We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Reviewed July 7, 2013

First I must say we booked trip for our daughters 5th Bday vaca! Our daughter told front desk clerk it was her bday on July 4th. They made a happy birthday sign and place on our door. Very sweet, nice touch!
Hotel when u walk in very cozy. Being a coffee drinker loved coffee was there all day.
Hallways dark and exterior of building run down. Broken lights. Spider webs and spiders all over our balcony.
Ambassador suite. Let's just say not a suite. It's was run down, out dated and dingy. Not to mention the bathtub separated the bed area by sliding glass doors. No privacy in bathroom what so ever. Walls didnt go up to ceiling. Not pleased by this and who ever designed this was not thinking at all. Big turn off for me!
I am sorry but I was very disappointed by the room. It felt so run down and dirty. I know on vacation you don't spend a lot of time in room.... But when you have children you think differently about where you rest your head.
Staff was nice, breakfast was more then I expected. But price for that room - insane!
Place needs and overall.
Oh did I mention the mold around she shower "covered up" yuck. Oh and replace bath mats. That was so gross!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan7408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 228 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

A very pleasant lakeside location with small patio overlooking the lake in some rooms. The facility is very dark. Dark decor, and minimal lighting in common areas and rooms. Rooms could really use some modernizing. Even a little bit would make a big difference. The fact that the "little bit" was not attended to makes you feel that the owners don't really care. I was not able to take a shower as the shower valve was defective. It went from scalding to freezing instantly and with no forewarning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Your opinion is important to us and is the best way to improve our facilities. We apologize your stay was not all you hoped it would be and the décor in the room was not to you your liking. Had you expressed this concern upon your arrival we would have happily shown you other rooms with different décor. Upon reading your review we promptly replaced the defective shower valve. We would like to invite you to email us at info@watersedgeinn.com to further explain what you felt needed to be more modernized. We look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will return to Old Forge in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Water's Edge Inn has beautiful views from the rooms and a "rustic" feel - while the televisions have been updated, there's a lack of modern amenities in the rooms otherwise, including a paucity of electrical outlets (if travelling with multiple people, don't expect to charge too many phones, etc. simultaneously). The bathrooms are *very* small and the air conditioning is quite noisy (usually not needed, but if it's humid out...).

The big problem I ran into, though, was the service. If you have a problem overnight (and "overnight" there starts before the late news), they have an emergency number listed at that front desk. However, during my stay, that number did not actually go through to anybody, instead giving an error message when called. Lose a key? You're locked out for good. Need towels or something else? No chance. For the higher-than-average (for the area) prices of the hotel, that's completely unacceptable.

If everything goes right, Water's Edge is a nice (if still a bit overpriced) stay. If anything goes wrong? Just hope it happens during business hours.

Room Tip: I can't imagine coming here and NOT getting a lakeside view. It's far and away the best feat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMSpuhler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We are located in a seasonal hamlet in the Adirondack Mountains, which is unlike metropolitan areas. All lodging facilities in the area have Front Desks which close before the night’s end with the availability of a night manager by phone.
Our Front Desk has a sign with the phone number to call if you have a problem after our office closes at 10:00 pm. There is also was a phone outside the Front Desk which could be used to dial directly to the Night Manager. The Night Manager received a few calls that evening, regarding availability, all of which had no problem getting through. It is a land line that is connected directly with our Night Manager and thus no error messages are possible, so perhaps it was a cell phone issue.
We are the only hotel in Old Forge and offer amenities such as a heated indoor pool and sauna, fitness room, laundry room, arcade and conference room. Our hotel has recently been renovated and each room or suite includes complimentary wireless internet, high-definition flat panel televisions, a refrigerator, hairdryer, make-up mirror, iron and ironing board, phone and private balcony. Suites also include sitting rooms and some come complete with kitchens/kitchenettes. We would welcome your suggestions on other modern amenities you would like to see added and ask that you email us at info@watersedgeinn.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights at Waters Edge Inn. Have seen it for many years, I have season tickets to Water Safari. Usually make a day trip to Old Forge. My husband and I treated ourselves this year. The hotel was clean, quiet and has a BEAUTIFUL lounge. I could only imagine what the fireplace is like in the winter. Our surprise for breakfast that had scrambled eggs and homefries. Not the usual continental breakfast. Easy to walk to town for supper at Slickers.{nice place to eat}
Was in the book at the hotel which gives visitors many options for Old Forge. Will be back to both places. I am so looking forward to it.

Room Tip: The king bed rooms all overlook Water Safari. Check the website if you want water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

WE took advantage of the Adirondack Getaway Package. WE had a wonderful room with a great view, nice Continental breakfast and dinner certificate for use at a restaurant of our choice from those indicated. The room was very comfortable in every way, temperature control, towels, TV, refrig., great little balcony to enjoy an afternoon cocktail. The Staff were very friendly and helpful.
It was a wonderful value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed overnight in a lakefront room and was pleasantly suprised to see modern updates in this quaint older Inn. Free WIFI, flatscreen televisions and very confortable bedding. Free continental breakfast, decent fitness center and indoor pool. Still has old box air conditioners which are quite noisy and the rooms' interiors could use a little updating but overall a good stay.

Each room has a balcony and I would recommend paying a little extra to obtain a lakefront, otherwise you will have a view of the Inn's parking lot. The staff was very friendly, accomodating and professional. The breakfast was rather mundane, but did offer scrambled eggs along with the usual muffins, bagels etc. Coffee is available 24 hours a day.

The Inn is well situated and one can actually walk into town which is less than a mile away. The hotel is located directly across the street from the Water Safari park and there are plenty of quaint and not so quaint restaurants in town along with some interesting shops well worth exploring. There is a lake boat tour offering directly behind the Inn and others further away, as there is a series of lakes, numbered 1 though 8 that run through the area.

We had the misfortune of encountering miserably cold, rainy weather but I am sure when the sun shines, the experience would be well worth the drive.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to obtain Lakefront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I paid basically 90.00 for a dump. This place is totally run down and I gave it one star for the nice TV. The place has a no smoking policy but they allow smoking right outside and I mean right outside the front door and it blows up into the rooms if your staying in a room on the front of the hotel. Its also the congregation spot for the nicotine addicted at 6am in the morning and that is what you get to wake up to...pretend mountain bikers who are hung over from the night before and their cigarette addiction. Oh by the way in my 56 years I have never had a pillow on my bed ever like the pillows in my room. unbelievable that they have the gall to charge anyone to stay in this dump. oh they did have a nice fireplace room down in the lobby area with a great view of the lake.. to bad I could not sleep in the lobby...that would have been great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: find someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your dissatisfaction with our accommodations and specifically our smoking policy and pillows. We are a 100% smoke free facility and do not allow smoking in the building or on our balconies. Guests that choose to smoke are invited to do so at least 25 feet from the building where we have numerous smoking stations set up. We check the grounds regularly and make sure guests are adhering to this policy, however on occasion; a guest will remain too close while smoking and we miss them. If this was the case, we do apologize. We immediately took action and moved the front smoking stations further than 25 feet from the building in order to prevent any chance of smoke blowing towards the building. We sympathize with your right to have a smoke free environment and we understand how upsetting it is when you don’t get it.

Regarding the pillows, we are sorry to hear that our pillows did not meet your needs. We have found pillows are a matter of personal preference. For this reason, we have chosen a quality medium weight pillow for our rooms. Each bed in the room type you stayed has four pillows per bed. Since pillows are such a personal choice, we have several other weights available and it would have been our pleasure to provide you with different pillows.

Based on your comments about our Great Room and fireplace you can readily see that we strive for the highest quality in accommodations and service. It will be our pleasure to have you return to the Water’s Edge Inn and give us another try. If you let us know your specific requirements when you make your reservation, we will have one of the management staff personally check you in and see that your room meets your needs and that you have a very enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
6.3 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
137 reviews
9 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
175 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
0.2 mi away
Clarks Beach Motel
Clarks Beach Motel
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have something for everyone! We offer an ideal atmosphere for all types of visitors to the Old Forge area: families, singles, couples and business travelers. We offer 11 different types of rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing