We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nick's Lake Campground
Nearby Hotels
Great Pines(Old Forge)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc(Old Forge)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

19th Green Motel(Old Forge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Christy's Motel(Old Forge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
29
9
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
9
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloopnickssitescampgroundprivacyplaygroundadirondacksgeneratorpaddle
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 41 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My family has been camping, on and off, at Nick's Lake for at least 40 years. The sites are spacious, the place is quiet, and the lake is wonderful for canoeing. If you like campgrounds with a rec. room, swimming pool and power boats don't come here. If you like quiet, easy hiking, a quiet beach, and a nice size lake for canoeing this is your place.

The rest rooms are fine. They have added a large sink for washing pots and pans with hot water.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edshome41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We want to thank you all for the very pleasant stay & very nice camping areas. There were four of us who reserved to stay Saturday night so we could go to Enchanted Forest, unexpectedly we all ended up getting Friday off so we all drove up just for the heck of it, we checked with Nick's Lake first thinking at the last minute they wouldn't have anything available, much to our surprise they did. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. Both sites were very clean and spacious and not close to the neighboring site. We do plan on returning in the near future. They get an AAAAA+++++++ .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nylady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I am one of the staff members here. It is a wonderful and quiet place to stay . The fish are plentiful, animals are all over but please do not feed any of them, pictures are welcomed. We do have a bear that has been wondering around but PLEASE don't leave your food, garbage, or coolers out. Were trying to get more hiking and waterway information for our campers to obtain. I hope you are enjoying your summer and continue into the fall.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindymaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We take our kids to Old Forge every June for camping, and we always stay at Nick's Lake. We have been going for over 10 years now, at least once a year. This is a DEC campground and is kept up very well. Almost every loop has a newer bathroom/ shower building. These buildings have a handicapped large private bathroom, which is so wonderful because I can take my disabled son to the bathroom if my husband is busy (of course there are still the rude people who use the handicap bathroom so they don't have to use the communal one, but nothing can be done for rude and stupid). The showers are also private, but the downside to this is that there are only two of them perbuilding and the line can get long in the mid-morning. The staff are always helpful and like to share tips on great places to eat, local attractions, events, etc.. The deer are abundant and the chipmunks. There is terrific foilage on every site, some sites are on the lake. The lake is man-made and spring-fed, and its like bathwater. Great playground, canoe rentals, and the hiking trail is so beautiful, with a lovely bridge. They have fall camping as well, and its just a riot of color. Highly recommend that sight!!

Room Tip: If you want a water view, you will have to book ahead. It's a popular campground!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennz_id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Came across this beautiful campsite by chance on our way further into the Adirondacks. Were lucky enough to be given site 99 in Loop E which was the most wonderful site we have ever camped in. Lovely lakeside setting in a clearing in the trees. Plenty of space and not close to others. Good hot showers nearby. Close to the beach. Take a walk there in the evening as the lake in the sunset is stunningly beautiful and very romantic. There were deer drinking at the edge of the water. Definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClaireEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews