We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The onion rings are amazingly good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Skipper's Pub

Skipper's Pub
Ranked #26 of 63 Restaurants in Northport
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The onion rings are amazingly good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here yesterday - Guinness on draft, mango and Brie quesadilla, and homemade onion rings. Very pleasant place and attentive staff. The onion rings were tasty and perfectly cooked. The quesadilla was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AugustMainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    29
    15
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just left, oh brother, sorry I tipped”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Entered just as transition from lunch the dinner menu, no problem sir, u can still get the po boy sandwich, never asked if I wanted more coke while eating, waited till i was done and leaving, charged me two bucks more for the sandwich, 14.95, said because it was dinner time, girl bartender not at all friendly, poor experience, won't repeat, too many really nice places in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pedrony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
295 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Skip Skippers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Knowing what to expect from past visits, I was asked to meet friends here after a day of boating in beautiful Northport Harbor. I tried to suggest other venues near by, but they were all packed. No wonder - Skippers hasn't changed. The only reason they are busy is becasue every other place in town is full!

We waited at the bar for our party to arrive and the barmaid could care less. She was too busy chatting up the guys with beers at the end of the bar. By the time she took our order, the rest of us arrived so we took our seat outside. Waited almost 30 minutes for waitress to take our order. Same with the table next to us. They kept going inside to order drinks from the bar and coudn't decide who was worse - the bar maid or the waitress.

The menu will never change so you can always count on a over-priced hamburger with bad service.

I didn't have to convince my friends why I was insistant on eating somewhere else in town. The won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah-AnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dream Date Paradise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Together we entered Skipper's Pub on a steamy, lazy Sunday evening and was greeted with air conditioned splendor. After being seated, we ordered Garden and Skipper's Burgers. They were cooked and served to perfection. Also, the music was from the 60's and 70's to our liking and never too loud or quiet. The waiter was young, yet had the experience of a long time veteran. We then went for a stroll on the pier just outside the door! It was magical and I highly recommend this tandem to any couple for a romantic night out. One know's we'll be back sooner than later.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Afternoon Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

VERY PLEASANT- GOOD EATS

Ate at Skipper's Pub this past Sunday, was immediately welcomed by a very pleasant and professional waitress. Our drink order was taken and received almost immediately. After placing our appetizer order we were told the meal might take a little while due to a party they had in the other room. Our delicious wedge salad and clam chowder came out immediately. After only a 15 minutes wait we were amazed to receive our food which was a delicious fried clam strips and my husband had the fried fish burger both were cooked to perfrection and enjoyed immensely. We look forward to going back and asking for our friendly waitress Lynne.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper's Pub also viewed

Northport, Long Island
 
Northport, Long Island
Northport, Long Island
 

Been to Skipper's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing