We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biker Friendly Old Skool Rules Motel”
Review of Christy's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Christy's Motel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Napanee, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Biker Friendly Old Skool Rules Motel”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly to bikers! Steve booked a whole block of rooms for us and had the kickstand pancakes ready when we arrived! We will be back ! ~ The Beach Gang (Dead Squirrel Saloon Riders)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristysMotel, Owner at Christy's Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi PJD,

Thanks for the review and hope your group got out for a few more rides over the summer.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    31
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
56
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cooperstown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My Husband and I have stayed at Christy's every July and Sept for many years. We have always been greeted by the owner Steve who remembers our name and gives us the same room every year. The rooms are clean, and pride is everywhere. The Motel is very family friendly and works very hard to make your stay a truly relaxing time.
Highly recommend this Motel..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristysMotel, Owner at Christy's Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi funforte,

It was great seeing you two this summer again and thanks for posting a review. Sorry I didn't get much time to chat with you guys, with me on the run and you two out and about. Hope the show was good to you and hope to see you in the fall.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My mom froze up the condenser in the AC unit which was quickly fixed. The rooms were clean beds were comfortable same with pillows. At night there is a movie played for kids which was awesome! Great place to stay the only place ill be booking in Old Forge!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingthing76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristysMotel, Owner at Christy's Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi Wingthing76,

Thanks for the review and staying at Christy's. No big thing on your Mom's AC, I'll take easy fixes like that all day. I know it's hard sometimes and I don't know how much free time you have. But if you could, you should try to get in more than just one day sometime. There are so many things to see and do I think you guys would really have a great time exploring the Old Forge area.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Christy's Motel this past weekend for 3 nights and pride of ownership is evident everywhere at this motel. The owner, Steve, is friendly and accommodating and works hard to make sure the place is pin perfect; the lawn is cut and in great shape, the pool is clean and tidy, the flowers and motel porch clean and kept up. The rooms were very clean and very well-looked after if not the most modern. Lots of room for the 5 of us!
We loved the location (about a km from the water park) and the green space, BBQ and pool made the evenings great for the kids. Steve showed "drive-in" movies for the kids every night which was a lot of fun. We will definitely stay here when we return to Old Forge. (also right beside liquor store and across from Fast Track for pizza, beer etc....)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristysMotel, Owner at Christy's Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi southkins5,

It was nice having your family and the other families traveling with you stay at Christy's. It sure looked like you guys enjoyed your time in Old Forge and all it has to offer.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and hope to see your group again sometime,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great place to sit back and relax. Use for a home base and ride every day and ride the Aandirondacks Stay in room 18 great beds and everything handy. Great staff. Hubby is still tired from watching Steve work. see you next year

Room Tip: we liked the end rooms as we like to sit outside and enjoyed overhang and watch Steve work
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noell o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristysMotel, Owner at Christy's Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi noell o,

It was great visiting with you guys over the 4th of July week. Hope you had a nice/dry ride home. Thanks for the great review!

See you next year and hope enjoy the rest of the summer,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

have stayed 2x. pool clean as are rooms. staff helpful in finding me an accessible restaurant that could meet my special dietary needs.handicap room large enough for wheelchair. bathroom very roomy with grab bars.suggestion: get rid of bedspreads. i like the washable duvet covers that are laundered after each guest that we are seeing more and more of when we travel.great value for the money. great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocomajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristysMotel, Owner at Christy's Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi cocomajo,

Thanks for staying with us again and it worked out great that the handicap room was available for you. Thanks for the input on the bed spreads and hope you get time to visit the Old Forge area again in the future.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed in room 10 in corner. Nice enough, everything worked and wifi was good.

My (minor) complaints - showerhead is old sandblaster-type, and room smelled slightly ~ something - like it had been a smokers room a few years ago? Could use a new matress, a bit hard. At 85 dollars for a Sunday night it was okay, but maybe a bit overpriced?
I would stay again if there weren't another highly rated place to try. Owner was very friendly and nice..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristysMotel, Owner at Christy's Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hi tedley7,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Just after your stay, I was doing my final check of the rooms before the season got into full swing. I also thought #10 and a few other rooms had a slight smell. What I found cased this, was we had the windows open and the dampness from the wet spring we had settled into the rooms. I closed the windows and turned on the heat to dry out the rooms and the slight smell went away.

Hope you enjoyed the area and thanks again for the review,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
7.3 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
121 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#9 of 12 in Old Forge
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
9.5 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christy's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christy's Motel

Property: Christy's Motel
Address: 2902 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented accommodations centrally located on Main Street in Old Forge, New York. We like our guests to think of Christy's Motel as their Adirondack Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Christy`s Hotel Old Forge
Christys Hotel Old Forge
Christys Motel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing