We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ski vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just returned from our annual visit to Lapland Lake. We all learned to ski here (2 adults, 2 kids, ages 12 and 14) nine years ago with help of an excellent lesson or two provided by the staff. Our delightful cottage always has just what we need to stay snug after skiing, sledding, and skating. We love the simplicity of the setting--the exquisite woods and finely groomed trails, with these very simple but immaculate cottages. We have everything we need to "unplug" from the world, enjoy each other's company, some good skiing, and the beauty of the world around us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scholarmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laplandlake, Manager at Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We wish we could take credit for what Mother Nature has provided here, but she deserves all the credit in that department. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your return visits for so many years, and we look forward to seeing you for many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 226 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

A great winter get away, a wonderful place to XC ski. The staff is very nice, the trails are great. It is wonderful to be able to ski right out your door. The cafe is also good. I would go more often if the accommodations were more affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samblam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just returned from our ski vacation at the Lapland Lake (2 adults and a 4-year-old). The location is beautiful - snow just kept on falling while we were there, and trail grooming and rental equipment are impeccable. Our tupa (cottage) had everything we needed (full kitchen) and the wood stove kept us extra toasty. We are planning on going back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Pohjan Tupa (2 bedrooms) and loved it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaM_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I expected our weeklong summer vacation with our 7-year-old daughter to be fun and relaxing, but what we didn't fully anticipate was how rejuvenating it was to spend 7 in this beautiful spot, meeting nice people, being taken care of by owners who obviously love what they do and where they are, and being the most "unhurried" we'd ever been. No TV, no computer, no cell phone – just books and kayaks and swimming and special times together. We'd already booked for the same week the next year by the time our week was up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We wanted to go to a place where we can experience fall colors and this place, Adirondacks, turned out to be excellent. And the place we stayed in was just perfect.

In Lapland Lake Vacation Centre, there are some options to choose from depending on the size requirements. We stayed in Lumi Tupa, which was about 800 sft with three bedrooms. No matter which option you choose you can be rest assured of one thing, the rooms are pretty neat and clean. They are extra ordinarily detailed, nice colonial felling. The kitchen has necessary stuff to manage a decent cooking and the bathroom was impeccably neat. The hotel provides sufficient wood to light up the fireplace, and also provides barbecue accessories. Perfect for the people who wants to enjoy a bit grill and want to have a quiet drink.

The lapland lake is walkable distance to the rooms, and the walk trails are adequately marked so that the people don't go missing in the woods. The hotel provides it's guest with different of boating options at no extra cost. It was a very enjoyable experience, provided you know how to boat. You got to be very cautious about while boating as there are no life guards on duty and more importantly, there are no cell phone signals, so in case of any accident you are virtually on your own. So be cautious.

Overall, its a nice hotel, highly recommend !! :) Enjoy your stay..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikram1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Tupa's (cabins) are very comfortable with everything you need, including the lack of TV, that was excellent, listened to music, and had great walks with a beautiful lake to canoe on (included) owners wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were one of 13 couples (from 9 states) on tour driving our pre 1916 automobiles around the Adirondack Park. The setting and lodging at Lapland gave our tour participants the real flavor of the Adirondacks. The leaves were beginning to change color which added to the pristine beauty of the Lapland Lake Resort. Many enjoyed the walk or drive to the lake. Some even paddled around the lake by canoe. It was only a one night stay, but ALL wished we could have stayed another day or two.
Would we return to Lapland? YES! YES! YES!

Helen & Lee (PA) volunteer tour planners

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northville
17.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
23.8 mi away
Super 8 Amsterdam
Super 8 Amsterdam
#1 of 2 in Amsterdam
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

Address: 139 Lapland Lake Rd, Northville, NY 12134-3962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Northville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Northville
Price Range: $142 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center offers a touch of Finland in New York's southern Adirondack Mountains! We offer lodging in cozy tupas (housekeeping cottages), a pristine non-motor lake with sandy beach for swimming, fishing, kayaking and canoeing along with scenic hiking and mountain biking. Visit in winter for the day or overnight to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. Our four-season woodland retreat was proudly operated by former U.S. Olympian Olavi Hirvonen and his family for more than 35 years. New owners Kathy and Paul Zahray offer you their warmest welcome. We offer year round lodging in ten immaculate tupas (housekeeping cottages) featuring up to four bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens (refrigerator-freezer, range, microwave, toaster, electric coffee maker), baths with showers, screened porches, electric heat, wood stoves including all wood stove supplies, outdoor fire pit and BBQ. Our authentic Finnish wood-burning sauna is complimentary year round for overnight guests. Professional massage therapy is available. During the spring, summer and fall seasons overnight guests have access to our stunning 70-acre, motor-free lake with sandy beach. Woods Lake offers exceptional swimming, fishing, kayaking & canoeing with complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, rowboats and paddle boats. Our 30-mile of private hiking and mountain biking trails are available for our lodging guests' use. Our 3-mile self-guided nature trail is a delight for children and adults alike. In the winter months you are welcome to visit for the day or to lodge with us to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. 50Km of scenic ski & snowshoe trails are surrounded by the pristine southern Adirondack Forest Preserve. Trails are available for all abilities, from beginner to expert. Lapland Lake offers meticulous snowcat grooming; well-trained, courteous staff; two-story warming lodge; full rental-retail shops; daily PSIA ski instruction; children's tubing; ice-skating and two food service locations. Tavataan ladulla! See you on the trails! Come join us to experience Adirondack Splendor and Finnish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Hotel Northville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing