We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vegetarian Cuisine”
Review of art cafe of nyack

art cafe of nyack
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Nyack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Israeli, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Art Cafe's cuisine is inspired by the many coffee shops that you might find in the streets of Tel Aviv and Europe, with a mix of traditional Israeli recipes and some new creative flavors. Not only do we have a passion for great taste but we also focus on food being healthy. We strongly believe in the phrase "you are what you eat" so we integrate Organic products wherever possible into our dishes. Our focus on such great quality and flavor has led us to Blue Bottle Coffee, a fully Organic and fresh brand of coffee based in Oakland, that pairs well with many of our dishes.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Cuisine”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at the Art Cafe. The service was friendly and the food well-cooked and delicious. There is a good selection of vegetarian items on the menu, with a middle-eastern flair.

I had the quiche which was tasty, if a bit overdone. The cous-cous dinner was quite good and a very large portion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    61
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cute place”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

not a traditional bacon-and-eggs brunch place, the food was on the healthier side (a plus for me) and I didn't notice any meat options on the menu (not a deal-breaker for me, but may be for some).
The portions are very generous, and the eggs were fluffy and delicious. They have great loose-leaf tea as well as french-press coffee. Good friendly service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Israeli food in a charming old house.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was the most interesting and delicious lunch I've enjoyed in a long time. The menu offers some dishes I'd never heard of. My husband and I shared a malawach and a torti. The malawach is made of thin dough and is crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. It was filled with eggplant, red onion and hard boiled egg. The torti is thin round dough, filled and prepared in a panini press.. the one we had was filled with spinach and the creamiest feta cheese we've ever tasted. Both were accompanied by salads that were very fresh and topped with seeds and nuts. We also had delicious French press coffee. It's worth the toll across the Tappan Zee Bridge to walk around Nyack and lunch here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Nyack, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Incredible food! Atmosphere! Coffee! wow! I highly suggest stopping by if you are close by! A regular hangout for locals!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, NY
Level Contributor
165 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Vegetarian with Vegan and Organic Choices”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Many health choices that please the eye and palate. Buckwheat cakes filled with ricotta, loaded with fresh strawberries and blueberries was one choice. Another was an Israeli bread wrap of eggplant, hard-boiled egg, and white cheese accompanied by a generous side salad with a tangy dipping sauce for the "sandwich." Many unfamiliar (to us) offerings, but also quiche, Israeli couscous. Coffee was organic and superb. We bought a bag of beans to take home. Cafe atmosphere in one of the older houses that line Broadway in Nyack and South Nyack. A real pleasure except for the parking ticket we acquired during our meal, due to not seeing a kiosk for on street parking. (Even after the ticket, we didn't see the kiosk.)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to art cafe of nyack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing