We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big, clean rooms!”
Review of Forge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forge Motel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big, clean rooms!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Rooms are very spacious and clean. Great view of the lake. The pool is nice for the kids and free breakfast. Great value for the price. Walking distance to everything in town. I will never stay anywhere else when visiting Old Forge!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestOpinion12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    14
    11
    4
See reviews for
25
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Friendly atmosphere. Clean rooms . And the best veiw of the lake. Nice place to sit and watch the boats. Pet friendly. Continental breakfast is good. Nice indoor pool. Have stayed here on and off since the 60's. So like the title says, The only place we stay in Old Forge!

Room Tip: We always stay in the upper deck. The veiw is nicer and the pool is closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank investigator21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It's everything you would aspect from a motel. Basic, but clean (which in my opinion is the most important thing). The view is great though and it's nice and quiet. Als mentioned before breakfast is very simpel, but otherwise many other motels don't offer any breakfast so this will do. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br3nni3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I have stayed at this motel for roughly 30 years and it is one of my favorite. Rooms are very clean and the view from the upper rooms of the lake is awesome. Nice continental breakfast they provide in the mornings. Place has an indoor pool which is also very clean. Staff is excellent and would do anything to make your stay comfortable. Motel is close to store/restaurants and most is within walking distance. You can also bring your dog which is very unusual now days. Would recommend this place highly!

Room Tip: go with the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timvf101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This place is an average place to stay, but does need room updating. We found our room clean and the service was good. An ordinary continental breakfast was served in the main lobby which consisted of bagels, Sara-lee muffins, fruit, coffee, tea & juices. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melbe262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaghticoke, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Well, we checked into this Motel on a snowmobile, romantic weekend. When we first opened the door to the motel I was less than impressed. I looked around and was very dissapointed in this disgusting room that had stains on the floor. I took the blankets off looking for bedbugs and what I found was worse. BOTH box springs had massive blood or vomit splatters all over them. SO GROSS. It looked like someone was murdered in our room. It is a dog friendly motel so I ended up using the blanket that I brought for the dog to sleep with. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerOwner, Owner at Forge Motel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Since this photo was taken we have replace the mattresses. I hope you will come back again soon and see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

As other reviews have stated, the view is excellent. And the rooms are clean. That's about it. I would wager the rooms themselves haven't been updated since the late 70s or early 80s. Decor is old - and the rooms have an 'old' smell to them.

Also, amenities that are standard in virtually every motel or hotel that I stay in are lacking here. There's no coffee pot, no blow dryer, no mini-refrigerator. Furniture is crude - no recliner or sofa. TVs are very old 19" models that look to be from the mid 80s.

Rooms are on the small side too. Bathroom is small. Even basics like shampoo aren't provided - nor does the desk have any - I called. Had to make a trip to the store to get some.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
6.6 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
8.9 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forge Motel

Property: Forge Motel
Address: 104 Lamberton St, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing