We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwich
EARLVILLE
1 review
“No impressed”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were not impressed, and we live only 20 minutes away. We had a banquet that night & decided to treat ourselves. I had a flea jump on me while laying on the bed, an ant crawling on my right toe while walking around the room, the heater/air conditioner makes wicked loud noise and kept us up all night. Rate was more than Super 8's deal, matching yours plus an extra 10% off. We would not stay again, nor recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Heather13332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest: We apologize if your stay was not satisfactory. I wish i would have know of your concerns while you were on property. Please feel free to contact me with your concerns. Kind regards, Dana Meyer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    88
    143
    114
    92
See reviews for
227
88
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here a number of times in later spring. Always found it adequate or better for the price. Especially as it has a nice pool. This time we had a larger room (a suite?) with a kitchenette. When arrived, found an old dried out moldy pizza in the re-fridge! The sofa in the room had a rip and was old and worn (which is weird as the rest of the furniture look new and was clean/not worn.) The bathroom had moldy pealing caulking as well as peeling wallpaper. The toilet was a tiny toilet that stopped up several times (they came immediately to fix and did a good job quickly). This trip was not as nice. Combined with the horrible Denny's attached in the hotel (previously I reviewed that, shudder) the room condition made me wonder if the Super-8 in town was a better stay. The difference is that this Hojo has a very nice pool, which they recently made even better (now has pool toys for the kids, nicer lighting and better pool lounge furniture.) Next trip I will try the Super8 especially as my kids won't be with me so I don't need the pool! (Staff, BTW, is very courteous, helpful, etc.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank TegansDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest: I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay upon your last visit with us. I would like to discuss your last stay with us. Please feel free to contact me at the property. Thank you Dana Meyer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTEREACH
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

room had no ac or heat window opened had no screen allowing flying bugs to enter no air circulation poor sleep

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank GERARD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest: I apologize for any inconvinience that you may have been caused during your last visit with us. If i had know of the issues in regards to your room, i would have been more then happy to recitify the cituation for you. Please feel free to contact us at the property.
Thank you Dana Meyer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST HENRIETTA
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

hotel is a good bargain for the quality. roomm was not finished on renovation and was a little outdated. other than that my stay was good. nice to have an indoor pool too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank RAFAEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAWLING
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Staff was all very friendly.
Room was cleanly, but sorely in need of renovation.
Sofa had big rig / cut in it, and was old in appearance.
Carpet extremely dated and worn out.
But for the money and location, it was an ok one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the renevations taking a while, as we are doing them ourselves in house. We do appriciate you noticing that we are trying. If you have future plans to stay in our area again. Please let me know, so that i may ensure that you get to stay in one of our updated rooms. Kind Regards Dana Meyer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassaic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

toilet leaked all night the whole hotel needs serious rennovations, but is the best choice in town. phone didn't work shower didn't drain charged for a safe i didn't use

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest: I apologize for any inconvinience that you may have been caused with your last stay with us. Please feel free to contact me in regards to this. I can be reached at the property. Sincerely, Dana Meyer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

REVA
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

room was quite, staff could work on customer service.. slow at getting people in at check in and checking out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please know that your comment and concerns are being taken to heart. I have had a meeting with my front desk staff and explained that it is very important to please our guests with an efficiant and speedy check in and check out process. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any future reservations that you may need. I would be more than happy to assist you with that. Sincerely, Dana Meyer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
907 reviews
24.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
204 reviews
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Norwich
Super 8 Norwich
#1 of 2 in Norwich
323 reviews
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Sidney NY
Super 8 Sidney NY
#1 of 1 in Sidney
260 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fred's Inn
Fred's Inn
#2 of 2 in Norwich
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich
Address: 75 N Broad St, Route 12, Norwich, NY 13815-1331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Norwich
Howard Johnson Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing