We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable way to view the fall colors”

Old Forge Lake Cruises
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Skaneateles, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable way to view the fall colors”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A very nice way to see another aspect of the area. Except for where you board in Old Forge, the rest of the cruise is through lakes that cannot be seen from the road. We live on a different lake & it's nice to compare the topography as well as the houses/camps.

We went on a quiet Monday in September so there were only about 20 people on board. There was plenty of room to change seats & move about. If the boat were full & you got a middle seat on the lower enclosed deck you might not feel as happy about the cruise as we were. It was kind of difficult to see out of the not very clean windows when we moved inside to get out of the wind.

It is very easy to board with a wheelchair or stroller.
I think it's a good value for the price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CELESTE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    22
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Lovely Way to spend 2 Hours”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We took the 2 hour "Sightseeing" cruise ($18). AAA gives a $1.00 discount per ticket.
We enjoyed a relaxing time aboard the boat, first sitting on the outside upper deck and then moving below when it got a bit windy.
Captain Bob and his First Mate were very friendly and informative.
We purchased some drinks. They serve soda as well as alcohol.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GmaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very pleasant way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This boat cruise was informative and a great way to see parts of the Chain of Lakes that you wouldn't normally get to see. The ride takes passengers on a double decker boat on the first 4 lakes in the chain. In case of rain, the lower deck is covered, but the top deck is open to the views, so I reccomend up top. We learned things too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jktran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Captain Bob is well versed in the history/lore of the Fulton chain of lakes. The cruise itself is very calm and relaxing, saw several common loons. I would go again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Puffinjune11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon ride”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Loved the scenery, the slow pace made seeing gorgeous camps and woods nice, but the cheap chairs that were zip tied together made for sitting way too close to others. Would've been nicer to be able to spread out a bit on the top deck. I understand not wanting the chairs to blow around, but I also didn't want to sit so close to the folks I came with, let alone strangers. LOL, it was very nice, but could've been better with a little space.
Great deal to be had in the local coupon book was buy one get one free, so a 2 hour trip for two was only $18. That was super nice!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Forge Lake Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Old Forge Lake Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing