We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You deff get what you pay for.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dirty Gringo

The Dirty Gringo
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Ogdensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Hammond, New York, United States
1 review
“You deff get what you pay for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The help if friendly and the food is good. One helping is enough for two people. Will go there again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    1
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ogdensburg, New York, United States
1 review
“A new twist on Mexican. Always Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Dirty Gringo plays a new twist on Mexican. Very sleek, very clean, and a different take on your usual Mexican Restaurants. No gaudy colors just tasteful decor and great food. Each dish is made to order right before your eyes so you know what you're getting. No waiting either, the cooks are very quick and aim to please. Desserts are to die for, the Apple Chimmi is the best!
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. If you have a bad experience here, it's your own fault, the owners are very accommodating to make you happy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoubleR1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“really bad and expensive,,,waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just bad food at very high prices...have no idea why they would even call this "Mexican" it is simply a fast food place that serves American foods that are called Mexican ...very bad ,and very expensive...and the food sits in the warmer way to long as it has a burnt taste and smell...will never eat here again

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“AWESOME deal $4 kids meals & killer appetizer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Came across the bridge specifically to try this place out. Couldn't believe the value for $ on kids meals; $4 for taco, rice, glass of milk and huge scoop of ice-cream for dessert.
We ordered a chicken and a beef burrito. They were both really good. However, the best part of my meal was the "spicey black bean cakes". Sooooo deliceious.
We will DEFINITLY be back and we will absolutely be spreading the word about this place.
And thank you for not serving French fries!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrazeeDazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place
Level Contributor
144 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“We go here everytime we cross the border!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We come to Ogdensburg to pick up goods from the UPS store and are so thrilled we discovered this gem....it is really good Mexican/American food and huge portions...clean and with nice staff. Very friendly and the food is great...made to order and fresh. Nice picnic tables outside with unbrellas too. Seems quite busy...we find ourselves thinking of things to order from UPS store so we can go back...I love the soft tacos..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dirty Gringo also viewed

Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to The Dirty Gringo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing