We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flynn's Fire Island

Flynn's Fire Island
Ranked #16 of 20 Restaurants in Ocean Beach
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The food was very good as were the drinks. The staff was friendly and we loved the view. I had the grilled BBQ chicken for lunch and for dinner the next day I had the prime rib both were great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aprilb488042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    9
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bad food, good views”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Wow. We knew Flynns was known as a party bar, but i actually thought their food might be decent. Wrong. Good service, beautiful bay view, awful food. Can't get fish tacos right in Fire Island? No excuse. Icky. Not worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Reebs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I were with the party of 15 last Friday. Totally agree with Edie B's review, except to say that it was the worst meal I have EVER had. Most annoying was the price we had to pay for food that, for the most part, was inedible or tasteless. MS Middle Island, NY

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst meal in a long time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Took the Moon Chaser to Flynns Friday nite with a party of 15. The ride over was the highlight of the evening. The buffet was terrible. Lobster so tough it was inedible. Baked clams were so bad, those clams died in vain. A large bowl of what we were told was vegetable slaw remained untouched as it looked very unappealing and no one ventured to try it. The bread and salad were fine and the staff very attentive. The so called dessert buffet was a tray of cookies and mini muffins. Very pathetic. This meal was certainly not worth our time and money.EB Middle Island, NY

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
195 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Great Setting for Fire Island Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We recently visited Flynn's for the first time during a weekend stay with friends on Fire Island. While the indoor seating leaves no doubt that the heart of Flynn's is drinking and dancing, the outside seating offers some outstanding views of the bay and boat docks. We and the other couples having dinner there were very satisified with our entrees, all of which were well-prepared and reasonably priced. We'd be happy to return there anytime (before 10:00 pm, anyway).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flynn's Fire Island also viewed

 
Ocean Beach, Fire Island
Ocean Beach, Fire Island
 

Been to Flynn's Fire Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing