We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a small town hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at the Howard Johnson in Norwich, NY for one night to attend a family funeral. The staff was pleasant and efficient. The room was comfortable. There's nothing special about the Howard Johnson hotel but it is an okay place for a small town hotel. If all you need is a good night's sleep in Norwich or environs the Hojo can provide that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 496 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Todd257
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

First of all, the odor is unbearable. Why have smoking rooms only on the first floor when the smoke rises? Second of all, this is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and have had no hot water! The ladies at the front desk have always been pleasant but that doesn't accommodate for not having a very basic thing such as hot water. When I asked to speak to the manager the first night she wasn't there, and the second day not there again. Where are you while all your staff is suffering because you can't seem to fix such a simple thing as hot water, one clerk actually had tears in her eyes from all the complaints. If you worked for me, you would no longer have a job and I would make sure you weren't manager anywhere else. Never staying again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Noel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest: We apologize for the inconvinience of the hot water system upon your last stay with us. I was on property throughout the weekend. The staff was in constant contact with me when I was not there as well. We did everything we could do to rectify the situation ASAP. We called the company that just installed out new system and they had been trying to rectify the problem as well. I am happy to say that it has been fixed and will not cause an issue in the future. We did give discounts to our guests who were inconvinenced due to this issue. If i can be of further assistance. Please feel free to contact the hotel. Thank you Dana Meyer General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
930 reviews
24.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
207 reviews
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Norwich
Super 8 Norwich
#1 of 2 in Norwich
331 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fred's Inn
Fred's Inn
#2 of 2 in Norwich
60 reviews
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Sidney NY
Super 8 Sidney NY
#1 of 1 in Sidney
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich

Address: 75 N Broad St, Route 12, Norwich, NY 13815-1331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: $54 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Norwich
Howard Johnson Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing