We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a drive..from anywhere...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice of India Restaurant & Bar

Spice of India Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #50 of 77 Restaurants in Nyack
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth a drive..from anywhere...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped here on the way back from a shopping trip. We had been here before; it is clustered in the "Downtown" part of Nyack, which, on the Weat Bank of the Hudson, already has a wonderful atmosphere. Spice adds to it. The service, decor and incredible food make Nyack, and Spice, an unbeatable combination . Prices seem fair and reasonable, the menu, slightly different than the average South Asian Restaurant, make for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morningsideralph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
2 reviews
“Pleasant atmosphere, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been eating here for years. They have the best saag I can find anywhere and I eat a lot of Indian. Even better, they give you enough for three meals. The tiger shrimp is outstanding as well as the chicken vindaloo. I have consistently found the service and staff to be friendly, attentive and prompt. I love this place.
The owner is almost always present, has helpful suggestions and makes sure the quality is consistent and that everything goes smoothly. She has suggested some nice cocktails and I recommend the Jaipour cocktail, a house specialty
I personally feel Laurie is a very decent person and I write this review specifically because I was surprised to read otherwise. In my opinion, the negative comments are simply not true and I wonder where they are coming from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good indian food, upscale decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Eaten here many times both buffet and al la carte. Consistently good. Shrimp tika masala, saag, eggplant are among my favs. Good wines by glass, bartender makes great margarita.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DSK3some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
1 review
“Best restaurant in Nyack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nyack has great restaurants overall and in my opinion Spice is the best if you like Indian. I have eaten Indian food all over the world and I consistently find the quality at Spice of India to be tops. The portions are much more generous than usual and the service is always excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYRita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced and inconsistent Bollywood Food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lived in this town decades and always loved it until new ownership. Owner is Japanese and spouse runs the shop. Help constantly revolves, always Spanish, never consistent. Food suffers time and time again for NYC prices and portion size.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bejouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of India Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Spice of India Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing