We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS PLACE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogdensburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Off the Hook Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Ogdensburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were very fortunate to be able to find this place. There were no rooms available in Canton due to 2 college graduations and we needed to attend a family memorial. This B&B is exceptional. We arrived a bit early and Susan was very gracious and immediately offered us some wine and made us feel welcome. Our family had both rooms downstairs and the large bedroom upstairs. We had our 2 grandchildren with us and they delighted with the movie room and also Susan's 2 adorable small friendly dogs. Everything was provided for us and top notch. We didn't spend nearly enough time there due to the circumstances but did enjoy 2 fabulous breakfasts and a special treat of poached pears with cream that was out of this world. Susan even offered to stay up late for a relative arriving via the Ottawa airport. We loved the serenity of the river and just had a delightful experience during a tough personal weekend. Worth every penny.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank jillvandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 22 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wonderful five days at Off The Hook for our family. Beautiful part of of the country sitting on the gorgeous St. Lawrence River with more then spectacular sunsets. Breakfast, special dinners, rooms, outdoor grounds, and kindness from Susan and her own family ..... just way more then we expected!!!! Great, fantastic experience leaving us all with treasured memories! Best of the best!

Joanne O.

Room Tip: Two bedrooms downstairs were very special for you have the view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfftheHook_11, Owner at Off the Hook Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We enjoyed you all so much and absolutely fell in love with your beautiful grandson. Hope your find your way back up this way soon. Our love to the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Specifically what was first class you might ask so here is a list; the furnishings, the linens and towels, the bathroom, the bed, the pillows, the view, the breakfast, the grounds, the common areas and the gracious hosts. Next time we will take the owners up on their offer to provide dinner, given reasonable notice, since the area has very few dining options if you want to avoid "fast food". There will no doubt be cheaper options in the area but "you get what you pay for" as they say. These folks send you on your way refreshed, rested and ready to enjoy this delightful part of the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krats510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Off The Hook for two nights for my daughter's college graduation. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. As soon as we walked in, we were warmly greeted. We'd arranged a celebration dinner for the first night. From the drinks and appetizers to the steak and salmon surf and turf entrees through the dessert, everything was from scratch and on par with a five star restaurant. The same for breakfast both mornings. Unbelievable!!! We were treated as royalty, yet also with the personal touch. They were truly amazing.The opulence of the decor is marvelous, I especially liked the luxury of the fluffy carpets and bed. Don't think about staying at a chain hotel. This is the place to stay in St. Lawrence County. Thank you for creating this great memory for my family!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Off The Hook for two nights after our wedding and couldn't have asked for a better experience. As soon as we walked in and saw the modern wood accents and artwork we knew we were in for more than we asked for. The granite counters and contemporary cabinetry in either of the full kitchens makes it feel like a dream home. The rooms were superb with plush bedding and any of the ammeneties you could ask for. The bathroom is what any couple would ask for in their own home with double sinks and an amazing glass walled shower. The media room is any man's dream with a 70+" flat screen and Bose surround sound. They didn't take any shortcuts in putting this place together. And then there were the views which brought the experience to a whole new level. From sun up until you crawl back into bed that night you will find yourself constantly snapping pictures thinking each one is just a little better than the last. You have uninterrupted access to the st. Lawrence river by means of beach or provided kayaks. Paddling across the river while watching the sun sink below the horizon and then relaxing by the camp fire was so relaxing. Then, there is the service you receive from Joe and Susan. Never too much, never lacking and filled with pleasant surprises spread throughout your visit. Whether its a new cocktail Susan has learned or just some fresh fruit during a hot afternoon. They made our stay feel like an escape from the real world and our special weekend all we could have imagined. So, thank you again Joe and Susan for the great memories!

Dereck & Casandra Dodd

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dereck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfftheHook_11, Owner at Off the Hook Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

This was by far one of my favorite weekends at Off the Hook. Watching the girls get ready for the wedding as they spread across the downstairs dining room getting makeup and hair done was awesome. Thans for sharing your special day with us, and really was just so much fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We typically don't stray from our favorite hotel chains such as Hyatt, Marriott, Four Seasons etc. Since northern NYS seems to be devoid of luxury chains we took a chance on "Off The Hook" -- and are SO happy we did! Each day started with a gourmet breakfast (some of the best we've ever had) - different each day and presented in a fashion far beyond what we expected from a B&B. The accomodations and hospitality rivaled that which we've paid much more for at 5 star resorts. We were seeking peace, quiet, and relaxing sunsets ... and "off the hook" turned out to be just what the doctor ordered. We highly recommend this outstanding B&B and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We decided to have a girls weekend away and drove 8 hours from MD. We had a great time and amazing acoomoadtaions! The frist thing we noticed when we arrived was the incredible view! Being able to sit out on the deck and watch the sunset over the St. Lawrence River was so peaceful. Susan and John are fantastic! They made us feel right at home as soon as we arrived. They gave us a complete tour of the B.B. Each bedroom had its own unique touches, which really showed how much thought and detail was put into everything. Breakfast, like everything else was amazing! Each day, we had a variety of food to choose from - all tasted wonderful...we had to remind ourselves to stop going up for more if we wanted to wear our bathing suits! We spend our days out on the river, but there were plenty of activities on the grounds to keep any guest happy (tennis, a giant chess/checkers board, a fire pit, horse shoes, fishing). We already decided to go back next summer and are 100% going to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Off the Hook Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off the Hook Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 Butternut Dr, Ogdensburg, NY 13669-3790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Ogdensburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ogdensburg
Price Range: $149 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off the Hook Bed & Breakfast is an upscale, luxurious B&B that offers travelers a secluded, relaxing riverfront setting for a weekend getaway, change of scenery, sports or cultural events, family occasions, local college events, etc... all on the beautiful St. Lawrence River which offers some of the best fishing and boating in the world. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing