes you think twice too!! Go to Walts!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a good example of Old Forge Food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The pizza is like cardboard, service is deplorable, On an earlier occasion I had a gyro which had french fries in it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fungilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Door Diner & Backdoor Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Front Door Diner & Backdoor Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing