We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Palms Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ocean Beach
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good location, but much too expensive for inferior property and cramped room. No phone in the room, no closet, bedside table or reading lamp; there was no hot water in the shower;. One of the beds made an extremely loud creaking sound whenever we sat or lay down; the windows faced other buildings and windows that were about 3 feet away; The young staff members were very solicitous and courteous, but they couldn’t improve the poor quality of the facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KathyMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 578 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

I love the beach and the whole Fire Island experience. However, The Palms Hotel is overpriced and not worth the stay there. At $440 per night the bungalow room couldn't be smaller with neither a closet or places to hang any clothes properly. At night the lights from the building made you feel like you were sleeping on a broadway stage. There should be shade on the windows that keep the light out. The bathroom has nowhere to keep toiletries. I don't think my toothbrush should go on the toilet tank as this was the only spot to put anything. No glasses, no tissues no shelves for anything. Also, how about a beach print on the wall instead of a female in a corset. I hated looking at that all day. Not impressed at all with this hotel.
So I may love Fire Island but next time I'll stay in a rental home which I'm sure may be more but ill have a place to hang my clothes!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had a fantastic time at the Palm. I had a wedding at the beach at Maguire's food was amazing !!!
let me tell you about the staff at the Palm Karley made all my reservation got me one of the most beautiful rooms. I hosted a little happy hour before wedding in the courtyard Bobby ken mike Ashley Kerry Daniela Ali Kandell all helped me get it together. I had awesome time I cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmhgypsy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Fire Island is a great place to go... no cars, great beach and the Palms is the place to go... Fairly new...the place is very clean, A/C works great and the service here is very accomodating.... On the day you leave, they will store your stuff and you can spend the rest of the day there, and they provide showers and all the chairs, etc for the beach... This is a good one.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I was so looking forward to spending Labor Day weekend at The Palms. We knew the check in time was 4 so we planned on arriving early and having our bags held while we got a bite to eat. We came back to the lobby at 4 and a very rude employee old is our room was not ready because towels were not available. I told her I don't care about towels in would like to go to my room to freshen up. She then started on a rant about how they are having a bad day and they would phone me when my room is ready. No offer of a free cocktail or apology. I felt like telling her I didn't give a crap about the hotel having a bad day when I'm spending $460 a night but I refrained. 15 minutes later we were told our room assignment. Holy sh_t I couldn't believe there's no closet. I wanted to hang a few things and there are no closets in the bungalows first floor. I've stayed in hostels before that were more luxurious. And the cake topper was the blood and hair on my pillow. Thanks palms for a very unhygienic and disappointing stay. I'm so grossed out!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriends and I only stayed one night here this year. It certainly isn't inexpensive but if you're willing or able this would be the best place to stay.

The rooms are great! It's comfortable, the kitchen is really nice. The bedrooms themselves are the best. Beds and pillows are so comfy. I had an awesome night's sleep.

The bicycles come with your stay here and we definitely enjoyed that a lot. They don't have a pool but its close to the beach. It's in the heart of Ocean Beach so you won't need to take a bike anywhere or walk far. The boys that help out with your baggage are so helpful. Front desk could use a little more happy juice.

I'm probably never staying anywhere else ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCmom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the PalmsFire Island Hotel in August 2013, in the beautiful Battery Park Suite. Our suite had a huge open floor plan. It has a living room, dining room, bedroom, bathroom and a full kitchen. It sleeps 6. It is stunningly decorated with a coastal living theme. Every room is provided with central air which is unheard of on Fire Island. The bathroom had a wonderful shower and L’Occitane Bath Products. There was even a Wi-Fi, iPod Docking station and luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets on our bed. The various Palms patios include grills, and everything you need to make a delicious and personal BBQ. The Bay House a private beach area with romantic canopies and outdoor lounge beds. You can even kayak from there! The hotel provided us with beach umbrellas, towels, chairs and wagons. They even have shovels and buckets for the younger children. Our son loved the complimentary pastries and the freshly made popcorn! The staff was professional and respectful and eager to assist us with every request we had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Beach
0.1 mi away
Clegg's Hotel
Clegg's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ocean Beach
86 reviews
22.9 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
9.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
8.3 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
1 mi away
Fire Island Hotel and Resort
Fire Island Hotel and Resort
#1 of 1 in Ocean Bay Park
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel Fire Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel Fire Island

Address: 168 Cottage Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770-2003
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ocean Beach
Price Range: $195 - $1,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms Hotel Fire Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is a boutique hotel in Ocean Beach on Fire Island which offers luxurious accommodations in a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. Unlike typical hotels on Fire Island, the Palms distinguishes itself as having the finest amenities with the highest standard of customer service. Designed by renowned artist, David Byer-Tyre, the Palms prides itself as going a step beyond the expected. Every room is equipped with a flat screen TV, satellite access, Wi-Fi, iPod Docking Stations, a refrigerator, and luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Palms Hotel Fire Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Ocean Beach
The Palms Hotel Fire Island Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing