We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love breakfast? Eat here!”
Review of Phillips Diner

Phillips Diner
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Ogdensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love breakfast? Eat here!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This authentic diner was built in 1948 and it feels like you are still there! The generous home style breakfasts were served up piping hot with lots of fresh coffee and tea. The peanut butter was served in self filled tubs and the honey came out in a one-pound jar! Great value with friendly fabulous service! We will definitely stop by again on our next trip from Ottawa, Canada!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaTravelDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old-school diner”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good old-school diner, with booths, a counter, heavy coffee mugs and cheerful staff. Pretty standard diner fare--club sandwiches, burgers and fries--at very reasonable prices. The place was fairly busy at Sunday lunchtime, mostly locals and motorcycle tourers. It was what you'd expect in small-town, upstate New York.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Prepare to be ignored.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you 're a visitor or non-local be prepared to be ignored. What held promise as a vintage town diner quickly lost its charm. We were never greeted, took seats at the counter, and waited. Two servers walked back and forth behind the counter without making any eye contact with us. Finally, we were give menus, ordered, and waited some more all the while enduring looks from regulars. Our food was terrible unless watery coffee and messy, tasteless food is your thing. Avoid Phillips Diner when in Ogdensburg (which is probably what the locals want you to do anyway).

Helpful?
3 Thank maprap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place has been around more than 50 years. That is all that you really need to know! It's small and noisy, the servers know the menu and it is usually packed this place is about eclectic as it comes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Traditional diner fare”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

While staying in Ogdensburg, we visited the Phillips Diner several times as it was the childhood hangout of my husband.

Each time we visited, seating was cramped. If you sit at a table, it is extremely difficult for someone to sit behind you at the next table. Service was slow, but the server was always very friendly; and you have to pay for soda refills (you are served a small glass of soda to begin with.)

The food options were limited for vegetarians - virtually non-existent; and the food ordered was always greasy. My husband is not vegetarian and ordered the more traditional meals like the turkey plate, which came completely covered by a dome of dark brown gravy, which was reminiscent of chocolate pudding - in appearance of consistency.

If greasy comfort food is your cup of tea, then Phillips is a perfect diner for you. Alas, we found it fell short of expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips Diner also viewed

Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to Phillips Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing