We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable at Country Club Motel!”
Review of Country Club Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Club Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Finally able to take trips during off-peak dates, we selected Country Club Motel for our stay on our Old Forge trip. Actually in Thendara, it is a short drive into Old Forge center. The property is well-maintained inside and out. Our research had shown it to have the lowest rates in the area, yet very good reviews. Two nights of good sleep in a comfortable room (VERY COLD NIGHTS UP THERE AT THIS TIME OF YEAR) - very clean room and bathroom. The room was maybe a little smaller than some, but having traveled many times to Old Forge, we ranked this high for comfort and convenience. The motel is right on Rt. 28 next to and across from other motels (with higher rates!). The desk attendant was polite and efficient and steered us to FRANKIE'S ITALIAN RESTAURANT (a short walk) fort great food. The room had a nice refrigerator and microwave. The only necessity missing was a hair dryer, ladies. Bring your own! We had Room 10 - two double beds. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building parallel to the road and found little noise from the highway. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

We spent one night here while visiting Old Forge and Enchanted Forest. Travelled with our daughter and her family (boys 2&5) and had two rooms side by side. Stayed in front section of motel (least expensive). Street noise was minimal. Room was clean but the shower was not so great. Pool was convenient, clean and good sized-the boys loved it-and had tables and chairs to sit at by the pool. Outdoor tables on front lawn for eating dinner or just hanging out with a glass of wine. Convenient to Enchanted Forest and town of Old Forge. We had a pleasant stay and considered this spot a very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyGardener19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night with our two boys (ages 3 and 5) during our visit to Enchanted Forest. The room was very reasonably priced, and was nicer than we expected. The room was clean and quiet, and the bedroom and bathroom were big enough to comfortably move around in. The rooms were all non-smoking, and our room didn't have that musty "motel smell". The in-room fridge was very clean and big enough to store the breakfast and lunch that we had packed. We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked clean - the owners have a strict pool safety policy that you have to sign at check-in. The motel was just over a mile west of Enchanted Forest, and it was just out of the very crowded part of town while close enough to easily get to any shops we wanted. When we woke up in the morning, there was a deer about 10' outside our window (which faced the golf course behind the property). We will definitely stay at this hotel next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennymomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Clean motel room and easy access to anything in old forge. The room we stayed in smelled kinda old...not moldy or anything, just old!! We had windows and air on to try and air it out and were politely asked to either shut windows or shut off air! My husband was the one the owner spoke to otherwise i would have told her we were airing the place out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank supermom1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I stayed here with my two young kids over Snofest weekend.

The motel is basic - rooms, but no breakfast. Our room was very clean, the furniture was in good condition, and the beds were comfy. No issues with the facilities. In spite of being next to one of the snowmobile trails, I didn't hear them at all.

The location is just outside Old Forge, so it's more than a bit of a walk to get to the middle of town. On the other hand, you have less traffic to deal with.

Several commenters have mentioned issues with the owner; I interacted with him only at check-in time. He seemed gruff, but not unfriendly. He greeted my young daughter politely. So unlike some other people, I had no issues. There's a list of ( reasonable ) rules in the room about three times as long as any other motel I've been to, so I presume that they take quiet hours, etc. seriously.

Overall, I was very happy with the place, and will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank TravelingRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Rooms were cozy and clean, front desk people made us feel like family. Very knowledgable about current events, good eating places and up to date times for the fall events, such as mccauley mt chair lift. Motel was full but was still very quiet and peaceful. We loved our short get away at the Country Club

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimicamillus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Traveling with four other couples, we set-up and enjoyed a casual cocktail party in the front lawn, being cheered by the passing traffic.

Bill and Judy Wengert, the Motels Managers, were friendly and extremely helpful in supporting a computer need we had. They made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehurtubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Forge hotels
7.8 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarks Beach Motel
Clarks Beach Motel
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Motel

Address: 2747 Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
27 immaculate rooms with AC/Heat, coffee makers, refrigerators, microwave ovens, phones, TV & Remotes. Very clean and very affordable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Club Hotel Old Forge
Country Hotel Old Forge
Country Motel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing