We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to eat !!!!!! Old Train Car Diner !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shipwreck Diner

Shipwreck Diner
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Commack, New York
1 review
“Awesome place to eat !!!!!! Old Train Car Diner !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a great place. It's actually an old train car converted into a restaurant. The food is delicious. The wait staff is friendly and attentive. Your coffee cup is never empty!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Timmy's restaurant has a wonderful small town feel. You are greeted with a warm smile as soon as you walk in. The food is delicious. The blintzes are to die for. Everything is fresh, homemade and delicious. I highly recommend stopping by.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wow4cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Homemade and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Have been here a number times, for breakfast and lunch. Excellent house made soups, potato salad and jams. The pancakes, sandwiches and egg dishes were fresh and tasty. Service is diner service, friendly but minimal. Small, so be prepared to wait. Worth it, though!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ms5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
506 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“Go to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Have lived here 25 years before moving to FL it was the go to place for breakfast. It was a greasy, cheap spoon when Otto flipped eggs with a cigarette hanging from his mouth but it was part of the charm. Now, son Tim has upgraded the menu and while more expensive the quality and portions match the price. Outdoor seating out back we always stop here for breakfast when back in town. My favorite is pastrami, eggs, home fries, rye toast , coffee and juice. Read the paper, kick back and enjoy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was my first time at the Shipwreck and I really enjoyed it. Walking in I felt like I was in a small, cozy hometown favorite. I noticed customers entering were greeted by name which was really nice. Although it is October, we asked to sit out on the back patio. The food was delicious and the portions were hearty. The coffee was steaming hot and served in large mugs which kept our hands warm. The sun felt great as we enjoyed our meal. The jelly served with the toast was awesome, obviously homemade. I plan on buying a jar next time I'm there. I will definitely go back and look forward to enjoying breakfast there again...hopefully on a snowy winter morning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LTT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Diner also viewed

Northport, Long Island
Northport, Long Island
 
Northport, Long Island
Northport, Long Island
 

Been to Shipwreck Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing