We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-the-top Excellence!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogdensburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Off the Hook Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Ogdensburg B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over-the-top Excellence!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Off The Hook for two nights for my daughter's college graduation. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. As soon as we walked in, we were warmly greeted. We'd arranged a celebration dinner for the first night. From the drinks and appetizers to the steak and salmon surf and turf entrees through the dessert, everything was from scratch and on par with a five star restaurant. The same for breakfast both mornings. Unbelievable!!! We were treated as royalty, yet also with the personal touch. They were truly amazing.The opulence of the decor is marvelous, I especially liked the luxury of the fluffy carpets and bed. Don't think about staying at a chain hotel. This is the place to stay in St. Lawrence County. Thank you for creating this great memory for my family!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Off The Hook for two nights after our wedding and couldn't have asked for a better experience. As soon as we walked in and saw the modern wood accents and artwork we knew we were in for more than we asked for. The granite counters and contemporary cabinetry in either of the full kitchens makes it feel like a dream home. The rooms were superb with plush bedding and any of the ammeneties you could ask for. The bathroom is what any couple would ask for in their own home with double sinks and an amazing glass walled shower. The media room is any man's dream with a 70+" flat screen and Bose surround sound. They didn't take any shortcuts in putting this place together. And then there were the views which brought the experience to a whole new level. From sun up until you crawl back into bed that night you will find yourself constantly snapping pictures thinking each one is just a little better than the last. You have uninterrupted access to the st. Lawrence river by means of beach or provided kayaks. Paddling across the river while watching the sun sink below the horizon and then relaxing by the camp fire was so relaxing. Then, there is the service you receive from Joe and Susan. Never too much, never lacking and filled with pleasant surprises spread throughout your visit. Whether its a new cocktail Susan has learned or just some fresh fruit during a hot afternoon. They made our stay feel like an escape from the real world and our special weekend all we could have imagined. So, thank you again Joe and Susan for the great memories!

Dereck & Casandra Dodd

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dereck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfftheHook_11, Owner at Off the Hook Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
This was by far one of my favorite weekends at Off the Hook. Watching the girls get ready for the wedding as they spread across the downstairs dining room getting makeup and hair done was awesome. Thans for sharing your special day with us, and really was just so much fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We typically don't stray from our favorite hotel chains such as Hyatt, Marriott, Four Seasons etc. Since northern NYS seems to be devoid of luxury chains we took a chance on "Off The Hook" -- and are SO happy we did! Each day started with a gourmet breakfast (some of the best we've ever had) - different each day and presented in a fashion far beyond what we expected from a B&B. The accomodations and hospitality rivaled that which we've paid much more for at 5 star resorts. We were seeking peace, quiet, and relaxing sunsets ... and "off the hook" turned out to be just what the doctor ordered. We highly recommend this outstanding B&B and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We decided to have a girls weekend away and drove 8 hours from MD. We had a great time and amazing acoomoadtaions! The frist thing we noticed when we arrived was the incredible view! Being able to sit out on the deck and watch the sunset over the St. Lawrence River was so peaceful. Susan and John are fantastic! They made us feel right at home as soon as we arrived. They gave us a complete tour of the B.B. Each bedroom had its own unique touches, which really showed how much thought and detail was put into everything. Breakfast, like everything else was amazing! Each day, we had a variety of food to choose from - all tasted wonderful...we had to remind ourselves to stop going up for more if we wanted to wear our bathing suits! We spend our days out on the river, but there were plenty of activities on the grounds to keep any guest happy (tennis, a giant chess/checkers board, a fire pit, horse shoes, fishing). We already decided to go back next summer and are 100% going to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We traveled 8 hours to stay for only a weekend, but it sure was a weekend to remember! We're a family of 6, and thoroughly enjoyed everything Off the Hook has to offer, from spending time on the St. Lawrence along splendid sunsets and kicking back on the hammock to watch the stars, to playing tennis on their own court, chess on a life-sized board and Wii on a giant flat screen T.V! Our hosts Susan and John were very attentive and gracious, and wonderful company. The rooms were out of this world. Simply beyond any B&B you've ever been to!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Bakshi_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were pleased! This property is located in one of the most beautiful spots I have ever seen. The view of the majestic St. Lawrence River, bridge to Canada and islands is just breathtaking and the sunset was amazing! Susan and John did an great job making us feel right at home too! Susan took us on a tour of the property which gave us the opportunity to see each of the three guest rooms! Each one has been carefully decorated and no detail has been overlooked! The bathrooms are truly wonderful and the rain shower in the Goddard room was to die for! We booked the largest room because we had our daughters with us! It was very nice to be able to fit everyone in the same room without feeling cramped. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were luxurious! Our daughters loved the game closet and the wonderful "movie theatre" room! They were able to keep busy playing games and watching movies while the adults relaxed. Our son spent the night in the Morrow room and it too was beautiful! You can tell that a lot of time and thought went into the decorating of this wonderful place. Not a single detail has been overlooked. The common areas are also newly renovated and look like they are right out of a magazine! The artwork, furniture and view from the many windows overlooking the river are beautiful. The grounds offer many activites as well, such as swimming, giant chess, fishing, playground area but we arrived in the late afternoon and opted to stay with our hosts inside as the weather wasn't very nice that day. If you are a boater, this inn offers dockage with gas as well. We took part in a special tasting that Susan offered that particular evening. This is not something that comes with a regular overnight but it would be very successful if they opened as a restaurant as well. She is an amazing cook and it was so fun to sit and watch her cook this "Progressive Dinner". The first course was Fried Green Tomatoes made with lucious tomatoes from Susan's garden. Second course was Seared Tuna with Coconut Rice. Everyone was encouraged to try out the chopsticks too which was fun for those of us who haven't mastered that yet! Next came an amazing Lobster Bisque with Gruyere Popovers! Breakfast in the morning was homemade Belgian Waffles with fresh fruit and homemade whipped cream. We even got a chance to meet Susan's dad when he stopped by to say hello in the morning! The only downside was that we had to leave fairly early in the morning! None of us can wait to return and do it all again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryvacationluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were traveling with our 9 year old grandson whose grandfather is 75. Everyone in our famiy of 7 was always satisfied with the various entertainment available. In spite of diet restrictions a gourmet breakfast was always beautifully presented. Sunsets beyond compare ended each day.

Room Tip: Each room is comfortable and uniquely decorated. Views of the River complete the charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogdensburg
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gran-View
Quality Inn Gran-View
#1 of 5 in Ogdensburg
127 reviews
21.5 mi away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
224 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Stone Fence Motel
Stone Fence Motel
#2 of 5 in Ogdensburg
37 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Colonel's Inn
The Colonel's Inn
#2 of 4 in Prescott
66 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bridgewaters Inn
Bridgewaters Inn
#1 of 1 in Johnstown
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off the Hook Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off the Hook Bed and Breakfast

Property: Off the Hook Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7 Butternut Dr, Ogdensburg, NY 13669-3790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Ogdensburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ogdensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off the Hook Bed & Breakfast is an upscale, luxurious B&B that offers travelers a secluded, relaxing riverfront setting for a weekend getaway, change of scenery, sports or cultural events, family occasions, local college events, etc... all on the beautiful St. Lawrence River which offers some of the best fishing and boating in the world. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing