We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and fun (but noisy) atmosphere”

Velo Bistro Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Velo Bistro Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Nyack
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Velo, which means bicycle in French, showcases Anthony's love of cooking and his love of cycling, which is reflected in the decor. Velo, a mixed cuisine restaurant, located just off the main strip of downtown Nyack, offers a provocative menu. Serving exceptional food and wine including up to twenty wines by the glass (as well as a full liquor bar), menu items are completely house-made including all pastas and desserts. The atmosphere is bustling and city like, yet cozy. At Velo you will receive first class service and a menu crafted to rouse your senses.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food and fun (but noisy) atmosphere”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great service with a very experienced staff. Nice slow pace. Wait staff did not rush the meal. Delicious food. NYC quality meal in Nyack.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rpbp4_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy birthday dinner!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We celebrated a friend's birthday last night at Velo and we were very, very happy...Kervin was our server and he was terrific. There were four of us and we shared a number of different appetizers and a pizza...we loved everything that came across our plates...the bartender made us phenomenal cocktails...We even ordered two of the desserts and they were also delicious. Highly recommend this little gem in Nyack. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momof1NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“pretty damn good”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

started with awesome truffle and wild mushroom pizza though it was a bit small. oustanding cavatelle. very good wine list without obnoxious mark up. dave got the monk fish and he liked it but the.dilll.did not help it at all.. i got the braised beef and it was very nice . lively bar crowd though small id definitely come back. spotty service. not attentive at all. must.do beyter otherwise maybe 5 stars.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hockeylover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great expectations little reward.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

After rave reviews on another foodlie review site, we decided to try this one of two options suggested. At first glance it was promising. Dimly lit and urban chic, i expected more. Started with wine. I had a "lighly fruity" Argentinian white and my husband a "full-body" cali cabernet neither fulfilled the description nor the expectation. The martini was also not very good. Moved on to our appetizers had the soups. Roasted eggplant with smoked mussels, yummy. The lobster bisque while tasty and having real chunks of lobster was extremely salty. More bread please.--had to wait for that about 15 mins because it was being baked? The entrees were simply presented but flavorful. This little restaurant its okay not excellent. The best thing about this place is the fresh baked french bread and the attentive waiter.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay Cove
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Based on the other reviews of this restaurant,I had high expectations. I was a little disappointed. The decor was pretty dreadful although there were cloth tablecovers and napkins. The wait staff was friendly but I expected that from a small town staff. It was the food that was just average considering the hype I had read. The salad I ordered was overpriced at $12. for nothing -special greens with ordinary breakfast bacon broken up rather than pancetta or even chunks of bacon and the blue cheese was "blah cheese".
The main course, which really drew us there to begin with, of house-made pappardelle with rabbit ragu, was a mixed bag. The pasta was "house-made" and al dente. The rabbit ragu was flavorful enough but the rabbit had been stewed rather than braised and way over done , to the point of being on the mushy side! The meat had lost its' texture . But the sauce made up for it by being good enough to sop up with the very good bread provided.
My biggest mistake was taking the advise of some reviewers who raved about the peanut butter semifreddo for dessert. They really overrated this! First, it was so frozen, the waiter actually brought us a steak knife to cut it, without our asking. He knew! It was NOT semifreddo but molto freddo!! Topped with a chocolate sauce, it was nothing more than a frozen Reese's peanut butter cup. Save it for the kiddies!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Altina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Velo Bistro Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Velo Bistro Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing