We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German Food”

Pumpernickels Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 63 Restaurants in Northport
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good German Food”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Sauerbraten prepared, just like you would have it in Germany.
Waitress Birgit, excellent, beer with a lunch or dinner should be available for a little less than on the bar.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heiko112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Friendly waitress”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

food was prepared just right such as sauerbraten, to be honest, I love schnitzel, but at one time it was very stringy and tasted old not fresh, ever since I stay away from this and order everything else on the menu.
Our favorite waitress is Birgit and if she is not working that day we don't come.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heiko112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Local Restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have been here many times over the 20 years we are in the area. Great sauerbraten, roast duck, schnitzel, steaks ...love the red cabbage... The food is great... great lunch time value too. Fully stocked bar with German beers on tap... You should not pass up the opportunity to eat here

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank OldABBfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good German Place”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Old established German restaurant with home made sauerbratan and other mouth watering favorites

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deer park, ny
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good Gemqn food”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Real German food that is cooked like I had in Germany. Large menu, good portions and very knowlegable and friendly waitreses. Averaged $50.00 per person with app. dessert and one drink. Only complaint is that the bathrooms are 1 flight upstairs.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank auburnDeerPark_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpernickels Restaurant also viewed

Northport, Long Island
Northport, Long Island
 
Northport, Long Island
Northport, Long Island
 
Northport, Long Island
 

Been to Pumpernickels Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing