We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the money...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwich
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK for the money...”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed two nights - requested a non-smoking room far from any smoking areas. Our request was accommodated nicely. Room was clean if a little shabby. Comfortable bed, nice TV, clean simple bathroom, comfortable layout. Air conditioner worked ok but was very old and extremely noisy, so much so that we had to turn it off in order to sleep. Definitely ask for a room far from the elevator, which was rickety and opened with a resounding crash - would be maddening to have a room nearby! A decent place to stay, nice staff, nothing fancy but comfortable. The town is very nice, in a lovely farmyard area.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    85
    139
    109
    90
See reviews for
215
86
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North East, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is a nice and clean place for the age of the hotel. The kids had a nice time in the pool, which was well maintained. The cost of the hotel was very reasonable. The location is close to the downtown area and the Classic Car Museum is within walking distance. There is a Denny's Resturant located off the lobby which makes it very easy to get meals. The staff at the hotel were very helpful in anyway possible.

Room Tip: rooms close to the elevator are noisy. The elevator is loud and can be heard within the rooms close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here in May to attend a college graduation 30 minutes away, as all properties closer to the college get fully booked a year in advance. This property is outdated and and needs a complete renovation. The hallways are dismal and I agree with another reviewer who said the elevator was "scary." The air conditioners in the rooms are ancient as are the rugs and bathroom fixtures. I wanted to run, but had no choice but to stick it out. I will say that once I got the courage to turn my face and actually have it touch the pillow, I was pleasantly surprised that I fell asleep and felt comfortable. The breakfast at Denny's was pleasant.

Room Tip: Go to another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddy22122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest: We apologize if you were not completey happy with your stay with us. Yes we are an older property, and are in the process of doing updates to our hotel. Even tho we are older we still care to give our guests the best experiance we can. As i can see once you gave us a chance you were pleasently pleased with your nights rest. If there is anything that i can assist you with, please feel free to call the property directly. Thank you Dana Meyer General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Bridgewater, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

that
ok no I was hapy wirh the hojos istaid in till I got this thing
filled it in and you said not enough i'ts the people like you in the offices that r
RUINS a nice thing like this review

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Huzinec N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for taking the time out to review out location. We alway look forward to seeing you and assisting in any way possible. We will be waiting with big smiles on our face for your next visit with us. Again, thank you!! Dana Meyer General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Our first impression of the room was not very good. It seems not very clean and I'm not sure if the sheet on the bed was changed between us and the guests before. Okay... for about 75 bugs a night you can't expect luxurious behavior. But I can expect a bathroom sink which runs down (even don't works after maintenance help), a shower which runs down, a towel rail which don't fall on the floor as soon as I touch it or a night without get awaken by the guy from the front desk at 4 a.m. because he has problems with another visitors a room next to us. Worst night in a hotel in my life! Beside of that - if you're not very interested in churches, you should drive a few further miles to get out of this "village". The only good thing here was Bill's Dinner ;)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ignicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest: We apologize if you were unhappy with your stay with us. I can asure you that each and every bed linen in changed when a guest checks out of the room. We have recently within the past 2 weeks put in a new hot water system for the entire property. As well as the construction on the pool area has been completed, and is now open for our guests enjoyment. We are sorry that you dont appriciate the historic Churches in our little "City", but the residents of the City of Norwich are very proud of them. If you need any further assistance please feel free to call the property directly. Thank You Dana Meyer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
890 reviews
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Norwich
Super 8 Norwich
#1 of 2 in Norwich
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fred's Inn
Fred's Inn
#2 of 2 in Norwich
59 reviews
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Sidney NY
Super 8 Sidney NY
#1 of 1 in Sidney
246 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pillow and Pantry B&B
Pillow and Pantry B&B
#1 of 2 in Sherburne
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich
Address: 75 N Broad St, Route 12, Norwich, NY 13815-1331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Norwich
Howard Johnson Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing