We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't be better”
Review of Christy's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Christy's Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

we had checked several motels in the area and all were still at summer rates. Steve at christy's offered the fall and winter rate.We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. A very comfortable stay,we would return to Christy's anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 3, 2011

Hi Jack,

We always try to offer the best rate that we can. But sometimes it does get hard with the cost of just keeping the doors open. Thanks for taking the time to give us a review.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

We visited Christy's with another family who frequent it each year. The owner was excellent, checking with us each day to be sure we didn't need anything, showing films for the kids, and just being an overall great host. Definitely above and beyond. A great place to spend your vacation. We'll absolutely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 3, 2011

Hi Scott,

I have to tell you that it is a two way street. We have just as much fun doing things for the guests and thier famlies. There is nothing better than hearing a childs belly laugh. Thanks for taking the time to post a review!

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I have known Christy's Motel (and steve) for many years. I usually go up to old forge in the winter time for their great snowmobiling. This time I took my family on a summer/early fall vacation. As per usual steve, the great host that he is, made me feel welcome, like I never left the area. No matter what the request he fufilled with enthusiasm, attention to detail and most importantly like I was part of "his family". Like his website says "great family enviroment. Steve will go out of his way to make you feel like you are vacationing in your own backyard. No matter how big or small your request your satisfaction is his biggest concern and I have found that when you stay at Christy's motel there is never a bad experience. Your vacation to old forge will never be complete unless you have the opportunity to stay at Christy's Motel.

Room Tip: very CLEAN and every detail afforded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 21, 2011

Hi Craig,

It was great seeing you again and to meet your family. Hope the girls got everything in that they wanted to do on the trip to Old Forge. It won't be long and the white stuff will be flying. Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

See you soon,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

So much fun was had at Christy's. Home away from home. Very clean. Great service. Awesome movies outside. Pool was very well maintained. Steve and his staff are very welcoming and helpful. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The extra touches in our room after cleaning was very nice.

Room Tip: Strongly suggest a room with a fridge. Only a few extra dollars, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjacolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 6, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to past your review! We try very hard to ensure our guests go home with thoughts that will make them smile long after the trip is over. There's nothing better than hearing a kids belly laugh and seeing parents doing fun things with thier kids.

Thanks again for the review,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in the efficiency room. it was wonderful. The room was very large and clean. The staff was friendly. Everyone at the motel seemed to be very relaxed and enjoying themselves. We will certainly be back and recommend this motel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank summerluver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 6, 2011

It's funny how many people enjoy being up in the efficiency and how many never even use all it has to offer. They just like having the extra room and the privacy it offers.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for visiting Old Forge,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This was our second stay a Christy's.
This time we took 2 other couples with us.
Nice pool, nice grounds, close to good food.
Steve the owner is more then just a nice guy.
Both the other couples understood why we stayed there and said if they had the chance would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2002r1150gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 6, 2011

Thanks for stopping in Old Forge on your road trip and for bringing your friends along to Christy's. It was nice to see you again and I hope you started to plan your next trip. You guys really seem to enjoy them!

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

You here about motels and think 1950's old and crusty and wonder if there all like that, there not !! We decided to forgo the popular hotels / motels nearby and decided on christys. The decision was based reviews, within walking distance to everything but far enough away from the crowd and its location to Old Forge and the water park.
I admit upon arrival i was skeptical of the 1950's motel vision. As soon as I opened the door gone was that 1950's vision. Modern and clean, no dust no mold NO STAINS nothing !! For what I payed for this room you think I was at the Hilton. I believe the owner lives on premises as I see him walking around everywhere and you get that mom and pop atmosphere, they even show movies outside like being at a drive in. The pool was even heated and my stay was during the week not just heated for the weekend rush. To say I would be coming back is a big YES. You dont get that type of commitment or atmosphere anymore. These people go out of there way to make you feel at rest and it shows. To show movies on a screen outside laying in the grass, relaxing with my kids after a full day at the water park is a memory that wont be lost. This is not just a place to rest your head and sleep, it becomes part of the vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mowhawk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 29, 2011

Hi,

It sounds like you had a great time during your visit to the Old Forge area and that's what it's all about. To relax and make some memories that you can take home with you!

Thanks for taking the time to post a review,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
7.3 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
136 reviews
10 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
174 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
0.8 mi away
Clarks Beach Motel
Clarks Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christy's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christy's Motel

Address: 2902 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented accommodations centrally located on Main Street in Old Forge, New York. We like our guests to think of Christy's Motel as their Adirondack Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Christy`s Hotel Old Forge
Christys Hotel Old Forge
Christys Motel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing