We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bleh. No thanks.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clegg's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clegg's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ocean Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bleh. No thanks.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place could not be considered a hotel. Motel is more appropriate.
The mattress on our bed must have been at least 15 years old. It was brown and ragged and had springs poking through it. It had tears and was so worn that it was holding together by threads. Plus it was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever laid on.
The location was good, if you desire to be in the middle of the town and close to the ferry. The building was clean, the room was clean and the shared bathrooms were alright. The continental breakfast was not good at all.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Hollybyerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    10
    8
    20
See reviews for
18
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I honestly do not understand the griping here! This hotel is exactly what it advertises to be: minimalist, welcoming and in a perfect location. The owner / management could not have been any nicer, the shared bathrooms were spotless, the room was sparse, but the beds were comfy and the absence of tvs was perfect for getting two under age 10 boys to walk, talk and just play more!

If you set your expectations to what this hotel is saying it has to offer, you will not be disappointed! Do not expect Egyptian cotton towels, 1000 count sheets, or a flat screen tv. Expect to be treated nicely, make friends in the hall, have coffee waiting by the office in the morning and to be offered a chair for the beach. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJMOM821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have to say the stay at Cleggs was very enjoyable. all the staff from housekeeping to management were friendly and helpful, Steven the manager new all the ins and outs of the town with great recommendations for everything from dining to a great afternoon bike ride. my room was just what i needed for a stay at the beach as it had all the essentials and i did find it a little inconvenient that it was a shared bath, but again it was all that i needed. not modern but very clean.already booked a weekend in september looking forward it......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel wasn't bad, it wasn't great either. It's a beach hotel. It does the job just fine, for that. We rented one of the "suites" which basically means you have a bathroom, versus having to share one with your neighbors.

Owner/manager was very nice. And the hotel was in the heart of EVERYTHING.

The room itself was outdated, but clean! If the owner invested some money to upgrade the rooms, it'd be a really nice hotel. But it wasn't bad at all. We used the mini fridge, but nothing else in the kitchenette. There's no alarm clock, radio, or TV. Very simple amenities, but that's all we needed. And the bed is stiff, warning!

If you're hoping for a luxurious stay, this isn't the place. Maybe try The Palms Hotel. But if you just need a bed, clean accommodations, and central to everything in Ocean Beach, Clegg's is a good consideration.

Room Tip: The suites with the bathroom are key if you get up at night or want your privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K-LoAstoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel has both indoor and outdoor moldy, dirty, smelly and tore up carpeting. The rooms are approximately 10x10 and have no bathrooms. The bathrooms are located outside your room where all other guests are sharing. The bathrooms are as old as time, ok well maybe originating back to the 1930. They are not cleaned properly. There are hairs from others in stalls, urine and crap on seats. Definitely not meeting State Health Codes. It barely has a lock too. Guess what? No TV, No radio, No alarm clock, no refrigerator, no head board on this delopitated mattress that is squeaky and uneven. Perhaps some bed bugs, fleas... Itchy heads in the morning. We felt the blood rushing to our heads because the bed was tilted on an 20 degree angle. Cracks along the walls, half spackled walls as well as two toned colored walls. Also, don't leave your stuff in the rooms! The doors can be pick locked, with a butter knife, and the side door is open all of the time, so people could rob you if they wanted.
It's a disgrace the amount of money they ask for a shack. You will get a better deal sleeping on the streets of NYC. So if you want to waste your money, possibly acquire athletes foot if you shower w/o flip flops, or any other possible disease, then this is the place for you. Oh wait, you'll love the Continental Breakfast they serve!!! The array of pastries, fruit, cheese and juices would be delightful if actually served. Enjoy!!!!!
The only advantage to this hotel is Its location. Smack in the middle of town and steps from the ferry, literally. Management was nice, I'll give them that. So if you're looking for a nice place to stay while in Fire Island, look elsewhere then the Cleggs Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Truthtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean Beach hotels

NYC, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wonderful affordable locale, beautifully situated... one minute from the Bayshore ferry, in the heart of happy Ocean Beach, Fire Island. Perhaps a 12 minute walk to the ocean on your left, and on the right is the bay side for those mooring their boats or those wishing to watch the boats come into the harbor.
Very clean, comfortable room, a/c in every room if needed. Yes, shared bathrooms on the hall (shades of my European backpacking days) but extremely clean (quite UNLIKE those backpacking day!!)
A great place for an ocean stay, staff was very helpful.... with bagels and coffee in the morning, bikes and beach chairs for use at the ready, as part of your stay....it all comes with the room.
True beach minimalist life....a fine stay.

Room Tip: No tv ,,,, but there is wi-fi. Rooms are small but quite adequate. Hey, it's the beautiful Atl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jotheodorou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loucaz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was a little scared to stay at this hotel after reading some of the reviews, but because I knew some of what to expect my experience wasn’t bad at all. The location is great! Less than a minute’s walk from the ferry and smack in the middle of all of the bars, restaurants and shops. There is also a mini market right downstairs. It’s about a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the beach, but it’s a relaxing, scenic walk.

Breakfast is served every morning around 9am. Basic coffee, bagels and danishes. I am a tea drinker so the mini market came in handy for me, but not having to go to a restaurant for breakfast was a plus.

Although the bathrooms are shared, they were so much cleaner than I expected. I guess it depends on how the guests, who are also sharing, clean up after themselves; and during my stay everyone was pretty clean.

Like any other hotel, they provide towels, shampoo, conditioner, body wash but there is no fridge in the room.

Some people don’t need television when they are on vacation; I am not one of those people. I like background noise in my downtime. This hotel doesn’t have any televisions in their rooms, BUT they do have free wifi, so if you have an iPhone or any device that picks up wifi, you can create your own background noise.

Because you are near the bars and restaurants, you can hear all of the street noise, but it didn’t bother me at all.

The staff was extremely nice, helpful and friendly, and because I knew what to expect I had a pretty good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loucaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Beach
0.1 mi away
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
#1 of 4 in Ocean Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
8.2 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
11.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island
9.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
22.9 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clegg's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clegg's Hotel

Property: Clegg's Hotel
Address: 478 Bayberry Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ocean Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clegg's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Clegg's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleggs Hotel Fire Island
Clegg's Hotel Fire Island/Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing