We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STILL DELICIOUS AFTER ALL THESE YEARS!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maguire's Bay Front Restaurant

Maguire's Bay Front Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Ocean Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“STILL DELICIOUS AFTER ALL THESE YEARS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been going to Ocean Beach on and off for over forty years, and one of the things that I am delighted to say has not changed (or at least has changed very little) is Maquire's. I'm not only speaking of the quality of the food (which has always been top-quality and delicious!), but also of the atmosphere; from the moment you walk in (and see the tank of live lobsters, the eating area itself is spacious, both inside and on the terrace, to make the dining experience enjoyable. The prices may be on the slightly high side (what isn't, on Fire Island?), but the food, the cheerfulness of the serving staff and the relaxed atmosphere make eating here a pleasure. As I said, I dined here with my parents as a child, and even now I get a slight kick about being able to pay for a good meal with my own means (either in cash or with a credit card) and I always look forward to eating at Maguire's at least once a summer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    20
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

After a terrible dining experience at C.J.'s bar and grille, and a mediocre experience at The Island Mermaid, my boyfriend and I got drinks at Magurie's after stumbling upon it. Maguires is at the end of the main strip of stores and restaurants in ocean beach, but it is definitely worth the walk. I finally tried the island's most beloved drink the Rocket Fuel, which is just a stronger pina colada, and my boyfriend had a margarita. The service was great, and the waiter even gave us warm sourdough bread and whipped butter while we were waiting for our cocktails. The few was incredible as well. I would definitely come back and have a full meal here next time I visit ocean beach.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl8217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We love Maguire's, we eat there pretty much every time we go to Ocean Beach. They have terrific food, and an amazing view. The food is expensive, but worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanadshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

make a reservation fantastic!!!!! I cant wait to come back may 22,2014 for a amazing dining experience

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmhgypsy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Exactly what we wanted, beautiful deck with great views of bay. Great place for cocktails to relax. Food was good but really not the reason for going here, atmosphere is what it was about.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maguire's Bay Front Restaurant also viewed

Ocean Beach, Fire Island
Ocean Beach, Fire Island
 

Been to Maguire's Bay Front Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing