We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ocean Beach
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above Expectations”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Friends told us that The Palms Hotel was the ONLY place to stay on Ocean Beach,. We were delighted to see how clean the hotel was and how attentive the staff was. We were greeted by Palms staff, who met us at the ferry terminal to carry our bags to the new property, The Palms Bay. My husband and I took a nice long nap on the outdoor bed and enojoyed watching the sunset from the backyard. Our kids loved the outdoor shower and they played for hours on the private beach at The Palms Bay. We even went out kayaking- available at the hotel. The staff arranged for me to have a massage in my room. Everything about this place was top quality. Saturday morning we enjoyed Starbucks coffee and pasteries, compliments of the hotel. As we headed off to the beach, we were given new beach chairs, beach towels, an umbrella and they even gave us a wagon to transport all of our stuff. If that wasn't enough, we were completely blown away when we were given ice cold water at the beach by Palms Staff! To say that they go above and beyond is an understatement. These people totally get what it means to take care of their guests. Who ever dreamed that you would get turn down service at Ocean Beach? Flat screen tv's? Feather Beds?
We loved it so much, we are having our family reunion there in 2010.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallysatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    82
    37
    33
    40
See reviews for
105
170
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

One word: bedbugs. Not only was the place incredibly noisy (college age kids having parties til 4AM in the hallways), and ridiculously expensive, it was also filthy and had awful service. There was sand in the sheets of the bed (meaning they hadnt washed it in who knows how long) and when we asked them to change the sheets, they never did. But most importantly: bedbugs. The place had bedbugs. At something like $300 a night, you dont expect bedbugs. And yet they had them. Disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Unhappy_Traveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

It is very clean, it is centrally located, it is new, the staff is helpful, easier than renting a house. For us seasoned Fire Island visitors, this place is heaven. Those new to the Island need to know there is nothing better and that all of Fire Island is very expensive. The regular rooms are clean, but extremely small and they share a bathroom. so the way to go is a suite, more room, kitchenette, private bath. Once again, you pay for this. If you are expecting a lavish room, go to Miami. Ocean Beach is not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau County, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We have been going to Ocean Beach (though not every year) for almost 30 years. This is by far our best Ocean Beach loding experience. It started with the reservation process. Courtney was absolutely fantastic in describing the available accomodations as well as telling us that there was not much we had to bring with us. Beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, wagons, bicycles etc all available at no cost. Upon arrival Courtney who was not working saw us and assited us at check in. She actually suggested another accommadation which was at The Palms Bay. It was absolutely fantastic. She walked us there, carried the luggage up the stairs and gave us the lay of the land.

During our stay we were fortunate enough to meet much of the staff. Special mention to Ashley, Bobby and Andrew. They could not do enough for us. This is not the usual Fire Island service.. The room and building were immaculate. The private beach on the bay had lounge chairs, umbrellas, couches and beds for two to lie on and was very clean. . Bobby was there bring us whatever we wanted including moving the umbrella and making sure we were never thirsty.

Having bicycles available to ride around was a super nice touch.

On our last day we had the opportunity to meet the owners. Having met them we understand why the staff is as nice and well trained as they are. They certainly lead by example. They welcomed us to stay on their beach at the Bay as long as we wanted. There were indoor and outdoor hot showers available to us though we had checked out or our room. We accepted the invitation and experienced another beautiful Sunset on the Palm Bay beach

We are clearing some dates to book some return trips. One will be with our childeren and their spouse and our granddaughter. The 3 bedroom suite is an amazing Ocean Beach facility to stay in.

We have traveled to many resorts and this is the first time we decided to write a review.
There is a reason and we hope you can stay and the Palm Hotel and see for yourself.

Enjoy your summer!!!


Nancy and Irwin
Nassau County New York

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PositiveVibes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

If you want cleanliness, professionalism of staff, and just a good time this is the place to stay. I had my son's bike and our suitcase shipped over on the freight boat (bikes and suitcases aren't permitted on passenger ferries) and a Palms staff member picked them up from the dock and kept them safe until we got there the following day. I took advantage of the Palms' free bike rentals for myself to ride and we rode for a total of 10 hours throughout the surrounding towns that day! The staff was so sweet and accomodating with everything from restaurant recommendations to questions about the town and the island. They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room was immaculate. We got the bayview room (I believe we had room #212 in the newer hotel) and the view was absolutely gorgeous! On our second day we enjoyed kayaking, also offered by the Palms for a small fee - my son was ecstatic! This is a great place for kids - it has everything they like to do! They also have wagons to bring your belongings back and forth to the ferry, beach towels, beach chairs, barbeques and umbrellas. There is a beatuiful private beach with couches and lounge chairs just for Palms guests. The shopping is wonderful. We visited a few local shops during our stay and bought some adorable accents for our home. My son said that this was one of the BEST vacations he had ever been on!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2009

i loved this hotel! great service, lovley stafff and the owner has gorgous daughters<3 IF YOU WANT LUXUREY DEFINATLY STAY HERE ! they have ipod docs, an outdoor shower, great use of summer colors, complimentry starbucks coffee,and snacks all day long [cookies, muffins etc.]if you are looking for relaxation stay at the Palms bay. they have outdoor beds and couchs and you can order food !!!!!also massages outside right on the bay. you can ride a complimentry bike ride or take a trip through the bay on a kayak. on your way to the beach staff will give you towels and beach chairs. staff is woderful and accomidates you whenever needed they are extremely friendly and are kind to everyone which includes pets and children. they help recommend places to dine so you have a great and peaceful night .i promise you that you will not be dissipointed if you stay there. HAVE FUN !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We had two suites for a bachorlette party and it was better then anything that we could have imagined. The suites were beautiful, and the service was even better. They could not do enough for us and we felt so comfortable. They have there own private beach with couches and chairs and the most relaxing atmosphere. This is not one of your crappy hotel on fire island - this is a must for a party weekend or just a weekend to get away and relax.
I would even stay there with the kids and some friends.
All I can say is that all 16 of us have not stopped talking about how clean and nice this place was....... Enjoy !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodygirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Beach
0.1 mi away
Clegg's Hotel
Clegg's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ocean Beach
83 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dune Point
Dune Point
#1 of 3 in Cherry Grove
73 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
792 reviews
8.3 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
22.9 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel Fire Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel Fire Island

Property: The Palms Hotel Fire Island
Address: 168 Cottage Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770-2003
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ocean Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms Hotel Fire Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is a boutique hotel in Ocean Beach on Fire Island which offers luxurious accommodations in a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. Unlike typical hotels on Fire Island, the Palms distinguishes itself as having the finest amenities with the highest standard of customer service. Designed by renowned artist, David Byer-Tyre, the Palms prides itself as going a step beyond the expected. Every room is equipped with a flat screen TV, satellite access, Wi-Fi, iPod Docking Stations, a refrigerator, and luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Palms Hotel Fire Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Ocean Beach
The Palms Hotel Fire Island Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing