We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwich
Wolcott, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here in January and it was quite a pleasant visit. I thought I should leave a review now considering all the bad ones on here. We stayed in a king room with a jetted tub. The jetted tub was pretty relaxing! The onsite Denny's restaurant is extremely convenient. The tv in the room, perfectly sized. The only thing that was wrong was the steamer in the bathroom didn't work. Not a big deal though! I used the in room safe to keep my tablet safe while I was out. The room was very clean and the bed was sooo comfy! I actually ended up wanting one of those mattresses for at home!

Side note: There isn't much to do in Norwich after you visit the car museum.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank faintly00visible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest: We would like to thank you for your kind words. They are greatly appriciated. We hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future. If there is anything that I may help you with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you, Dana Meyer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    85
    139
    109
    90
See reviews for
215
86
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Toms River, NJ
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Yes, the motel is older, and you can tell it by the frayed and torn hallway carpets and the general condition of the rooms, but the beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked, and the front desk staff was very friendly and accomodating. I even had the battery in the smoke detector in my room go bad and it was beeping at 1 AM, and they found a battery and fixed it immediately.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

After switching rooms numerous times to never being satisfied the staff was by far the rudest I have ever dealt with. This is including there manager. By far the worst experience I have ever encountered with rooms that are filthy and staff that are not only liars but as rude as they come. Now I do have to admit however there were few employees that were extremely nice. I do not blame the employees though, when you have a manager general manager at that with absolutely no customer service skills. I won't be back

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fishinchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest: I apologize if your stay with us was unsatisfactory. Myself and my staff did everything possible to accomidate your needs. And each time it was not of your standards. We also offered you a full refund for the inconvienience that may have been caused to you, and you continued to stay with us of your free will. Thank you Dana Meyer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Had to go to Norwich on business and there are not too many hotels there. Room was not very clean the hallways smelled like cigarettes, and there is a Denny's next door, but notmmuch else around. Couldn't wait to leave!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana00287, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
We apologize if your experience was less than what you had hoped for. We are in the process of renovations throughout our building, and i apologize if it was not as clean as you had hoped. I wish i would have known while you where here, i could have done something to accomidate you. The cigarette smoke is due to there being smoking rooms available to our smoking guests located on the first floor, we will try to do a better job of keeping the odor from the other parts of the hotel. If i can assist you please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. thank you, Dana Meyer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Our family was in town for a funeral and I grew up in this town so I wanted a place that was convenient to everything. Upon entering the room, it was clean, not really updated but was clean. We turned on the heat and realized it was blowing cold air. Upon further investigation, we discovered a space heater, upon turning it on, it warmed the room for us. On the plus side since we were in town for a funeral, we needed a late checkout on our final day in town, I checked with the front desk and was told to check back the next day. Upon checking back I was told that we could have a late checkout and there would be NO CHARGE. This was really helpful for us as we had a 800 mile drive home. Overall our experience was a pleasant one, but we were told at the end of our stay if we would have checked at the front desk, we could of requested a fridge and microwave, which would of also been helpful to keep drinks and snacks cold. If we are in town again, I would stay here as within walking distance there are restaurants and a drug store across the street to pick up any items you forgot to bring.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here while on business. Facility is older and shows it based on the room conditions. Televisions in the rooms are outdated. This is certainly is evident as you enter with an old tube style television at the check in desk. On numerous occasions while leaving the hotel in the evening and upon returning there were a couple homeless looking fellas just hanging out in the lobby. The backdoor to the hotel does not lock, just push the handle down and anybody is in. Be advised there is no continental breakfast. They do however offer a 10percent discount at the attached Dennys.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senchey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
890 reviews
24.9 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Norwich
Super 8 Norwich
#1 of 2 in Norwich
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fred's Inn
Fred's Inn
#2 of 2 in Norwich
59 reviews
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Sidney NY
Super 8 Sidney NY
#1 of 1 in Sidney
246 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pillow and Pantry B&B
Pillow and Pantry B&B
#1 of 2 in Sherburne
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich
Address: 75 N Broad St, Route 12, Norwich, NY 13815-1331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Norwich
Howard Johnson Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing