We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant vacation at Lapland Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
1 review
“pleasant vacation at Lapland Lake”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We rented one of the Tupas for a weekend. It was very pleasant and one of the most memorble moments.We could not book the Tupasduringtheweekend,as they werebooked so we booked the next weekend. We saw several places,we ran out of time but the management was cooperative and allowed us an extended stay at no cost.I is worth the stay.Most Rustic beauty.Nature at its very best

Helpful?
Thank Aestheteforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
95
63
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lantana, FL
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed 3 nights on Labor Day weekend and it was so relaxing, Lapland Lake is a quiet, well organized place. Tupa was very clean and cozy. Full moon and great weather also helped, as well as picking "kanttarelli" -mushrooms and enjoying delicious wild mushroom gravy on top of new potatoes! (Finnish candy from their store for dessert.) Ann & Olavi were so helpful and nice, hiking trails well groomed. Sauna was hot... and relaxing.
I'd like to come back in the winter and ski.
Kiitos, Thank you!!!

Helpful?
Thank saarmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My husband, 1-year old daughter and I had a wonderful time at Lapland Lake over the Labor Day long weekend. Our tupa was adorable and very clean and cozy. Ann, Olavi, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. My husband especially loved the sauna; nice touch! We can't wait to go back next year!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank amk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam County, NY
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Our Family visited Lapland Lake Sept 1 thru Sept 4 2009 and had 3 perfect days at this beautiful unspoiled gem of a spot. Ann and Olavi are extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed at Poro Tupa (cabin) which was clean and charming. I, my wife and two boys 13 and 10 enjoyed walking to the pristine Woods Lake for swimming, canoeing and paddle boating We rented mountain bikes on premises and really got into biking and hiking the many trails of varying difficulty. We also enjoyed the sauna at the lodge and hanging with Viima and Talvi, (the two reindeer) during their late afternoon walks in the wood. Stock up on groceries, snacks and beverages before arriving. The well equipped kitchens and barbeque grills are great and consequently we never had had to start our car to go to a restaurant during our stay. It was also nice to just spend quiet time reading a book or sitting and talking as a family. So nic ein fact that my kids barely missed the TV or internet. Would definately return!

Helpful?
Thank JeffH2922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We return again and again for the experience of Lapland Lake. The only Season I have not visited is the Spring and it could only be more renewing with the light greens of emerging growth. The trails are engaging with or without snow upon them.The little cottages are clean and charming and the Lake is a treasure to swim or boat in. Ann and Olavi are charming hosts and the reindeer beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank Journi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed in Lapland Lake in August 2009, we found it was a great place to stay, we relaxed on the beach, had fun with the bicycles and found the whole setting very serene. The equipment (canoes, boats, toys for chlidren...) are plentiful and very well maintained. After a few days in New-York and Montreal, it was great to find such a place to cool down.

Helpful?
Thank annago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We recently stayed for a weekend at Lapland Lake. It was a great place to go with a group of friends to relax. The Tupas are clean and comfortable.The kitchens have everything that you would need.We had fun whether we were hiking on the ski trails,relaxing on the beach by the lake or canoing or rowing on the lake.Anne and Olavi are warm and friendly to all who stay there. I would definitely want to try it in the fall or skiing in the winter.

Helpful?
Thank friendAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northville
17.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
24.8 mi away
Alpine Lake RV Resort
Alpine Lake RV Resort
#1 of 3 in Corinth
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

Property: Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Address: 139 Lapland Lake Rd, Northville, NY 12134-3962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Northville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Northville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center offers a touch of Finland in New York's southern Adirondack Mountains! We offer lodging in cozy tupas (housekeeping cottages), a pristine non-motor lake with sandy beach for swimming, fishing, kayaking and canoeing along with scenic hiking and mountain biking. Visit in winter for the day or overnight to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. Our four-season woodland retreat was proudly operated by former U.S. Olympian Olavi Hirvonen and his family for more than 35 years. New owners Kathy and Paul Zahray offer you their warmest welcome. We offer year round lodging in ten immaculate tupas (housekeeping cottages) featuring up to four bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens (refrigerator-freezer, range, microwave, toaster, electric coffee maker), baths with showers, screened porches, electric heat, wood stoves including all wood stove supplies, outdoor fire pit and BBQ. Our authentic Finnish wood-burning sauna is complimentary year round for overnight guests. Professional massage therapy is available. During the spring, summer and fall seasons overnight guests have access to our stunning 70-acre, motor-free lake with sandy beach. Woods Lake offers exceptional swimming, fishing, kayaking & canoeing with complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, rowboats and paddle boats. Our 30-mile of private hiking and mountain biking trails are available for our lodging guests' use. Our 3-mile self-guided nature trail is a delight for children and adults alike. In the winter months you are welcome to visit for the day or to lodge with us to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. 50Km of scenic ski & snowshoe trails are surrounded by the pristine southern Adirondack Forest Preserve. Trails are available for all abilities, from beginner to expert. Lapland Lake offers meticulous snowcat grooming; well-trained, courteous staff; two-story warming lodge; full rental-retail shops; daily PSIA ski instruction; children's tubing; ice-skating and two food service locations. Tavataan ladulla! See you on the trails! Come join us to experience Adirondack Splendor and Finnish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Hotel Northville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing