We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and peaceful little place”
Review of Christy's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Christy's Motel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed 2 nights here and really enjoyed it. It was in an excellent location close to restaurants and other shops. Overall cleanliness was excellent. It is an older place but it's very well maintained. We were upgraded to the suite which had a kitchen and bedroom with a bathroom and balcony. Very nice for the price! We were very comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We would definately stay here again next time we visit the Adirondacks. Christy's Motel is definately a place for you to consider, look no further. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paganini15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

For 20 years, Christy's has always been my first stop in the Adirondacks. Steve, his staff and his animals warmly greet you as a friend. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and clean. Every year, it seems like Steve is updating and remodeling something! As an added bonus, the rates are very affordable and a good value. Christy's is a home away from home for me. I highly reccommend you add Christy's on your next Adirondack journey.
Barrie from Ithaca

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We don't usually stay in the mom and pop places, but after searching the Old Forge area, decided that this sounded fine. No frillsl, very clean room and bathroom. Only complaint was the bedding, blanket was old and pilly, The night we stayed there was very quiet with only a few visitors there, Would definiitely stay there again if we return to the area. The owners seem to take great pride in their place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Was hesitant to stay in a mom & pop, but was pleasantly surprised. Rm #1 was neat and clean, recently redone. We will stay there again as we go to OF yearly. Only MINOR
complaint was scratchy bed & bathroom linens, blanket like a brillo pad.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdubrey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is the fifth time we have stayed at Christy's, starting when our kids were quite young until this most recent stay with our teenage sons and our daughter in law. Obviously we have our choice of places to stay in Old Forge, yet we will always return to this location. Look, where else do you find great rooms, a perfect location within walking distance of everything yet not in the middle of the traffic, an owner who is there all the time, always willing to help and provide excellent service, and a crystal clear pool? And (now get this) Steve, the owner, sets up a projector after dark and plays family movies out on the lawn. Couple of more things: Each day we walk to the center of Old Forge to shop. There is a Kinney drug store and a grocery store a few minutes' walk away. Plenty of restaurants to choose from. We all get something different to go from various places, bring it back and have a leisurely dinner together at the picnic table next to the pool. As I write this I wish we were back up there. Oh well, we'll have to wait till next August.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yeti619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

After a 100 mile bike trip, Christy's was a sight for sore muscles! Clean, spacious rooms, a heated pool, and friendly proprietor all made the visit wonderful! Price per room was economical, and the motel is located within walking distance of all of Old Forge's shopping delights and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanmread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

If you are looking for a place to stay up in Old Forge don't be to quick on your Hotel / Motel choice because Christy's Motel is a great place to stay and very affortable, clean, friendly and has what you need. I've been their twice, once in the weather for snowmobling and in the summer and both times had a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCustomer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
7.3 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
135 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
285 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christy's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christy's Motel

Address: 2902 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented accommodations centrally located on Main Street in Old Forge, New York. We like our guests to think of Christy's Motel as their Adirondack Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Christy`s Hotel Old Forge
Christys Hotel Old Forge
Christys Motel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing